We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful personally touched ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munjoh Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Munjoh Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Beach 5, Havelock Island 744211, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Havelock Island
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful personally touched ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

booked the garden cottage room directly online for 2 nights. no communication problems as with other resorts.stayed with family.good staff. we preferred jain food and were thoroughly satisfied.did scuba diving too with doongi dives.very nice.Munjoh is one of its kind in havelock. pretty cottages with wonderfully displayed artefacts. definitely recommendable.

Room Tip: garden cottage for a family of 4.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    92
    34
    8
    11
See reviews for
81
175
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it a lot. We had a luxury villa which was very clean, equiped with a small tv.
The resort is in a palmforest and has a own beach. Staff is very friendly, we just found that the owner isnt friendly at all, she never found it necessary to greet the guests. Anyway, if that doesn't bother you will enjoy your stay.

What they really have to solve is that you can't have WIFI and you can't pay with creditcard. That is really bothering, so you have to get lots of cash for paying your bill. They also have to get a solarpanel instalation sothat they can manage to have hot wather 24h and not only in the morning and in the evening.

Diveshop:
we had awesome dives with doogie dives. Amet and Nico are very friendly and we visited great divesites. The gear has a good quality and the staff is checking the tanks each time carefully. We fealt very safe with them. Highly recommend to dive with them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here with my wife in Mar 2014. Stayed for 3N

Booking : Booked it directly with them and all the transactions went smooth without any issues. The replies for my queries were quick when compared with the other resorts that I interacted with.
Resort : Resort has a peaceful ambience with plent of coconut trees all around. The rooms are well placed. They have a private beach. There are no lights present at the private beach which makes it very difficult to enjoy the beach during nights. All u can do is just hear the sound of waves. Only the path to the private beach is lit with some lamps.
Location: The Resort is far from the local market and Radhanagar beach. Cell phone signals will not be available in the resort. However u can use the landline present in the reception at any time.
Staff: Everyone at the resort was very cordial and very eager to help us with any issue we had.
Room: I booked a luxury villa and it was spacious.
Food: Restaurant had decent food options and the taste is also very good. Initially they said that room service would cost us 10% Service fee but they didn't add that in our final bill. I also had a candle light dinner by the beach side and it was a good experience. They made all the arrangements at the private beach and one of their guys was there waiting all through the dinner (far away from the dinner table though )
Facilities: The only facility we availed was that of the two wheelers which is very much needed in havelock. The cost of the two wheeler was Rs400 for 24 hours with petrol being extra. Other facilities include a dive centre and they also have a lot of books at the reception which you can take and read if you have a lot of leisure time.
Price: The price is not too costly keeping in account the overall pricing in Havelock.
Verdict: I will definitely go to this resort again

Note : I also opted for their PortBlair-Havelock transfer. This helped me a lot as they took care of getting the tickets to the ferry and also the airport transfers.

Room Tip: They dont accept cards. So carry cash or else, u can withdraw cash at the ATM in havelock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Munjoh is one of the best in Havelock. Resorts in havelock are priced high. It had a private beach which was just fantastic because being a private beach, cheap crowd is avoided. And the best part is they organize candle light dinners beach side. We went for one and I should say the arrangement was soo beautiful that we cannot forget it in our lifetime. And we have been to the island hopping activity which includes snorkelling and lunch on an island where only we were there, so it was kind of private. Snorkelling was an awesome experience and the waters they took were filled with colourful oceanlife.

Room Tip: Ocean suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here with family in January 14...! have to expect booked it as aBarefoot was full and this was the 2nd best rated resort!
Context- Please understand tourism/Hotels in Andaman's are still in Infacy they are nowhere close to standards set by Goa/Phuket/Bali etc..so be prepared to pay good price but not get the service...!

Good
-Free Pickup @ ferry - don't think another hotel provides that...good car and staff who picked us..!!

-Rooms- spacious...upgraded parents to a suite...!! Bathrooms BIG and clean....!!

-Food @ Restaurant- really good dishes...well made...!

-Effort put in by Staff- Everybody is eager to help genuinely within their limitations..Nikhil (Dive instructor) both other guys @ reception are easygoing and wanna make things better...allowed me to use their computer etc...you get the point right!! Gave us a free drop to the ferry to compensate for a bad experience..!
Arranged a last minute snorkelling session for my dad.

- Booking over internet was easy...replies were quick...the Reception area has a very relaxed ambience..!

Average
-Location pretty much end of street where most hotels are...no markets near by..but thats ok..acceptable.
- No Safe in Room!

Bad
- Arranging a Car from Hotel- They have 1 In house Car which serves all guests, so if you book and get late by 15/20 minutes then it is sent for some other guest...so basically "Booking" docent stand for anything. So please be on time if you book it. We got late by 15/20 minutres and the Car went to pick up a guest, we waited 40+minutes for it to come back!

- Marked up prices..- Local taxis charge 600 to &from radhanagar beach, will also wait for you there for as many hours as it takes....Munjoh=1500 for a car that will not wait for you if you are late and will drop you @ Radhanagar beach and go back and meet you at a particular time. price is ok, but then service should be like that.

- Hotel Grounds-
Construction on full swing, Rock cutting machine at work all day near restaurant( we sat there for 50 minutes waiting for a Car, unbearable).....labourers walking around....
Fish pond not clean...Slimy....not maintained....
Grass not mowed at all...
Beach area not very well lit at night.
Not a well maintained property!
- Jasmine Suite- Front door has a one side looking glass (can look out from inside), but guess what if at night inside is also very easily visible from outside.... :! !!

Will come back mostly because...there are not many other options :) in Havelock, and people here were nice..hope things get better in the meantime..!

Room Tip: one cottage near the reception has best privacy...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I would like to thank munjoh family and doongi dives team for making my stay so comfortable and awesome. They have great service and wonderful hospitality. Wide range of activities to choose from. Yes few things like hot water etc are there but guys its an island and also govt. rules needs to be followed. When I entered the resort from the first step into the resort I felt safe and comfortable. All the guys working in reception are wonderful and they take care of everything you wish for and make it available. Special thanks to Mr. Binu you are really doing a great job. Thank you munjoh for making this holiday the most pleasant experience of my life and I wish to return back again. Also would like to thank Nikhil who takes care of doongi dives. It was really great experience of scuba, snorkeling and island hoping with you and your team. Keep up the good work guys and best wishes to all of you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

...munjoh has a divine beach and the most aweisome staff.... friendly and helpfull... i stayed there for 2 nights and i must say the accomodations were really amazing.... we ate at breakfast at the restraunt which was good not amazing but good....in all except for a very small complaint of water problem one day... we had the most divine experience at munjoh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
munjoh, Manager at Munjoh Ocean Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr Sehgal

Thankyou for the kind words and encouragement.
Since the Andaman islands are so far away from mainland, fresh items are often difficult to source or ship.
We will certainly up our breakfast menu and make it delectable.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,
Munjoh Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munjoh Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munjoh Ocean Resort

Address: Beach 5, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Villas & Suites, nestled amongst swaying betel nut and coconut trees and a natural fresh water rivulet meandering through to the azure waters of the Andaman Sea on an exclusive beach front. 'Your Own' private beach resort- with personalised service, unique luxury & comfort and complete guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Munjoh Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munjoh Ocean Hotel Havelock Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munjoh Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.