We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naga food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naga Kitchen

Naga Kitchen
Naga Kitchen, Prashanta Path | Opposite Pantaloons, Guwahati 781030, India
+91 9508922492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 196 Restaurants in Guwahati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Naga food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Superbbb naga food and superb environment..a must visit place who wants to eat yummy food...value for money as well

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant, simple food of good quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went here for lunch the other day. It's a much larger restaurant than one would expect and clearly popular with a wide variety of people (families, young people, tourists). This was the first time I had Naga food so can't compare it to earlier experiences but have been told that this restaurant does it particularly well. Although we enjoyed the food I can't say it measures up to for instance Assamese food which is much more fragrant and comes with a kind of subtelty that Naga food seems to lack. I guess the best way to describe the food is rural/mountainous; easy preparations that can be done on a wood stove on a hill slope making use of easily available but fresh ingredients. As such it is definitely healthy, non-fatty food, quite different from for instance Kashi food which is much more oily and fatty. We liked the liberal use of ginger, the spartan but effective use of spices... and the meat is probably best feature of Naga food, tender and nicely done. My partner had the non-veg thali which was a little simple for his taste (he's South Indian and used to a much more elaborate affair), I myself had the smoked chicken in (watery) curry which I actually liked very much. This restaurant is well-worth a try for the simple experience of having had Naga food. But it will not be the best meal you'll ever have.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for everyone !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place is for those who like Nagamese food. Not meant for people who love spicy food. It is basically a family restaurant.
The ambiance is good, but congested. Service is good. Price is little on the higher side. You might end up spending Rs.1000 for two people.
Like: pork ribs (must try), pork bamboo shoot.
Dislike: pricey, less quantity of food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Traditional North East Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you are by any chance in Guwahati , Assam and you are a food crazy than you must have visit this restaurant called THE NAGA KITCHEN. Here you will get all kind of Veg/Non-veg items and let me tell you the food is the best. Here the main attractions are the traditional food items of north east India, you will get from chicken, mutton to pork. The pork ribs, pork fried rice smoked pork and other pork items are mouth watering and finger licking items if you are a pork lover. The restaurant started from a small stall to a big restaurant and now they have opened main chains in Guwahati as well as in other parts of India like Bangalore etc

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Naga Kitchen is a gem, the dinning room is lovely the service is great and the food divine. I could rant for hours about how much I enjoy my dinners there but why bother the food speaks for itself, give it a try and I believe you will agree. The smoked pork is my favourite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naga Kitchen also viewed

Guwahati, Assam
Guwahati, Assam
 

Been to Naga Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naga Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.