We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navagraha temple is devoted to Nine planets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Navagraha Temple

Navagraha Temple
Chitrasal Hills, Guwahati, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 attractions in Guwahati
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Faridabad, India
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Navagraha temple is devoted to Nine planets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Navagraha Temple is situated on the top of Chitrasal Hill in Guwahati. You have to climb some stairs from road to reach the main shrine.
Enshrined in this temple are nine Shivalingams and these represent the nine planets, each covered with a colored garment symbolic of each of the planet, with a Shivaligam in the centre symbolizing the Sun. Inside of temple is dark and you have to stand there for sometime to accustom your eyes to see things properly or carry something like torch or may be mobile phone can help you to see.
There were lots of monkeys jumping around and I have to move around very carefully to avoid them, be careful.
There is nothing much to mention about temple but if you are going from religious point of view then ok but if you are going from a tourist point of view then you will not find much to see except for the view of Guwahati city from above.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Good attraction of Guwahati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We should visit this place while visting guwahati since it is very good attraction for tourists. The temple has a concreat Pauri for reaching upto temple.There is a shiv temple and below it there is picnic spot as a spring and water fall is situated.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharagpur, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Temple of the Nine Planets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Navagraha Temple or the temple of the Nine Planets is not something we are very familiar with. So the name of this temple mainly attracted me to go and see what it actually is. Being situated on top of a hill the temple premises provide a panoramic view of the Guwahati City alongside the mighty Brahmaputra River. The serine atmosphere surrounding it with a breath-taking top angle view of the city filled our heart. The temple was the abode of the nine planets whom we worship according to the Indian astrology and whom we look upon as controller of our fate. The inside of the temple was only lit with diyas and the nine planets appearing like nine small Shivalingas were placed in a circular fashion surrounding the Sun or Surya at the center.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The seat of nine planets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an ancient temple with seat for nine planets.
Let me write about the present. The temple is old and looks old and feels old. Guwahati has some very old temple but I am sad to say that these temples have been ruined by overzealous devotee and indifferent management. Ancient stones have been covered by modern tiles and they do not feel same as before. I am happy to say that Navagraha is one of the temples where u will still find the temple as it was before. There is no light inside and surprisingly you do not need light after some time.
I liked the temple for the great view of Brahmaputra. The Pujaris are nice and perform puja in proper way. I have done puja here myself and have received benediction. It is right at the centre of Guwahati and easy to access. Overall a must visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navagraha Temple also viewed

 

Been to Navagraha Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navagraha Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Navagraha Temple to your Saves list