We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Dalhousie, and very good by any standards !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aamod at Dalhousie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aamod at Dalhousie to your Saves list
Aamod at Dalhousie
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Ala, Dalhousie Khajjiar Road, Dalhousie 176304, India (Formerly Aamod at Ala Dalhousie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best in Dalhousie, and very good by any standards !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've been travelling to the hills every year during peak winters, for the last 4 years to enjoy snowfall, but while we've seen a lot of snow at Narkanda, Solang Valley and Kufri in Himachal and also Changu in Sikkim, never enjoyed the pleasure of seeing snowfall happening.

We got lucky at Dalhousie ! It was a very very cold day when we set off for Kahjjiar from Aamod around 11 AM in the morning and reached Khajjiar at around 1 PM. Within 30 minutes it started snowing. We were lucky that we could return in time and not get stranded .....

What made the experience outstanding was Aamod Hotel - everything was simply outstanding - good rooms with a nice view, well maintained pool table, excellent food (you cannot give the "Multani" Mushrooms a miss - the best Tandoori Mushrooms we've ever had !), courteous staff, good room heaters .......

All in all a very good experience .......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pathankot, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We are frequent tourist to Dalhousie and heard a lot about Aamod for last one year. The property was really one of the best in Dalhousie and you would love to be there.

But a hospitality industry does not succeed on property alone, staff and management is all local hired, does not have any professional training and for the most expensive hotel in Dalhousie it will pinch you. (This hotel is almost 4 times expensive than other options & you don't expect a similar service and behavior as offered by others in Dalhousie.

For every simple request you will wait for at least 30 minutes , we asked for hot milk for tea and it took half hour to arrive (even when there was no rush of customers) by the time milk arrived the tea was cold :)

Chicken arrived when the drinks were almost over (45-50 mins)

Management is rigid and wont accommodate to your needs nor will they customize their services to suit your simple preferences.

My friends from nearby cities say that normally they book a different hotel and then go to Aamod for Scenic view & drinks and place order for snacks 1 hour before hand!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visited Aamod in November 2012 as a part of my honeymoon trip to Dalhousie. Booking was done much in advance via Gurgaon H.O.
While I would say that it is the best hotel/resort in Dalhousie and has got beautiful cottages amidst thick greenery. Lovely scenery & nature at it's best is its USP.

Hotel staff was extremely helpful and co-operative at all times and room was spacious and had excellent balcony with a wonderful view of mountains.

Food was excellent and cooked nicely, especially breakfast which was included as my meal plan.

Let's talk about the Part 2 (that I disn't like really)

As soon as we checked in we realised that it's quite cold (than expected) there in Dalhousie and we were possibly not prepared with the same. Also, my wife had already started to feel Mountain Sickness. So we requested the hotel staff at the very moment of check in that we need to cut short our stay by 1 day and they advised that they would get back to me.

On day 2, I did a follow up and the hotel manager advised me to call the H.O. as the reservation was done through them. I made numerous calls and kept requesting them to not charge the 3rd night stay charge, however, to no avail. Even my wife tried talking explaining the case.

On Day 3 morning when I checked out, I had to pay the Third night stay charge even though I stayed for 2 nights only and I requested the same on the day of check in.

I don't know whom to blame for this (the hotel manager or H.O.) same becuase I kept the hotel informed from the moment I checkin about my plans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited Aamod in Feb 2012. The weather was fantastic.... little chilly, but we went in Feb to enjoy the snow. Aamod scores above almost all hotels in Dalhousie because of the location. It is located just above the snow point. Just enjoyed the view from its open air restaurant. Because it is located at a height, you will get a birds eye view of the entire valley located just opposite to the hotel.

Feb was a terrific off season and thus got a good bargain at this lovely property. The place is worth every penny. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious.

The staff hardly said no to anything we asked for. The food at the restaurant was too good. And the ambiance was just amazing.

The place made our holiday more memorable.

Would look forward to visit Aamod again.

Room Tip: It is located away form the market but believe me you will not need the market once you are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

One word to sum up my stay at aamod Dalhousie....AWESOME!!! The location is so amazing as if you are sitting between the clouds...we took an individual cottage which had a small sit out facing the splendid valley below.The resort is sitauted on the Khajjiar road about 5-6kms from gandhi chowk which is the hangout zone of Dalhousie.The colonial restaurant here at aamod's serves you very fine delicious food..mouthwatering indeed...and trust me when i say you wont find any better restaurant than this in whole Dalhousie...so thats a big plus.The resort is located in between the pine forrest and quite open and away from the hustle bustle of the city market.The decor and interiors of the whole resort and rooms gives u very positive vibe and really camouflage with the nature.Come here to rejuvenate urself and keep admiring the beauty of Nature.Aamod resort at Dalhousie define Hospitality and the staff is very courteous and ever smiling.Adventure activity is real fun and a must try.We really enjoyed and cherished our stay at aamods and taking back those lovely moments spend here....will definately come back here soon....cheers!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

mud theropy exciting, amazing views , energetic and supportive staff, close to natural beauty, all these facts make aamod outstanding resort ... activities to flatter kids add something extra to its menu...a place full of excitement & fun...

Room Tip: visiting in winter always prefer corner suites as they are warm and along the sunny side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

aamod dalhousie , its like heaven on earth. excellent food, quality service , and hygeineic surroundings...being there means as close to nature as one could be...support staff is as prompt as one could presume...activities like trecking , cycling, seprates aamod from the other resorts.. last but not the least like to visit again...

Room Tip: choose a room closest to the nature , because you will truely feel the true essence of nature if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aamod at Dalhousie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aamod at Dalhousie

Address: Village Ala, Dalhousie Khajjiar Road, Dalhousie 176304, India (Formerly Aamod at Ala Dalhousie)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aamod at Dalhousie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aamod at Dalhousie strictly follows the ecotourism principles in its establishment and operations and offers a perfect blend of untouched surroundings with modern-day comforts in its 10 mud cottages/rooms. The cottages have been built without disturbing the ecosystem and without felling trees. The interiors and furnishings have old world charm and rustic flavours, combined with modern ideas of comfortable living. All cottages have spacious furnished sit-outs or large panoramic windows, allowing guests to experience nature closely.Choose from Deluxe / Super Deluxe (sleeps 3-4) and Family Cottages (sleeps 4-6). Cottages are large and spacious with well furnished bedroom/(s) and attached bathrooms. The beauty and design of your accommodation at Aamod Dalhousie, connects you with the surrounding environment, while ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aamod at Dalhousie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aamod at Dalhousie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.