We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique B&B in Wine Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Polly Harper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Polly Harper Inn
6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Geneva B&B and Inns
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Unique B&B in Wine Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful, unique inn: absolutely spotless, well appointed, extremely quiet with LOTS of privacy and in a wonderful setting conveniently located to all of the wineries. One negative: breakfast was delicious and ample, but they had a very unusual set up for serving-it was pick up your own in the kitchen and take it to your room (and heat up your own quiche). We also had only one coffee filter in our room: since we made coffee the night before this was an issue in the morning as we could not find extras anywhere. We hated to call the innkeeper for such a simple, but to us, irritating oversight. The in room jacuzzi was very nice, and the water pressure and temperature fabulous. Room temperature was also easy to regulate; towels and linens vey soft and bed very comfortable. We were surrounded by grapevines and beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: I don't think you could pick a bad room in this inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

The Polly Harper Inn could not be any more perfect for visiting the area wineries. The innkeepers are very cordial and unobtrusive. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is wonderful. Breakfast is left downstairs in the morning by the innkeepers (they live on property in a separate house). We had quiche, fresh fruit parfaits, bagels and various sweet rolls. You can eat in the common area or take it up to your room. We will definitely stay here again AND recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Polly Harper Inn on the first night of our 20th anniversary getaway! What a beautiful place! Sue greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room..The Polly Harper Room was divine! Spacious, remarkably decorated, it was just perfect for our celebration! The gas fireplace in the room was lovely for the chilly, rainy night and the whirlpool tub was beautiful. The eating area off the bedroom was perfect for our meals (we stayed in!). The 27 step staircase to the top of the Polly Harper tower was lovely at night. The lighting (candles in each window, nightlights along the stairs and lights in the trees on the property) is a wonderful touch. We happened to have the entire house to ourselves. Breakfast was delicious...quiche that we just popped in the microwave, fruit, scones, bagels, pecan rolls, coffee, juice. We took ours back to our room to enjoy at our private table overlooking the grape vineyards. As others have stated, if you are looking for interaction with the owners or other guests, probably not the palce for you....but that is NOT what we were looking for and we were not disappointed in the least! We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stated here on a Saturday night in September for a hiking weekend. The Inn is everything we thought it would be - the rooms are so beautiful, decorated tastefully and the room we stayed in on the 1st Floor - the Annie Harper was very spacious. I loved the jacuzzi tub. Your view out the front windows are of grape vineyards. The Inn is located down a country road with lots of wineries and a covered bridge within a few minutes' drive. The only complaint I would have is that if you prefer a b&b with interaction with the owners - this is not the one for you. You drive over a very short distance and check in at another location and get your keys. The lady was very nice but was not interested in much conversation or greeting. Breakfast is served in a kitchen/dining area on the first floor and is left out for you similar to what you would receive at a motel chain - coffee, orange juice, fruit cup and an egg pineapple combo that we had to heat up in a microwave. There was another couple upstairs but they just ran downstairs to get some food and ran right back upstairs. There is no sitting together with other guests and having the innkeeper prepare your breakfast. Just a heads up. Otherwise, the inn is immaculately clean and well kept up and is in a great location.

Room Tip: Room upstairs is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We chose this place for a visit to Chalet Debonne. Nice location fow winery visits but we did not enjoy. The air conditioning was locked on and the owners told us to just shut the vents and turn on the fireplace. There was no common area for sitting and relaxing just the area with a table for breakfast. Rooms need updated. Ours felt like it was decorated in the 80's. Breakfast
Is Continental and left in fridge. Only a small coffee made with cremora served. Owners have you come to their home next door to get your key and then you drop it off. This is not what we enjoy in a
B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I spent our 5th wedding anniversary and have no regrets. We love to travel to Sedona Az and stay at the Dreamaker, but Polly Harper more than made up for staying local. My wife and I love to bike the rails to trails and then come back to a comfortable bed & jaccuzzi Polly Harper had both. Its only about 7 miles from the Austinburg trailhead to the Western Reserve Greenway paved rails to trail which offers 48 miles of flat trails with numerous species of birds and animals right on the trail. Also offers easy drive to numerous covered bridges nearby. Although we are not winery fans if you are, they are abundant in the area and grape vines are a stone throw from the inn. Many websites tend to make the location look better than it is, but their website does not due it justice. The rooms and house exceeded our expectations despite viewing the pictures ahead of time.

One nice touch was the fact that breakfast is available at 7:30 but you get to pick the time you want to eat. Two of the rooms have in room dinning tables.

If you are an avid biker looking for the safety of rails to trails or just looking for a romantic get away this is a great spot. I saved about $60 over a local chain hotel with a Jacuzzi and hands down the rooms don’t even compare. Glad I found them instead

You are also very close to Geneva on the Lake and and other Lake Erie Attractions

For the price you can’t beat this

Room Tip: Polly Harper room private tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night with another couple while visiting the wineries. We stayed in the Robert Harper room and our friends stayed in the Annie Harper room. both rooms were really homey and decorated so cute. Lots of little touches. We arrived early and luckily the owner was just getting done with our room so we were able to check in. There are alot of wineries close by which makes it really convenient. The owners live in a seperate house which made the bed and breakfast really private whcih we liked. We loved it. We liked it so much wished couuld have stayed another night. The price is pretty reasonable also considering how much a hotel is these days. We hope to go back soon and maybe even stay for two nights. Great scones!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Polly Harper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polly Harper Inn

Address: 6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Also Known As:
The Polly Harper Inn Geneva, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Polly Harper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Polly Harper Inn to your Saves list