We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sand Havelock

Save Saved
You added Silver Sand Havelock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Sand Havelock
Beach No. 5, Vijay Nagar Beach, Havelock Island 600014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Havelock Island
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in the duplex villa.Kids loved it as the stairs leading to their room had a trap door from the main room.The property is well maintained , full of greenery & has a nice beach.
The food was over-priced so its better to go for MAP plan(breakfast & dinner included).For lunch its better to try nearby joints.The bar had an excellent variety of drinks & the bartender was very helpful & suggested the right drinks even though the drinks were also over-priced.
The bathrooms are basic & there is a lot of scope for improvement.
The breakfast & dinner had fairly good variety of items but could be better.
The staff was very courteous & helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    80
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
103
139
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nestle India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We celebrated our stay at this resort in the 1st week of Jan this year, primarily talking about the location of the resort it’s located 4 Kilometers from Havelock Jetty and have many adjacent resorts and restaurants in Havelock and one more impressive thing about this resort is it’s completely surrounded by coconut trees, so are the cottages they are also surrounded by lush green plantation.

The tour was organized by 99andaman.com , perhaps the most famous Andaman tour operator.There were 5-6 other groups through the same agent .We got a better treatment BUT people who booked room here directly were seen shouting at the staff for ‘n’ no. of problems.Staff is unprofessional,to be honest & can swindle u if u r a loner or nt without any help or contacts .Tour operator services r nice & rates r cheap nd u have a driver/guide assistant so wsnt aotherance fr us

Our check in process ws quite good it didn’t hardly took us any time to get in to our Andaman Lagoon cottage, we were really impressed the way it is, the concept they were built is inspires by wood and its all made out of wood, its fully air conditioned and the beds are king size very big and room is well furnished and up with all necessary amenities, and even the room is very spacious and very clean

its well maintained, so are the bath rooms they are providing hot and cold water all the time, the view from our room to the ocean is really amazing no words to describe, one more impressive thing which will give us nice experience is the room is hardly 20 meters away from the white sand of the beach.

The beach here is one good option for those who are up for water activities as the beach is crystal clear and no tides which makes it ideal for swimming, snorkeling and diving, even the sunrise and sun setting vision is awesome and one good place for photo shoots, the swimming pool is maintained good,

the gym is also nice and the machinery in the gym is up to date and the trainers are also well trained, if you want to be connected through mobile and net on emergency basis every now and then its not the ideal place as the location is so remote you cant get access to the signals, only mode landline at reception, food is good especially the sea food.

Overall very nice resort, will definitely be back there

Room Tip: well , anything facing beach is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked an Andaman Villa for my family. The service was exceptional ... the staff in a non intrusive manner picked up on our likes and dislikes and made our visit exceptional! The bar staff in particular went the extra mile. They picked up on our tastes and offered complimentary cheeses and treats with our wine and that too not just once but every time we visited the bar. Breakfast was amazing smoothies made fresh for you as well as omelettes eggs etc. The only thing downside, it was so expensive to eat and drink in the hotel. Hats off to the manager and staff at the resort. I recommend the resort to anyone of any age

Room Tip: We stayed in andaman villa which were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Access:
There are many auto rickshaws and jeeps at the Havelock Jetty. We got a jeep and it drove down the narrow road to the resort in 30 minutes. We felt that the hotel is almost 6 - 7 KM from the Jetty. We passed the Wild Orchid and Munjoh before finally landing up at the resort. The good thing about the location is that the hotel is very near to many restaurants. The road on which the hotel is located is very narrow and the resort is devided on the both side of the road with reception and the cottages and the villas at one side and the restaurant and the lagoons at the other.

Location:
The location of the resort is simply superb. It is right on the picturesque Govindnagar Beach (Beach no. 5). The Kalapathar Beach is also not very far.

The Front desk:
The staff was reasonably helpful. We were welcomed with drinks. We booked a Cottage and when we reached the resort at 11:00 AM, the room was ready. The person at the reception gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing and arranged a scooter on rent within 30 minutes. Once we needed to change the setting of the A.C. in the night and they sent an electrician equipped with a multimeter and a testing lamp within five minutes.

The Room:
The cottages are near to the reception area. The room was reasonably big with all wooden furnitures, a big bed, LCD TV, easy chairs, sofa etc. The linen was clean, air conditioner was running and taps and flush were working with hot and cold water. The half-open bathroom was very good and big and reasonably clean. There was a fridge in the room with no mini-bar and there was no tea / coffee making arranegement.

Food & Room Service:
There was no room service. We ate at the restaurant and did not order anything fancy. Food was average but very very overpriced. Service was good. There was buffet for breakfast and dinner (Rs 600 per person).

Overall:
It was our daughter's first birthday. We ordered a cake in advance. But the cake was very average. We were told that it was the best one could get in the island. They could not arrange a coloured candle. They did not charge for the cake though. On the whole it was a good and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are a bit pricey but those rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days ,in the cottages - lovely location, nearly private beach, lots of trees on the property , cottages nice and woody but poorly lit and did not have the facilities promised at booking time or on the website eg refrigerator; helpful staff- but not well trained . food was abysmal- and we had to eat out depsite wanting to order in occasionally ! very overpriced .

Room Tip: choose the lagoon rooms -they have a view to the sea. the others are across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilaspur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in this property from Dec 18th to Dec 20th as part of our Honeymoon trip. Had opted for the Andaman lagoon rooms. Checkin was quite swift. The hotel has its own private beach i.e part of beach No. 5 and the view is just awesome. The layout of the rooms and the whole property is very good. Staff is quite helpful. Lack of room service was a dampener. The property definitely needs more lighting and so do the rooms. Better to carry a torch with you if you are staying in this property. The bathroom was very ordinary. The conversation and television sound from the adjoining room was quite audible due to the wooden construction of the rooms which was bit irritating. Though the beach was awesome it needs some cleaning from the hotel end. The food was Ok but way overpriced. Better to eat out at Munjoh's which is next door and Full Moon cafe. Overall this property has lot of scope for improvement but location wise is great.

Room Tip: Go for the lagoon rooms as they are towards the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This resort is very well located, right on the beach! Has rustic looks, green surroundings. However, the rooms, although large, were very ordinary, No refrigerator, and a very basic bathroom. Staff was helpful, but no phone in the room and no room service. The restaurant was pretty mediocre too. For the price, we did not think it was value for money. Oh, and please note - they accept only cash payments - no credit cards accepted!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Sand Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sand Havelock

Address: Beach No. 5, Vijay Nagar Beach, Havelock Island 600014, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Silversand Beach Resort, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, India, the most beautiful of all the whole Islands. Get away from the crowds and see the nature as it should be. The way it used to be.From cottages to bungalows , our resort features newly constructed and beautifully decorated guest rooms in a breathtaking resort environment. We offer deluxe room settings for leisure travelers, business travelers, meeting attendees, honeymooners, small or large families, for groups and persons with special needs. Andaman and Nicobar islands are fringed with coconut palm beaches, covered with tropical jungle and flat stretches of crescent shaped beaches far better than any other beaches in India. Adventure in Andaman like trekking, Island camping, snorkeling, scuba-diving etc. are the real attractions for the Indian and foreign toruist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Silver Sand Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silversand Beach Hotel Havelock Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sand Havelock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.