We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National park with the world's highest density of Tigers !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaziranga National Park

Kaziranga National Park
GolaGhat and Nagaon, Guwahati 110092, India
011-42156200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 attractions in Guwahati
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“National park with the world's highest density of Tigers !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

You must have often read that in Kaziranga tiger sightings are rare. Did you know that this national park has the highest density of wild Tigers in the World. Data mismatch. Right before our morning safari, we were told by our naturalist that sighting a tiger in the afternoon was more probable than the morning.

We sighted rhinos, variety of deers, wild buffaloes, migratory birds, ducks, kingfishers and the sunbathing turtles. More than half of our safari was complete and we were on the way towards a watch tower. "Tiger Tiger!! ", shouted our driver. 100 metres from us a tiger was crossing the road. We slowly made our way in that direction. We tracked the pug marks till the point where it entered into the tall elephant grass. Our driver got off the vehicle and was peeping into the elephant grass. We were quite dumbfounded not knowing how to react. In awe we were staring at our driver. After his investigation was over he sat back in the jeep. In complete silence we were scanning the entire area. Our naturalist told us that it was a male tiger roaming his area and normally a female followed suit behind him. We waited over there for sometime and then decided to move ahead. It was just a glimpse and what a breathtaking one. In the afternoon safari again quite a few jeeps were lucky with tiger sightings. It is this elusiveness which makes the tiger craving soar high. Is this the season for tiger sightings or was it our darn good luck, I really don't know. All I know is our day was made.

Jeep Safaris are of two hours but can be extended till 3 hours plus.

Tiger sightings are usually in the Central Range. For best sightings of Rhinos take the Elephant Safari in the central Range. We spotted herds of Rhinos together on elephant back. Elephant safari is more of a joy ride of 45 mins. It was an excellent experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    34
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dibrugarh, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Identity of North East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Kaziranga National Park is the premium tourist location of North East India. A world heritage site and one of the most popular national parks in India, it boasts of a large variety of flora and fauna. It is renowned for the Indian one horned rhinocerous found only in these parts of India. Also it houses huge population of wild buffaloes, elephants, deers of various species and exotic birds like Hornbil, Chinese Peasant and several migratory birds. But one fact that most of us miss is that this national park holds the record for highest density of tiger population in India.
Approachable by road, tourist friendly safaris by jeep and elephant and accommodation facilities ranging from budget to the most luxurious this park is a worth see for all those who are a wildlife enthusiast.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not just for rhino's - A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Perhaps the only park for the one horned Indian rhino, it also has a lot of other wild life - buffalo, "deer", birds of all kinds, elephants and, if your are lucky, tigers. It is a long 6 hour ride from Guwahati the closest airport. We saw more rhinos than buffalos. The real surprise was seeing the rhinos and other wild life co-exist with local farm and farm animals. Wild life on one side of the street, farmland on the other with access across the road. It helps that the rhinos are herbivores. The park is well set up with jeep and elephant back safaris. Some of the tour leaders may rush you, but are more than happy to slow down and share their pride of the park. Allow at least one full day and try to take an elephant back safari first. If you can stay another day, try it from either ends of the park. Most local lodges are conveniently located and many arrange safaris. The area is surrounded by tea estates. We indulged in it at the local Hithakuli estate retail outlet. Lovely tea. Buy some if it is your "cup of tea"

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kaziranga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The national park is home to the largest population on one horned rhino in Asia. There are also abundant tigers, elephants and deer. There are also large numbers of birds including eagles, stork, pelicans, geese and ducks. Smaller birds include species of kingfisher. The park is visited by safari jeeps with a driver. There are costs for entry to the park and hire of the jeep and driver. It is also worth an early start to go for an elephant ride. You get really close 10m to rhino. There are many resort hotels in the area that you can stay at. The nearest airport is Guwahati, and that is about 5hrs away by car. This is a spectacular place to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Place Kajiranga.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nothing to dislike this is a beautiful place. I wish I will come again and again. I will remember most the Elephant Safari Experience. It was so exiting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaziranga National Park also viewed

 

Been to Kaziranga National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaziranga National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kaziranga National Park to your Saves list