We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GINGER - GUWAHATI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ginger Hotel Guwahati to your Saves list
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GINGER - GUWAHATI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is my first experience with any Ginger Hotel. I got a better deal through cleartrip compared to direct booking. The Hotel is neat, lot of parking space and professional atmosphere. It is located quite far from the airport and you have to hire taxi for each and every move. Travel agent is unreasonably costly. Food is just average . Rooms are just Ok.

Room Tip: There are not many options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Sanyal,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you & we are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the location of the hotel and the travel desk charges.

However, would like to inform you that our travel desk's charges are comparatively equal to the local travel agents in Guwahati. The charges are vetted with the standard and the quality of the service been provided from the hotel's end which includes the security and the itinerary grantee of the guests for the entire period they commute.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati. We will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions. Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant one.


Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    62
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
28
19
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The first thing which you notice is the absolute calm. Situated outside the chaos of the city but not very far from the main arterial road (G S Road). Very good if you have business in the 6 Mile / Khanapara / Dispur locality. Or enroute to vacation to upper Assam / Meghalaya.

Location : 12km from railway station / 34km from Airport. Hotel car available for free drop to 6 Mile crossing from where you can avail other modes of transport. If you want comfort then hire a car from the hotel.

Infrastructure : Very good. Looks spiky new and ample space all around, not boxed in by other buildings on any side. Tight security, remember to carry ID cards for all members (school photo ID cards for children) else there would be problem. Entrance opens to an open reception, a restaurant beyond and a CCD counter. Complimentary WiFi is available but I was not able to log in. If you can't live without smoking then inform when booking (2nd floor).

Rooms : Good and enough space to move around without banging into furniture. All corners were clean. Complimentary Tea / Coffee arrangement is convenient. Bathroom well designed, 3 separate spaces for toilet, shower and basin. Suggest to the management to move the shower curtain inside by an inch as it is positioned just above the raised floor edge and the water from the curtain flows into the outer area. We had booked 5 rooms out of which 2 rooms had problem with AC / kettle and had to change rooms. So check everything when you walk in.

Food : Not exceptional but should satisfy most people wanting Indian food. Enough choice in buffet breakfast / lunch / dinner if you are staying for 2~3 days.

Service : Courteous and helpful. Keeps a good look for empty glasses and plates to be filled up or removed.

Overall like a star hotel on a budget. A little more care from house keeping and it would be hard to beat. If you don't want the frills and looking for cleanliness on a budget then this is very good choice.

Room Tip: Nice view from the rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Away from the maddening hustle-bustle of the city, yet on the highway to the airport, Ginger Guwahati is a hidden jewel in the Gateway to the North-East. The facilities were as always smart-frill basic, but the basic nature of the hotel masks the value it offers under the facilities provided - calmness/serenity, Cafe Coffee Day, buffet breakfast/dinner (the ones I had), free WiFi, the neatly stocked gym, the Tata Sky connection in the room and the business center facilities - all together make for a decent package. The sleep quality was very good and I will get back when I return to Guwahati.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very neat & clean hotel, Room service is also very good, Food quality is superb. All the staff are co-operative specially at reception. Only problem is the location. It is far away from the airport/ city.

Room Tip: Full value of money - hotel at Guwahati
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had again stayed here after one year, but now it is not maintained properly. There were scratches on the wall. Some toilet fixtures were not properly working. My intercom was not working, although it was repaired ASAPL after my complaint.
Food was good in the restaurant. Otherwise in my opinion it is still best hotel in Guwahati. I request to management for just caring it little more, it will once again swanky.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

An average hotel priced modestly after discount. But still seems expensive compared to other properties.

The location was far away from the city, quite and remote, and i had specifically chosen this as wanted to leave early morning to shillong to cut the traffic.

The rooms were small,cramped but were well equipped with LCD and other amenities.

The service was lax, but had booked this with similar expectations.

Book cheap only for overnight stay to move out of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is a very stunning place to stay. The hotel environments are very serene. Rooms are clean, fresh, spacious and a best place to stay. We had Television, a/c and 24hrs cold and hot water facility in the rooms. They are provided us a yummy and very tasty food with different verities. Rooms are available here for reasonable price. I and my family stayed here for 2 days we had a nice and wonderful experience. The atmosphere around the hotel was very friendly and nice. Over all services offered by the hotel staffs were good. Good and wonderful service, staffs are with smiling face and helping mentality … Enjoyed a lot…

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Hotel Guwahati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.