We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat in the hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aamod at Dalhousie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aamod at Dalhousie to your Saves list
Aamod at Dalhousie
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Ala, Dalhousie Khajjiar Road, Dalhousie 176304, India (Formerly Aamod at Ala Dalhousie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
calcutta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat in the hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Aamod Resorts at Ala in Dalhousie (Himachal Pradesh) is a picture-perfect retreat with world class amenities and service. We were lucky to spend a couple of days there in end-October and loved the place at first sight. Nestled amid towering pine trees, the resort offers an excellent ambience and accommodation. The cuisine was superb, including local Himachali food on request. The service and hospitality was of the best kind. Most highly recommended for a stay round the year, including the months when it snows in Chamba district.

Room Tip: The deluxe room suited us fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

A friend suggested it and we all are highly appreciated it. amazing place to be there. there were many points for sightseens but i think Aamod has the best of the best view. amazing view, good rooms, good food and the best part is warm hospitality. 5 stars to this amazing property.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the resort for only one day in March this year, but the smiling faces and the hospitality offered swept us off our feet. It was still snowing during our stay, freezing and we loved it. The property has some really spectacular views and the whole valley view is just unforgettable. The rooms are luxurious, well furnished and the private terrace balconies are an icing on the cake. The house keeping was kind enough to even provide a personal bonfire for a newly married couple like us and gave an option of providing mountain bikes for trekking. My hubby tried the adventure sports that they offer at the resort and he loved it, specially the flying fox. We also took a spa session which was by trained professionals from Kerala. The food from the restaurant was amazing and my mouth still waters thinking about it. We had the most amazing first anniversary. Thank you Team Aamod, Dalhousie and we are definitely visiting the resort once again super soon. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The drive to the place was just amazing as it was cloudy and a bit of a drizzle so it was one of the most romantic rides. The resort is located at 7500ft and the view is just breathtaking and when we reached it was raining and the entire valley was covered with clouds.
We were lucky that in a few minutes the rain stopped and the clouds dispersed and then it was just amazing view from the resort.
The food out there, we had chinese and indian and both were just too good and one of the best chinese I have had in a while and especially in such small place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its being blessed by staying in aamod.... picturesque location.... helpful and excellent hospitality... Mr. Lokesh Thakur, Mr. Vinay, mr. Shyam, Chef and other staff members are always ready to service... want to go again and again....
Best of luck and have a great years ahead to Aamod at Ala Dalhousie.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If I could give 0 stars to this property I would.Where do I start? Awful smelly rooms,stained curtains,water seeping through floors and walls,mold on the roof.Service is poor ,sat at the terrace restaurant for an hour no body even bothered to ask if we would like to order drinks.This is a rip-off place that passes itself as the "finest".Far from it.Give a wide berth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi K, General Manager at Aamod at Dalhousie, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We sincerely apologize for not being able to create a memorable experience for you.

It is not often that a guest at Aamod goes back dis-satisfied or disappointed even. We take responsibility for every guest's feedback and assure you sub-standard delivery in food, quality of service and hygiene in rooms is not Aamod's hospitality experience. We hope sincerely that you will give us an opportunity again, to server you better, here or at any of our other properties. If you would like to get in touch with us for any more inputs, please feel free to write in at contact@aamod.in. We care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Aamod is the best hotel in Dalhousie. We got a very comfortable room with a large balcony and an amazing view of the mountains. They have one restaurant with a large terrace and we loved all our meals with the staff ensuring variety every day as we stayed there for 6 nights. They specially looked after the food needs and preferences of our children and we recommend that you take their half board plan as you are bound to move around to places like Khajiyar, the Mall road etc during the day and will find yourself eating lunch outside. Even if you choose to stay at the hotel they have enough to offer though their ala carte menu at their restaurant and room service. We went for nature walks and a guided trek with their staff and strongly recommend it. They have adventure sports within the hotel premises which our kids loved in particular. The two areas where we felt they can do better is the breakfast variety and service AND their recreation room which needed to be spruced up. Overall, we loved the place and recommend it to our friends and family. It's away from the main Dalhousie mall road area but we actually preferred it that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aamod at Dalhousie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aamod at Dalhousie

Address: Village Ala, Dalhousie Khajjiar Road, Dalhousie 176304, India (Formerly Aamod at Ala Dalhousie)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aamod at Dalhousie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aamod at Dalhousie strictly follows the ecotourism principles in its establishment and operations and offers a perfect blend of untouched surroundings with modern-day comforts in its 10 mud cottages/rooms. The cottages have been built without disturbing the ecosystem and without felling trees. The interiors and furnishings have old world charm and rustic flavours, combined with modern ideas of comfortable living. All cottages have spacious furnished sit-outs or large panoramic windows, allowing guests to experience nature closely.Choose from Deluxe / Super Deluxe (sleeps 3-4) and Family Cottages (sleeps 4-6). Cottages are large and spacious with well furnished bedroom/(s) and attached bathrooms. The beauty and design of your accommodation at Aamod Dalhousie, connects you with the surrounding environment, while ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aamod at Dalhousie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aamod at Dalhousie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.