We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute value for money ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gateway Grandeur to your Saves list
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Pune, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolute value for money ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Ideally located on GS Road Guwahati a perfect place away from home for a vacation or business trip

Great ambience, good food, sumptuous complimentary breakfast spread.

The overall service was good but calls for improvement to meet expectations

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and it was our pleasure to host you.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again with our signature grace, warmth and care


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
1
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is well located off GS Road. It was convenient for me as my meetings were nearby. The hotel room size is good but the cleanliness could have been better. The room had a musty, damp smell. The food at the assamese restaurant in the lobby area was very good, served in ethnic utensils and freshly made. The food at the coffee shop was average. The staff were helpful and receptive.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the busy road are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest

It is a pleasure to read positive comments from guests like you. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Hotel Gateway

we hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Gateway experience.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with the rooms, food, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur on your next visit.

With Warm Regards

Arup Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duliajan, Dibrugarh (Assam)
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is situated on GS Road which is one of the main centre of present days Guwahati. Though the entrance is a bit congested, the hotel in itself is quite good. The lobby is beautiful, the restaurants very good, serving delicious food of many varieties.

Rooms and bathrooms are quite spacious and clean and the interior decoration depicting the elite taste of the management. Services are good and staff polite and courteous.

View from the room though again is a bit shabby but the stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and the food and service met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway next time you are in Guwahati!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Gateway Grandeur is always my first choice while at Guwahati on a business trip. The rooms are cosy with modern amenities and the service nice and friendly. Added advantage is that wifi is free as my internet dongle never works in the north east. The food is average and not expensive. The ambiance was good as compared to other hotels at guwahati.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you have availed our Wi-Fi connectivity of our hotel,and received a good response. the food and service also met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati!

With Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for just a short stay on business but was satisfied with facilities and services. Large room (they upgraded me at no charge) , modern bathroom, good wifi, and very good breakfast. Dinner in the resto was also good. Bar for cocktails was ok, a staff were more interested in watching TV. This is a more modern hotel than some others in Guwahati and worth the slightly higher price. I will likely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that our esteemed guests had a memorable experience while staying with us at The Hotel Gateway Grandeur..

Thank you for your kind words about the food in Food & Beverage outlets.. I will look into the concerns shared by you. This comment would really help my entire team to work further towards guest satisfaction and ensure that each guest has an equally memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently stayed at Gateway Grandeur for a couple of days for a business conference.

Situated in the bustling GS Road of Guwahati, you are right at the heart of activities in the city and that makes your movements to your destinations in the city easier.

Spacious rooms, good Wi-Fi connections, good cleanliness overall. Room & other house decors strongly reflect the local art, culture & tradition of the region, which is tasteful.

Though could not taste the food in the main restaurant, buffet offered at the conference was completely unique as it offered a variety of very local traditional dishes and for the folks who look to taste local authentic cuisines of the place of travel, it will be all worthwhile as the dishes served are not very easily available in the restaurants around. Breakfast was excellent too though the coffee can taste better.

Business wise, good audio-visual and physical facilities for holding your meetings & conferences. Good connectivity around the city from the place will only make it easier for all the business people visiting. Good night spots can be found easily nearer to the place for the party people.

The gym though leaves a lot from expectations for a 4* property as the equipment are not only inadequate, the existing ones are either squeaky or half/non functioning! Water bottles & towels were in short supply and there was no cloth for equipment cleaning after use! Have nothing but praise for the wonderfully helpful & friendly instructor who had few good techniques to show in the short period of time I used the gym!

Staff can be trained for better communication skills and also more friendliness though they were nothing but very helpful in every step from check in to check out.

Overall, great place to stay whether you are stepping into the city or using it as a gateway to India's beautiful North East..!! Would strongly recommend it...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is probably one of the most expensive ones to stay in Guwahati but the services leaves much to be said. They are located on the main road on probably one of the busiest streets in Guwahati. Which means that without the sound proofed windows, you will end up being subjected to the constant honking and traffic noise from early morning to late night! The rooms are smelly and damp and their walls probably uglier than the local government offices. Dirty and filthy with dampness seeping through wonder why no body has taken the pains to atleast repaint it!

The food in the hotel is average to say the least and is largely forgettable. For the price that I ended up paying would have expected a lot more. Will probably never come here again.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the road side of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gateway Grandeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.