We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Lives up to Expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand View Hotel to your Saves list
Grand View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great! Lives up to Expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After going through the reviews on tripadvisor I tentatively decided to embark for summer holidays to Dalhousie, having gone through several very positive reviews, I was quite unsure about the place but after going there we saw why the place is rated so high, even after so much success there was no hint of complacency instead it was a very professional, systematic & passionate approach towards service provision, the food, ambience, courtesies etc were all top notch, Mrs Renu Chadha was very warm in receiving all of us & the staff was extremely polite, forthcoming to help, & all well trained, we had requested a room in the new block & on the top most floor, our requested was attended to & the result was an exhilarating view from the balcony, we were lucky to view 2 back to back rainbows very close to our balcony in the hotel, finally the verdict - Both Dalhousie & Grand View are places to visit over & over again. Well done, ... keep it up.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer block facing Pir Panjal range are a treat & if available one should go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    189
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
348
240
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very nice and well maintained property. The rooms are huge and well decorated including the bathroom. The balconies of luxury rooms overlook the snow clad mountains and its a mesmerizing view. They have a beautiful garden. First time i have come across a hotel where owners themselves are so invloved to make their guests feel comfortable. The food is amazing and they keep in mind about guests travelling with small kids and always keep a dish or two in there dinner buffet suitable for kids. I travelled with my husband and a 4 year old daughter...had a wonerful time here. Will definitely recommend this property.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Loved the Place. Awesome Place. Awesome Staff. Awesome Food and everything was Awesome. We checked in later in the evening, just had kept our luggage with them. When we shown our room it was beautiful view, dont have the pics. Later the room keeping guy came n told us. They have organised a Bonfire musical night. Surprisingly the food was great. It was just like home made food. We met Miss. Radhika and she personally took the feedback and we were happy with the way things were going.

The only problem we had was our room was on ground floor and the floor on 1st floor was of woods. Whenever anyone walked on 1st floor above our room we can hear the foot taps. And Yes the entry of hotel is like as if we are trekking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I just came back from Dharamshala, while staying with a renowned Resort, and then I compared my stay with Grand View Dalhousie. It was such a nice stay in Grand View, that I want to go there again & again. I stayed in the old wing of the Hotel, the rooms were luxurious, the food was good and the staff was very polite and eager to help you. All the credit goes to Mrs. Radhika who was always supportive and helping. I have also recommended to some of my friends to visit Dalhousie, only to stay with Grand view.All the Good wishes to Radhika Ji.

Room Tip: Every room is nice so choose any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Grand View Hotel Dalhousie Grand Hospitalty Grand Rooms Grand View Grand Breakfast Grand Lunch Grand Dinner Grand aproach Grand Weather Make Dalhousie GRAND & Every thing is Grand Grand Grand.but thier is lack of garden area.Room service Grand.This all credit goes to Mrs Chadha.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would like to thank …Mrs. Radhika Chaddha……Owner of GRAND VIEW she arrange personally our stay and surprisingly upgrade us Royal Suite in new wing ….really memorable stay at DALHOUSIE, but unfortunately I couldn’t meet Mrs. Chaddha she were not in the town we want to thanks her personally..any way …
Luxurious spacious room …The food was good with verity and well thought out. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and dinner. They have other activity also Tambola, Live Music, library ,Indoor Games ,SPA,….
The owner, Ashish Chaddha takes personal interest in meeting the guests and addressing their needs. The entire staff is very customer service focused and is always ready to serve with a smile.

I would love to go back to Dalhousie and stay at the Grand View any day
You can have the feel of British era……in GRAND VIEW only
My Stay Was 15 June 2011

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were particularly impressed by the awesome view that the Grand View (aptly named) hotel had to offer, especially of the snow capped Himalayas and valleys covered with Pine and Deodar trees. The old wing of the hotel including the dining hall had a rich colonial feel and gives you a certain sense of warmth and comfort.The service and hospitality at the hotel was simply superb and they gave us a royal treatment right from the time we checked in. From arranging for candle light dinner to evening bon fire, the hotel staff (particularly a gentleman named Mr.Balwant) left no stone unturn to ensure that this would be a special and memorable stay for us. Dalhousie as a place was beautiful beyond imagination and far less crowded and commercial, as a result we could enjoy the place at our own pace at leisure. It was very heartening to interact with Mrs. Chaddha, the owner of the property, and we were floored by her grace and modesty. The spread for breakfast and dinner was very exhasutive with choice of cuisines from Indian (including some of the Himachali delicacies) to international ones. Apart from that Kwality restaurant at Gandhi Chowk (which is part of Grand View's chain) was equally refreshing. All in all Grand View is the place to be at if you are planning a trip to Dalhousie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.