We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit out of town but nice clean place at riverside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ginger Hotel Guwahati to your Saves list
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bit out of town but nice clean place at riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you have good arrangement for mobility then you can consider this hotel. It takes around 45 min to 1 hr to travel from airport to this place. The rooms are clean and comfortable and staff is friendly. Food is also good and you can enjoy coffee 24/7 as there is a CCD in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with window facing riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Vikram,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us,and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the location of the hotel during your stay at Ginger Guwahati.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, and we are glad to know that you liked the clean & comfortable rooms, friendly staff, F&B offerings and the 24*7 CCD service available at our hotel.

We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback as it assists us in improving further. We assure you of the best of our services in future.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    68
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
21
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is a bit out of the town, and to get a vehicle you need to walk along a rather lonely stretch to flag down transport. You could also take the hotel provided taxi service to get you to the nearest 3wheeler, but you may have to wait about half an hour before you get the service. Even then, the area is lonely and you will have to return by rather lonely roads on the way back. I did not find that comfortable. There is also no restaurant in the neighborhood, so either you eat at the coffee shop (a coffee cafe day) or at their overpriced restaurant where I found the servings were very small and I was left hungry. The wifi does not work much, and the rooms are small. At this price you are likely to get a better hotel in the middle of the city and also get a choice of restaurants to eat at.

What is good: the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly. As the hotel is not in the middle of the city, perhaps sometimes it is easier to get out without being caught in a traffic jam. Nonetheless, I would rather stay in the middle of the city than here.

Room Tip: In case there is some show of function happening in the area, check which side of the hotel it is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Ginger Hotels, I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. I note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

Your concern regarding the location of the hotel, Wi-Fi connectivity, F&B price & quantity and small rooms of the hotel has been taken up with the respective department head for corrective action. However our Wi-Fi Connectivity is relatively very effective in the Hotel premises; however this has taken up with the concerned person in Information Technology for corrective action. With regards to quantity & price of the food provided in hotel is comparatively equal, however we will be taking this up with the concerned person for corrective action and we will look into making the food more appealing and value for money in quality as well as quantity.

However, we would like to inform you that the room size is standard across all Ginger Hotels in India. Also we have Twin rooms available which are bigger in size, wherein they have two separate beds.


Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, thank you for bringing it to our attention, your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best.

You will experience a marked difference in the quality & quantity of our F&B offerings, Wi-Fi service, during your next visit. We look forward to your continued association with us.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.


Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This isn't really a hotel, so don't expect it to be one. Guwahati is a very small town, even though it is the hub for the entire region.
This hotel is sort of like a youth hostel in any European country. The rooms are basic and clean. The lobby is kinda youngish, with a Cafe Coffee Day outlet inside the main building (which is nice, cos I like my morning espresso).

I must say, however, that I did get some very pleasant sleep in this hotel. The place is located in the middle of nothingness, with just greenery and hills around. Hence its very silent.

The breakfast spread is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are identical as other Ginger hotels. They have restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service has been started with limited choices. Location is far from city. They provide free city service which is upto 1 km. Restaurant is good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is away from city but doesn't have any advantages of it. The surroundings are stinky and the rooms are not great either. It has a CCD and a small restaurant to eat. Overall average place and not VFM in anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This review is only based on the experience in attempting to book the hotel on 20th October night for three nights. Had discussed with Mr.Bhaskar.
Its extremely positive and professional. We did not ultimately check in only due to the distance from the main center of the city.

Room Tip: If you have a cab, then this is the place to be in; prices are not inclusive of the breakfast though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

ginger is budget hotel, don't provide breakfast even, room size is also not big. food quality is good. location is little isolated so good for group traveller or business travel. parking n garden is ample. there is free wifi but I faced problem in that also. staff is friendly but service is little slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Navendu,

On behalf of Ginger Hotels, I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the deficiency in service.

Your feedback regarding Wi-Fi connection, room size and complimentary breakfast has been taken with the respective department heads for corrective actions. Also the respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient & quick while dealing with the guests requirements, so that our guests don't face any such inconvenience.

However, we would like to inform you that the room size is standard across all Ginger Hotels in India. Also we have Twin rooms available which are bigger in size, wherein they have two separate beds.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, and we are glad to know that you liked the food quality & parking facility provided by our hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Hotel Guwahati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.