We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gateway Grandeur to your Saves list
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Dibrugarh, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have been staying at this property for quite sometime whenever I am in ghy. This time I stayed in suite no. 507. It's a good suite. But the layout of the room is not upto the mark. The living area furniture is a little heavy looking. The toilet layout is good. The balcony with a cute little terrace garden and sitting arrangement is a great idea. It's really very pleasing. Food quality is good but the quality of tandoori snacks is not upto the mark....it needs drastic North Indian style improvement. King Chilly Restaurant at lobby level is a good idea. Also the ethnic gift shop is great....but little expensive.

Room Tip: Choose to stay on the fifth floor to enjoy the terrace garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir

Thanks for having dropped your thoughts further to your stay with us. I was glad to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel and its design and style
Thank you for your kind words about the food and the Food & Beverage outlets. This comment would really help my entire team to work further towards guest satisfaction and ensure that each guest has an equally memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
1
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Duliajan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel during my official visits to the city of Guwahati. As already posted in my earlier reviews this is indeed a great place to sleep and eat. The centralized location makes it convenient for all. The food, the wi-fi, room service etc. all are constantly ascending towards a greater service. One point that I learned from my stay this time is that the 3rd floor is a bit less illuminated than the other floors. so, it preferable to select any other floor. by luck I was able to interact with the owner and was able to learn that some guests staying in premium rooms even spit in the walls leading to change of all the wallpapers. So sad...enjoyed dinner at king chilly. Another point for the management is to provide a bit of training to the front desk staff. this will enhance the level of service provided.

Room Tip: Front and side view rooms provide a view of the GS road and rear rooms provide a view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel apart from food & beverage and related services.
It is indeed disappointing to note that we were unable to meet your expectations in certain areas. But I assure you that we would certainly discuss this matter for future improvement.

The entire team at Hotel Gateway Grandeur looks forward to your visit.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The rooms are good enuf with comforting bath and bed and tasty food, but it lacks on the following:

Lighting is not comforting to eyes.... TOO many CFL's

Lots of purposeless furniture make the movement in the room difficult and space is a mess all the time. Room has useless pieces of furniture like two lamps, two dressing tables, one bigger table and two big chairs, three bedside tables, one foldable table, one chair for the dressing table along with tv trolley with drawers and an almirah........ I was travelling single and found the place always a mess, what would happen to couples with family??

remote of ac dsnt work from the bed, which can effect the quality of sleep


This one shows how u can spend money and yet fail!!

Room Tip: Check whether u can control ac from the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Spacious rooms, beautiful interiors, big restaurant and good location. I used to stay at some other hotels of Guwahati, I think this is the best amongst the good hotels. Staff like Jittu are so helpful and cooperative.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and the food and service met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati!

With warm Regards

Arup Roy

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have been visiting Assam for the last two years on account of work and have stayed at the Gateway Grandeur 40-50 times if not more. Well, the fact that it is centrally located from business perspective does not hurt its cause in the first place. In terms of the infrastructure of the hotel, I should not be complaining for the tariff that they charge. The rooms are well equipped with all basic amenities, but maintenance and upkeep is an area they need to look into.

From lights not working, to non-functioning plug points and broken/ leaking taps in the washrooms etc etc, (minor issues which cheese you off once you arrive at the hotel after a 2.5 hour, 5 am flight), I've seen them all. Though I must admit that these issues do get resolved in fair amount of time or the hotel simply moves me to another room. My point is, focus on getting it right in the first place!

The quality of the food is decent both at the multicuisine restaurant and that ordered via the room service. The authentic Assamese restaurant at the hotel appears to be deserted more often than not, and the bar at the hotel can easily be given a miss for decent options in the vicinity of the hotel.

The staff is nice and at their best behavior at most times, however, the hotel should certainly look into investing more into training them better to meet the demands of the discerning traveller who will always expect more. A globally renowned hotel chain is opening up its first hotel in the city very soon which gives the management all the more reason to tighten the loose ends.

All said and done, will keep coming back to the hotel till the time Guwahati is a work destination and perhaps even after.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that our esteemed guests had a memorable experience while staying with us at The Hotel Gateway Grandeur..

On the other hand, I do apologies for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the Maintenance jobs in our guest room, and we will review the issues raised with our Maintenance people.

We sincerely look forward to your stay back with us and assure you of improvements.

Warm Regards

Arup Roy

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

On account of my business visit I stayed in this hotel. Hotel is centrally located in the heart of market area of Guwahati. Time taken for checkin and checkout is considerably more. Reception staff seems to be new! Rooms are moderately furnished. Rooms along west side are better. Quality of food is reasonably good.No personal attention from the management.Little noicy at night.

Room Tip: West side rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itanagar, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is a good place to stay while in guwahati. The lobby has lot of space with nicely decorated to welcome the guests. The lifts are working properly and the rooms are spacious even for a executive room where I stayed. However the lighting of the room is poor and is difficult for whose eyesight is poor. Rom services are good and the also the complimentary breakfasts are good to digestwith.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gateway Grandeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.