We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gateway Grandeur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gateway Grandeur to your Saves list
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Duliajan, Assam, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Gateway Grandeur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was a good experience having stayed in Gateway Grandeur in Guwahati. Basically its location is very nice. It is in the heart of the city. The hotel has been maintained well and is very clean all around including rooms and toilets. The food is also of good standard. The people at the reception counter found to be very polite and accommodating. The room service is also very prompt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and the food and service met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
1
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pretty new pretty big & spacious bathroom could have bad better layout. Breakfast spread was decent and food is also nice.Staff is friendly & courteous. By all means compared to other Guwahati hotels this place is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your lovely review, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us,and it would be a pleasure to serve you again, If your future plans bring you again to Guwahati.

Thank you for complementing our Breakfast Buffet.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

With Warm Regards

Arup Roy

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Located at the heart of the city very comfortable hotel with excellent B'fast. Although the parking space is limited the difficulty is mitigated by te helping attendents. The room size is spacious. Panaromic view is available from few rooms however for business trips this is not so important. The staff are well groomed & ready to help.

Room Tip: Room no 718 on seventh floor - spacious , Room No-609 having a large balcony overlooking the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir

It is a pleasure to read positive comments from guests like you. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

These positive comments will definitely help us to boost our moral support. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

We hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Gateway experience.

With Warm Regards

Arup Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Choose this hotel, after going through Trip Advisor and knowing fully that in Guwahati there are limited options. We were there for a day on our return from Guwahati to Hyderabad. We had a mixed experience in the hotel -

1. Good : The room size was huge will all the necessary amenities. the Hotel is located well on the G S Road giving ample opportunity to shop and experience the city. The breakfast(buffet) though not lavish had basic stuff.

2. Bad :
a. we arrived late in the evening and the vehicle was stopped outside the main gate quoting VIP(Minister's stay). I had to go inside and request them to allow the vehicle so that our luggage could be unloaded. The hotel was full of security personnel and the staff busy attending to them. With this for a starter we did not venture out more out of your room and preferred to have dinner. in the room.
b. The bathroom was too cramped, dingy and did not give a fresh feeling. Had to get it cleaned couple of times. The wall paper in the room was peeling off and in the foyer areas the wall was leaking.

Did not bother much as we were there for less than 12 hours - however for a longer stay may prefer something else like a Ginger etc.

Room Tip: 1. Definitely check the bathroom size & cleanliness before you shift to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

People were extremely friendly and I made some great friends right upon arrival,Room and bathroom were very clean.The breakfast was ok, front desk people were very help full specially the night sift guy, well trained very help full...thumps up like to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Adviser regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and it was our pleasure to host you.


With Warm Regards

Arup Roy

General Manager
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Guwahati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I am a frequent traveller in india and abroad and I have stayed in hotels throught my travel..so far this is the worst hotel I have stayed..I complete rip off.i advise people trvaelling to guwahati to pick a different hotel other than this one..ull be lucky if u get electricity in ur room..I stayed in some presidential suite which had no electricity during my entire stay in mid of summer.they didnt have the slightest courtesy to apologise either.their suite is the size of my closet and charges are 5 star hotel rates.pathetic!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed disappointing to note that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We at Hotel Gateway Grandeur sincerely believe that guest feedback are stepping stones towards improvements; hence we look at each guest feedback very critically and work towards amends.

Arup Roy

General Manager

Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Guwahati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed at the Gateway for 4 nights in January while attending the International Tourism Mart held at Guwahati. We were assigned hotels, so this wasnt my choice. Being my first time here, i wasnt sure what to expect, just that i hoped that the Hotel had decent free wifi.
Was put in room 503, size wise was quite big, though with tiled flooring. Fortunately the wifi, using password, was quite reliable and i was able to communicate with my family back home on FaceTime.

Breakfast was OK, although i was surprised they only start at 7:30am. Even then, the coffee and tea werent ready until maybe 20 minutes after that. Dont really know why they cudnt start breakfast earlier. Food selection wasnt great, and i was sick of the curry after the 3rd day.

Being a coffee drinker, the coffee here was TERRIBLE.

Had dinner one time at the cafe and asked for spaghetti aglio olio, and when it came, it was with tomato sauce.

Reception staff was not as welcoming from the expression of their faces. The bellmen and restaurant staff were better.

Went to see their gym and pool..... very very small pool... and the gym looked like an 80s gym... so didnt try it.

It was a decent stay as i was only using the room for sleeping anyway and was out most of the day.

Was told that over the next 1-2 years, 5 international brands are coming to Guwahati, so if anyone is interested to come here, wait until then.

Oh, lastly, the vicinity was ok to walk around, with some small shops and Pizza Hut and KFC walking distance (10 minutes maybe)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will help us rectifying the mistakes. A drastic action already been taken by the management. We have changed the breakfast time to 7AM in the morning. We did also note your feedback on service at our Florentine Restaurant and taste of food. I assure you that we would certainly work towards improvement in these areas of concern mentioned.. Regarding the gym we have already ordered latest machinery. Staff meeting been conducted and training program for them also been organized.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel gateway Grandeur. Guwahati

Warm Regards
Arup Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gateway Grandeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.