We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER DUPER STAY.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand View Hotel to your Saves list
Grand View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SUPER DUPER STAY.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were 4 couples, and 6 children stayed for 2 days. we have read quiet regarding this hotel. and the Experience was......... better than that.
The view from Room was simply great. we had garden view rooms. and room was of heritage. there is small garden and sitting arrangement near to room.
The food quality was also excellent. during dinner, Mr. and Mrs chaddha (the owner) was taking personal care of each and every group. Live program during dinner was adding value to it. service was fast and prompt. staff was very friendly and courteous. You will feel like Heaven coming to the Hotel.
Room was simple great. heater was excellent, and you wont feel chilled inside room.

The only thing which i can request to Mr. chaddha is to make arrangement of Boiler for running Hot water. Though there was geezer, but it takes another 15 minutes, once you take one bucket of hot water from it.

but over all it is super duper experience for us. and we will like to arrange another tour specially to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms has advantage of having Garden in front of Rooms. while the top rooms, luxury and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    214
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
409
286
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel offers a lovely view.Old rooms overlooking the garden are colonial type.Neat and clean.The luxury rooms inthe upper wing are excellent.spacious and modern neat and clean.
The staff was vv co operative.Food was the icing on the cake.The owners Mr and Mrs Chadha were very hospitable and would get prepared amazing food for the guest.They spoil u in eating habits.
Overall a good experience.A well maintained colorful garden is a delight.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are modern and if u want a british effective go for garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

An intriguing hotel with 2 distinct sections: The Colonial lower section, with the restaurant, was typically "heritage" whilst the upper section was modern and like many chain hotels. The gardens are situated in front of the Heritage rooms and were beautifully kept with plenty of seating areas. The restaurant is vast with plenty of staff who were very helpful and the food was good. The upper floor rooms were a little noisy due to the lift and the number of families and the echo along the corridor. The hotel is walking distance from the town centre and very close to the transport hub. The fantastic view is a 180 degree panorama of the Himalayas.

Room Tip: Away from lift and at far end of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had been to this place in sept for 3 nights-4 days.... & my family simply enjoyed it. Is supposed to be the best hotel in Dalhousie. There were light showers & the sky was really cloudy, the view offered from ou room was just breath taking. The rooms are very well furnished & very clean. The restaurant has mouth watering delicacies in dinner buffet for both veg & non veg food lovers.
The reshmi kebabs, Chicken biryani, chicken tandoori & north indian food was excellent. The chinese cusine was also great. Breakfast also had lavish spread from idlis, bhatura chana, sandwiches, eggs & toast with staeming hot tea & coffee.
My 2 year old daughter loved playing on the swings when the sun came up. Was one of the most memorable family trip we have had in years. Also is has free library service for the guest put up... i could find a loads of intresting books on the shelves to keep me hooked.

A perfect place to be with your family & loved ones!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very nice hotel. We stayed in old wing delux rooms. Rooms are old but very nice and comfortable. Bathrooms are not so mordern but were clean and properly attended. Rooms have separate luggage / or dessing room. Nice food. Good service. Good location. Staff too is courteous and co-operative. Dinner was separately served even after we reached the cut-off time once we had informed that we are supposed to be late. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Super delux rooms are much better and new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel to stay, though I was not impressed when first I saw the hotel entry, a narrow path leading upwards, I was just hoping it should be good inside as my kids were disappointed to see the entry, as I reached the reception, it was a small counter in a small room, was further disappointed, after that the happiness followed, I was informed that I have been upgraded (probably because i booked directly with hotel and not thru any travel agent),and I was given mountain view deluxe interconnected two rooms, I was taken by lift to my rooms, a rarity in hill stations, and when I entered the room it was tooooo good, the rooms were grand and spacious with amazing view of the mountains, the bathrooms were good, and there was hot water running 24 hours, which you need as it is very cold and one would love to take a shower in hot water(only if you are the first one in the morning to take bath, you have to wait at least for 15 mins for the cold water to run out of tap system of the hotel, for the hot water to start), the breakfast was amazing, taking care of every taste, the restaurant served excellent food and the service was excellent, not a single groggy or unpleasant face, there was a star gazing session, where a person appointed by the hotel showed us jupiter with its moons, though the telescope was not a powerful one, they have a table tennis table, pool table(chargeable) carom table and I really enjoyed playing with kids, though the table tennis bats where a little worn out(expected in most of the hotels),overall a great experience and will sure will recommend for anyone who want visit dalhousie, the location is perfect, for people who like to walk around, Gandhi chowk is just 1,1/2 km away, and the hotel is just at the point where you enter dalhousie and all transport means like buses and taxis are at your doorstep without the noise associated with it

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We planned our trip in October 2012, and stayed in this property for 2 nights. It was a wonderful trip. We wanted a peaceful place to spend our weekend and this was just the place. We booked a Luxury room for the stay. The hotel sits at perfect location having great view of Dhauladhar mountains. Rooms view is even better, we were completely awestruck. Deluxe rooms and garden view room are in the old building. They do not have as great as view as luxury rooms or royal suites but they are recommended if you are travelling with kids or elderly people as the dining hall is nearby.

I loved the concept of assigning one staff for one room. They take care of all your needs and you don't feel like calling reception for any reason. Room service is prompt.

We could spend a complete day at this property. They have a video library and also collection of latest books which you can borough. Lawn is beautiful, we could sit their for hours sipping tea.

Gandhi Chawk is 20 minutes walk from this hotel having few other options to eat.

Reaching Dalhousie is a task. Either you take a train to pathankot and take a bus or cab to dalhousie or you can take a bus directly to dalhousie.

You have to go there to experience it. Dalhousie is definitely a better choice than Shimla.

Room Tip: Luxury Room or Royal suites have the best view. Deluxe room or garden view room are near to dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.