We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest Bed & Breakfast You'll Ever Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Polly Harper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Polly Harper Inn
Save
You added The Polly Harper Inn to your Saves list
6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Geneva B&B and Inns
Kent, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cleanest Bed & Breakfast You'll Ever Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Incredibly clean. We've stayed in score of B&B's. Never found one this clean! Extremely well decorated-just short of over decorated. Very cozy, comfortable, and romantic. Read the other reviews here; they're spot on.
Very unusual setup for a B&B. No interaction with the hosts except when you check-in. You cook your own breakfast (well, in our case, a quiche, 3 minutes in the microwave—easy) with other goodies. Just-okay breakfast, taste good, big even though you think it's not. In Polly's room, you dine alone. Romantic, but odd for a B&B. Very little interaction with the other guests. Great for some, I suppose. we enjoyed it—this time. Great for that very special, romantic get-away, gas fireplace, etc. Just very nice. Close to the top-notch Ferrante Winery and "Italian" Restaurant. Also close to the wonderful South River and Grand River Wineries. Hint: Eat lunch at Grand River and dinner at Ferrante. Then another day, enjoy a bottle of wine at the converted chapel at South River. Unfortunately, we missed the grand opening of a winery almost directly across the street from Polly Harper B&B. We also did not have time for the trail down to the river. Next time. Advice: Take your own pillow if you can, their pillows (and bed) are very firm. If you like to party, Debonne Winery and Brewery is also just west of here.

Room Tip: Look at their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I went on an anniversary trip overnight. We stayed in the Annie Harper Room, and had a wonderful time! This room was totally affordable and the care that was taken was fantastic! The room was ultra clean, and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding! Because the Annie Harper Room does not have an eating area inside their room, you eat in the common area. I loved it that no one ate with us. We had the whole common area to ourselves! Waiting for us first thing in the morning was homemade quiche, and beautiful homemade pastries like scones and blueberry streusel, along with bagels, fresh fruit in parfait glasses, orange juice for each room, cereal, coffee, and tea. The owner also let us know that there was popcorn that we could pop if we wanted a snack at night!

When we arrived, there was a sign on the door that said to go next door to register. This is the owners' home. We arrived, and the owner was very kind and full of information. She checked us in and gave us our keys. You get two keys, one is the front door and one is your room key. The front door is locked, so it is secure. There are only 3 rooms in the Polly Harper which is nice too. When we walked in, it felt so welcoming and inviting. There is soft classical music playing when you walk in, and soft lights are on at all hours in the common areas.

I just can't say enough about the care that the owners take to make this a great stay. Please don't pay attention to any negative reviews on here. It was a fantastic stay and I have not one complaint. Clean, Friendly, Plenty of Fresh Homemade Food, and tons of care have gone into making The Polly Harbor a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms and setting of this B&B are simply lovely! The Inn sits right on a beautiful vineyard on a country road. It is peaceful, quiet, and very cozy! Another great feature is that it is literally a 30 second drive down the road to the BEST winery in Ohio, South River Winery! The Inn keeper does not serve breakfast in the morning, rather, they leave a variety of food out on a tray and in the refrigerator labeled with your name. You just help yourself to pastries, fruit, cereal and quiche, which you warm in the microwave. The upstairs guest rooms are both very spacious and tastefully decorated with country charm! The location of this B&B is truly special with the surrounding vineyards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful, unique inn: absolutely spotless, well appointed, extremely quiet with LOTS of privacy and in a wonderful setting conveniently located to all of the wineries. One negative: breakfast was delicious and ample, but they had a very unusual set up for serving-it was pick up your own in the kitchen and take it to your room (and heat up your own quiche). We also had only one coffee filter in our room: since we made coffee the night before this was an issue in the morning as we could not find extras anywhere. We hated to call the innkeeper for such a simple, but to us, irritating oversight. The in room jacuzzi was very nice, and the water pressure and temperature fabulous. Room temperature was also easy to regulate; towels and linens vey soft and bed very comfortable. We were surrounded by grapevines and beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: I don't think you could pick a bad room in this inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Polly Harper Inn could not be any more perfect for visiting the area wineries. The innkeepers are very cordial and unobtrusive. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is wonderful. Breakfast is left downstairs in the morning by the innkeepers (they live on property in a separate house). We had quiche, fresh fruit parfaits, bagels and various sweet rolls. You can eat in the common area or take it up to your room. We will definitely stay here again AND recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Polly Harper Inn on the first night of our 20th anniversary getaway! What a beautiful place! Sue greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room..The Polly Harper Room was divine! Spacious, remarkably decorated, it was just perfect for our celebration! The gas fireplace in the room was lovely for the chilly, rainy night and the whirlpool tub was beautiful. The eating area off the bedroom was perfect for our meals (we stayed in!). The 27 step staircase to the top of the Polly Harper tower was lovely at night. The lighting (candles in each window, nightlights along the stairs and lights in the trees on the property) is a wonderful touch. We happened to have the entire house to ourselves. Breakfast was delicious...quiche that we just popped in the microwave, fruit, scones, bagels, pecan rolls, coffee, juice. We took ours back to our room to enjoy at our private table overlooking the grape vineyards. As others have stated, if you are looking for interaction with the owners or other guests, probably not the palce for you....but that is NOT what we were looking for and we were not disappointed in the least! We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stated here on a Saturday night in September for a hiking weekend. The Inn is everything we thought it would be - the rooms are so beautiful, decorated tastefully and the room we stayed in on the 1st Floor - the Annie Harper was very spacious. I loved the jacuzzi tub. Your view out the front windows are of grape vineyards. The Inn is located down a country road with lots of wineries and a covered bridge within a few minutes' drive. The only complaint I would have is that if you prefer a b&b with interaction with the owners - this is not the one for you. You drive over a very short distance and check in at another location and get your keys. The lady was very nice but was not interested in much conversation or greeting. Breakfast is served in a kitchen/dining area on the first floor and is left out for you similar to what you would receive at a motel chain - coffee, orange juice, fruit cup and an egg pineapple combo that we had to heat up in a microwave. There was another couple upstairs but they just ran downstairs to get some food and ran right back upstairs. There is no sitting together with other guests and having the innkeeper prepare your breakfast. Just a heads up. Otherwise, the inn is immaculately clean and well kept up and is in a great location.

Room Tip: Room upstairs is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Polly Harper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polly Harper Inn

Address: 6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Polly Harper Inn Geneva, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Polly Harper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.