We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ginger Hotel Guwahati to your Saves list
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
Jowai, Meghalaya, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is the worst ever I've been.
Lets start with the location, its in the outskirt of the city, where you have to spend hundreds of Rupees to get there.
It took forever to check in. I came with heavy luggage, having spent so much, there is none to even offer me a helping hand to carry my luggage to my room, and the sad part is that I have to roam around the hotel to search for my room, whose card for entering the room is not functioning properly.
It is to my total disappointment, to find the room so congested, that there is not even a space to keep my luggage, I literally have to jump over the luggage to get to the bathroom!
The AC was outdated and poorly functional, lucky it was December!
Not to mention the TV with Tata Sky connection, which does not even have News channels. Complaining and requesting for the same is as good as talking to the wall!
The Free WiFi is imaginary, after several complaints, having stayed for 3 days, I got very poor signals on the last day, which is utterly useless.
The room service is below standard as i have to beg for my room to be cleaned!
And for some reasons you will be served very limited food items to the room.
My God! if you are a tall person, your knees will definitely be crushed against the wall while sitting on the toilet! and if you are slightly overweight, you will have to take bath with great trouble.
For the price 3/4th of this hotel, go to the heart of the city, and you will get BETTER hotels, by miles, in Guwahati, Great Location, Cleaner, More Spacious and Better Facilities.
Lastly, lest i forget to mention, you will be greeted by staffs who does not speak English, who will then ask you to wait for some manager, who spoke broken English!
I never expected, even in my wildest dreams, such treatment from a Branded Hotel like this one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    68
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
21
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shillong, Meghalaya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Been staying at this property ever since it opened up. Generally, stay here for a night or two at most. Most recently, stayed here when I was travelling with my entended family. As always, this is one of the most well maintained Ginger hotels I have stayed in. Just one gripe though. The in-house restaurant is too basic and there is not much to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I found this hotel compared to others in guwahati the city of pilgrimage. The buffet dinner and breakfast was very nice. The room was ok like other ginger rooms. The location was a bit away from the crowds and market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed there 3 days.Trust me it was really hard for me to sustain that shady hotel, the rooms were untidy and full of mosquito, sheets and towels were really unclean and please don't ask about food. And the staff seems to belong to some third grade hotel.Check in experience poor, Wi-Fi not able to use.The power cut is a usual feature.

Room Tip: Do not choose this bad hotel at high cost although it belongs to a big chain of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 7 days and believe me it was really hard for me to sustain that shady hotel, the rooms were untidy and full of mosquitos, sheets and towels were really unclean and please dont ask about food. And the staff seems to belong to some third grade hotel.

Above all it was a beautified dharamshala.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hi All,
Being a frequent traveller, I have seen hotels offering value for money across multiple Indian cities and parts of Europe. If you want value for money, look for other options. Check in experience poor, Wi-Fi not able to use, credit/debit card payments not working, in room services needs improvements. Oh just forgot to add, the access cards are actually dummy and you need to look for help from security to help you open the room door.
Guwahati is still waiting for value for money 4/5 star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ginger Hotels, a big chain of hotels managed by a well known group..."The Tata's"...
The Guwahati property is certainly not the one to be counted... Though the building and interior were maintained, but from the lock to the cleanliness to the towel to the power, were among the horrible instances, which i think are not the part of the "Tata Group" standards.
To start with, the room lock of all the rooms were not working. There was a security personnel who was opening all the doors for the guests. So be it day or late night, for every access to my room, we had to depend on the security. Secondly, the bathroom towels were so dirty, that i was confused whether the room service team has exchanged it from Bathroom floor towel. And not just once but 3 times out of my 5 day stay, it happened. Where in every time, it was pointed out to the staff, but... Thirdly, 2 times the water bottles seal was open, on complaint they just pointed us to the canteen which was chargeable... Though the room floor was clean, but the bedsheet was not changed for all the 5 days (i am not aware if that is a process). The moment you open the window, cigarette buds, dead mosquitos were lying on the Window AC surface. Study table was not cleaned all the 5 days.
I have stayed in a few Ginger properties, but have never seen this kind of 1 Star hotel service.
Moreover you do not expect this kind of service from a hotel maintained by such a renowned group...
Buck up guys, i know you can do much better. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Hotel Guwahati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.