We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok, at least for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nandan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nandan to your Saves list
Hotel Nandan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G.S. Road, | Paltan Bazar, Guwahati 781008, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“just ok, at least for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I would not have chosen this hotel. It is too close to the railway station to be quite and for anybody to get a restful sleep. However, this is what was offered to me when my plane could not take off due to bad weather and I was stuck in the city.

I got a single room which was just ok, a single bed like in a hostel. The room had a pillar near the bed, so I had to be careful while getting up. The room was quite basic. Perhaps other rooms may have been nicer, but I know no better. The restaurant was ok and I cannot really complain about the food. The lobby had decent sitting place. It was really the room that was definitely not good and the location near the railway station which makes me consider it too noisy for me to stay in.

Room Tip: suggest you check out the room before finalizing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your observations and the feedback,which we value and can pin point responsibilities and rectify our shortcomings to improve our services to serve you better in future visits.
Thanking you,

Yours in Hospitality,

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    47
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
8
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Located at a prime location in the city. It is good. Has a good reputation. Service Staff are lazy.Food is good.Rooms are nice. The best thing is its location. Everything is easily accessible.For newcomers in the city it is a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such wonderful feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality,

M.K.Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been to their restaurant: Trans Curry.
Ordered for Coriander Tomato soup that is supposed to be clear, fresh and ofcourse refreshing. We are thouroughly disappointed with the following:
Wait staff do not have any clue on what is available, what was required by the customer and what is being served
Person who has taken the order do not distinguish between the cream of soup and a clear soup
Quality of food is stale and a very peculiar taste
LIghting in the restaurant is not bright
Billing is accurate: thankfully
Overall service is very poor; so is the quality of food

Room Tip: Doubly check what exactly a dish mean and ensure that you are on same page with the wait staff befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! However, please accept our apology for the inconvenience in regards to your recent dissatisfaction with us.
We are apologetic that the usual high standards of our Restaurant services were not met in this instance to you.

To prevent re-occurrences, we have set up a verification procedure and assure you that the preventive measures will be taken to satisfy guest requirements.

Thanking you for your valuable feedback and assure you our best of services.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely,
Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations

Variation of Soup:
Traditionally, soups are classified into two main groups:
Clear soups and thick soups. The established French classifications of clear soups are bouillon and consommé. Thick soups are classified depending upon the type of thickening agent used: purées are vegetable soups thickened with starch; bisques are made from puréed shellfish or vegetables thickened with cream; cream soups may be thickened with béchamel sauce; and veloutés are thickened with eggs,butter, and cream. Other ingredients commonly used to thicken soups and broths include egg, rice, lentils, flour, and grains; many popular soups also include carrots and potatoes.

Tomato & Fresh Coriander Soup
Tomatoes cut into quarters 900 gm / 2 lb
Butter 5 tsp
Cumin (jeera) seeds 3 tsp
Green cardamom (choti elaichi) 4
Black cardamom (badi elaichi) 2
Cinnamon (dalchini), 1" sticks 2
Bay leaves (tej patta) 2
Salt to taste
Ginger (adrak), coarsely chopped 1 ½ tsp
Garlic (lasan) cloves 12
Green coriander (hara dhaniya), leaves
& stems separated & chopped 5 tbsp
Black peppercorn (sabut kaali mirch) 12
Kashmiri red chilli powder 1 tsp
Water 4 cups
White pepper (sofed mirch) powder ½ tsp
Cumin seeds, roasted, powdered ½ tsp
Method :
Heat the butter in a pan on medium heat; add cumin seeds, both cardamoms, cinnamon stick, and bay leaves; stir. Add tomatoes and salt; stir. Add ginger, garlic, green coriander stems, black peppercorns, and red chilli powder; stir. Add water, increase heat and bring the mixture to the boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Remove from heat and strain into a separate pot using a soup strainer. Bring the strained mixture to the boil. Boil for 2-3 minutes. Add white pepper and cumin powder; stir and reduce heat to low, add green coriander leaves, stir and simmer for 2-3 minutes. Transfer to individual soup bowls and serve hot garnished with croutons (optional). *Preparation time: 1 ½ hours. Serves: 4
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Its the best hotel in guwahati since last 20 years or so...staff service food security all superb...few rooms are bit dated but the newly renovated ones are very good...overall its an excellent hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty ,
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was always famous and reputed for its service and luxury rooms. A preffered choice for the corporates.
Rooms are clean and gives a feeling of a rich experience. Foods are equally good and service is excellent.
What more to expect sitting at the heart of the city with railway station just a walkaway and major bus and cab services are available just in the same road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty ,Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Nandan during August 2013. The pluses - 1. Location - right at the centre of the city, easy access to cabs for Airport and the hotel itself is an landmark. 2. WIFi was free and fast, you will have to ask the hotel reception for it.
Food was ok, breakfast not so good. Room size average.
Cleanliness wise the hotel was just about there, can do better no doubt. Will go again for a business trip perhaps but not a family trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights a few says back. If you are a business traveller, this is the best or amongst the top 2 or 3. A very old hotel and well reputed. The rooms have been refurbished recently. They call themselves a 3 star but I won't rate it 3 star compared to ajar cities.

It's on the main road so easy access to the main markets and transports.

Costs approx 500-550 one way airport.

The food good, get good punjabi food. It's a family place, be careful while selecting hotels in guwahati as my observation says not many hotels are family hotels and don't enjoy good reputation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such positive feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nandan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nandan

Address: G.S. Road, | Paltan Bazar, Guwahati 781008, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nandan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Nandan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nandan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.