We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mongas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mongas
The Mall, Gandhi Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Dalhousie
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was travelling with my entire family for the first time after my marriage and had zeroed down this hotel after carrying out an on-line research on the experiences of different travellers. I must admit that it was a great choice. The location was superb, but I would like to mention their services. Every services that we had asked for was met within 10 minutes. The rooms were very well maintained and with a great view. This property is quite new and undergoing further extension. Moreover, we did book through e-mail and the response was very prompt. Food was excellent as well. Overall a hotel I would recommend for anybody going to Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Please take rooms with view (with balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    63
    20
    12
    13
See reviews for
92
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked 2 Family rooms -- yes the deal did work out be a good in budget deal but we didnt get adjacent rooms also the bathrooms leaked and in a room with 2 double beds having one Fan doesnt help


The hotel is undergoing a renovation -- one that is badly needed by the hotel too

I booked the rooms direwctly speaking to the owner and it ended up being cheaper than on most of the websites out there !!!

Room Tip: Book the room directly talking to the owner - you would get better rates than most of the websites o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location of the Hotel is good. A few minutes walk from Gandhi Chowk-the main market. Food is OK. Room service takes time. More or less an average kind stay. They seem to give priority and importance to the customers who have booked directly with them as compared to any third party travel agent. For me, the only plus point was the location of the hotel. Be careful of the monkeys who are there in the hotel complex all through the day. If you want to enjoy some quite moments from the rooftop sitting area. make sure you are not carrying any food items with you. Though, you cab enjoy the dinner after dark as there are no monkeys by then. Room cleanliness is OK, not very good.

Room Tip: Rooms a li'l below the main road are good. But the best view is from the Attic rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked hotel Mongas for two days after seeing the images on the net and reading the reviews but we were highly disappointed. the room which was give to us had dirlty bathroom, had a broken door cabinet which was again very dirty. we asked for another room which was given next day, it had a sit out but we couldn't enjoy that because of the monkeys. The hotel is not maintaiend in good condition.The pictures of the rooms on the web site are differen from the reality!

Over all our experience was really bad!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel from the 18th to 20th of June 2013 with my family. We had two rooms #407 and #408. The rooms are excellent and are clean with all basic amenities like tea kettle. The service was good. Special mention of the staff Keval (room attendant) who looked after our stay and made it more comfortable. I would have prefered a valley facing view but compared to other hotels I stayed during my journey I rate this hotel as the best. The ambience is good. The hot water is a concern as the geyser takes time to hot another bucket of water. Its value for money. The boy Keval will look after you. The last night he lit a bonfire and we had a great dinner on the open terrace.

Room Tip: The rooms which are facing the valley are still the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzaffarnagar, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited Dalhousie,a beautiful hill station on 15th of June 13.We stayed there at Hotel Mongas. The decor of Attic room we booked in advance was beautiful.Front office staff Mr.Abhinav and Mr.Kishore were very cordial and helping As we reached there well before our check in time and our room was not free.It was raining and pretty cold at that time.Mr.Kishore adjusted us in another room, offered hot coffee till we were shifted to room we booked.Room service is good. Food served in room was superb.In all,It was a lovely stay at a lovely hill station that is DALHOUSIE.

Room Tip: superior and Attic rooms has the advantage of balcony to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had planned a family tour in May 13. The rooms as committed were upto mark. Food quality was nice and the service was very good. The hospitality by the hotel staff was more than the expectation. While you travel what is looked is to have a nice place to relax and feel home after a tiring journey and moving through the markets. Mongas is the right place for that. And not to forget the room attendant Keval. He is genuinely genuine . A staff who is always an asset to be hired and appreciated. We wish Mongas and the staff a great success with a special mention for Keval to achieve all that he deserves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mongas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mongas

Address: The Mall, Gandhi Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover yourself in the serene mountains of Dalhousie at the Mongas; one of the cleanest Indian hill stations. Mongas, thoughtfully appointed in the lap of nature yet in close proximity to The Mall, lets you take in the bounties of mother earth in a relaxing and leisurely atmosphere. Stay at Hotel Mongas, Dalhousie, is Ideal for those who just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mongas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mongas to your Saves list