We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SeaShell Havelock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SeaShell Havelock to your Saves list
SeaShell Havelock
3, Govind Nagar Beach, Havelock Island 744101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally worth!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and 1 night during our honeymoon in March 2013. We had booked the Andaman Chalet for our stay. We were housed directly opposite the Bar. ;-)
The room is neat, clean and spacious, though the lightning could improve. The bed was excellently soft. Bathrooms are hygienically sanitized.
All food is to be taken at their restaurant directly as there is no room service in this resort. Bar has a small variety and the service speed needs to improve. We took our dinner at their restaurant and were spoilt for choice while picking the sea-food.
It's a Govind nagar beach side resort with ample benches placed by the beach side to sit and relax. The sea shore and sea bed are a bit rocky.

Room Tip: Sea side Andaman Chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    18
    5
    24
See reviews for
78
121
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are really nice and the entire resort is really pretty but SeaShell just doesn't cut it as a place where you could enjoy a Havelock holiday. The food is average at best and the staff seemed a little rude. It almost felt like they were doing us a favour with things. I spent one night at SeaShell before moving to another resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading some other reviews i see that we were not the only people that had the same problem at SeaShell - the manager is a HORRID man with ZERO manners and he has NO idea how to run his business. We book a "Villa" and when we arrived he tried to take us to the chalet room (away from the beach front) after we said no we booked a Villa he got really mad at us and reluctantly took us to the Villa - where he then said he had no space and tired to make us sleep in a very small room with a bed. SeaShell was worst place we have stayed so far.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would suggest every visitor to avoid this property. The management is too poor and the staffs are always reluctant to provide service that you need. Cottages are good but the rooms are terrible. Drinking water is worst and you don't find any service. The guys in the reception behaves like if they are helping you or showing mercy. The environment is too poor and they don't know how to behave with guests. Avoid this hotel. Better you stay a bit away from the beach but in good hotels where you get service and good environment.

Room Tip: Please go for other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

After reading good reviews i decided to book this place, I booked a villa for 5 nights at this hotel. We were only impressed until we were taken to the so called Villa. It was a small building with one double bed in it. The accommodation looks tired and un maintained. The worst part was that the bathrooms which were on the ground floor. The service was at its worst. I personally feel that the staff although well mannered and well meaning, had not been adiquately trained. The gusts had to go to the bar to order food and drink. And it was the same in the restraints as well. None of the staff bothered to seat gusts and take orders. One had to constantly draw their attention to have any service. There was long waits for the food to arrive as well. When I spoke to the manager about it he simply shrugged his shoulders and moved on. We felt that we needed to leave a day earlier and approached the hotel manager, who first point blank refused and after two days of arguing agreed for 50 percent refund for the last day. By this time we were happy to cut or losses and leave with the intention never to return. It was quite amazing that we were never approached by the General Manager of the hotel inspire of our request to see him. I finally feel that i had made the wrong decision by trusting the reviews.

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sea Shell Havelock was a lovely stay for us in April 2013. The quality of the cabins (we had a chalet) was great and certainly a step above the majority of cabins on Havelock, which tend to attract backpackers. Like a previous reviewer before me, here's my review of the following:

Staff: extremely friendly, provide a welcoming atmosphere and great service. We stayed here for 9 nights, and they went out of their way to talk to us and be helpful every morning and evening.

Location: the location isn't as good as I thought it would be, as the majority of accommodation resorts and restaurants on the island are the far side of the central market - making it imperative to hire a motorbike / scooter (don't forget your driving license!) or make friends with a local tuk-tuk driver. The location, however, is close to the jetty for the ferries, and one restaurant, Barefoot.

Food: mixed.....their breakfast buffet was pretty weak - tasty but very few options. Their bar menu had a range of Western and Indian options, but they rarely had anything in stock of the Western variety. Saying that, when we ate from the bar (lobster one night, and spaghetti another) the food was exceptional - really excellent. Eat their chips - they were really really good!

Quality of accommodation: very very good. Clean. comfortable, felt a little bit luxurious given you're on a tropical island. It's definitley a step above the rest of the accommodation of the island, and attracts a different sort of visitor because of it. There's also a bar which often plays music but will always turn it off by 10.30pm.

Overall, a great place to stay, particularly if you're not looking for backpacker accommodation - as a couple, it worked great for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here this January end as a part of our andaman trip. It was our 5th marriage anniversary and I wanted it to memorable. After lots of survey I narrowed down to their hotel in Port Blair and booked a package including a stay at this resort. Overall I am quite satisfied with the resort. The property is quite big, restaurants, lounge, etc. They have a kind of private beach though you cannot take a swim in the waters. However the sun-beds present you the option of viewing the nature unhindered.

Location:
To start with the location is good. Almost all resorts in havelock are adjacent to the beach, so theres nothing special about it though. However its very close to the jetty which is an advantage.

Rooms:
They have quite a few category of cottages to suit all budgets. However we felt the chalet category of cottages though lowest price-wise are the best located. The chalet cottage we stayed at was quite cosy with clean decor, cosy bed and good amenities. The cottages are air-conditioned and the AC is good. The cottage no. 110 we stayed at was closest to the private beach.

Food:
They have a restaurant and a bar. Both are very good. Food though a touch pricely is of good quality. The breakfast buffet though should have more options. The bar is well-stocked and have mocktails and cocktails aplenty.

Staff:
A big plus point of this chain of hotel and resort is its staff. All are very well-bahaved, always up with a big smile, you get what you ask for. During all our stay we never had any request that was not responded to.

Special note:
The time when we were staying the resort had lots of young couple boarders which was somehow good for us. The environement was that bit more romantic. If you are going on any special occassion the resort has the option of booking a candle-light dinner and a bed decor (obviously on shedding some penny but worth it). The resort has very good view of the sea and the time spend on the sun-beds sipping freshly cut tender coconuts or a chilled beer are worth experiencing.

Negativity:
Since Havelock overall has not much of action specially after evening the resort will be better of arranging some entertainment/sporting options for the boarders. At evening excepting sipping at the bar theres not much to do. The resort has no intercom and since its quite a huge property you need to walk all to the front-desk even if you require a bottle of mineral water.

Sister resorts:
Its a sister resort of its hotel at port blair as well as neil island which is also a plus-point. While booking your Port Blair hotel you can actually book a tour package from sea shell covering havelock and neil (the two islands are a must visit if you are touring andaman).

Summary:
Overall its worth the money they charge you. Havelock itself is very beautiful and scenic and the resort makes the stay that bit nicer. A good hotel/resort is so very important for a tour to be memorable and thankfully Seashell didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Take the chalet cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaShell Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaShell Havelock

Address: 3, Govind Nagar Beach, Havelock Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach resort in Havelock, A&N Islands, India. 30 well-appointed sea front timber cottages with LCD TVs, air conditioners in rooms, bar and restaurant, scuba diving center, money exchange and travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your SeaShell Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Havelock Hotel Havelock Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaShell Havelock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.