We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn near Wineries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Polly Harper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Polly Harper Inn
Save Saved
You added The Polly Harper Inn to your Saves list
6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Geneva B&B and Inns
Copley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn near Wineries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stated here on a Saturday night in September for a hiking weekend. The Inn is everything we thought it would be - the rooms are so beautiful, decorated tastefully and the room we stayed in on the 1st Floor - the Annie Harper was very spacious. I loved the jacuzzi tub. Your view out the front windows are of grape vineyards. The Inn is located down a country road with lots of wineries and a covered bridge within a few minutes' drive. The only complaint I would have is that if you prefer a b&b with interaction with the owners - this is not the one for you. You drive over a very short distance and check in at another location and get your keys. The lady was very nice but was not interested in much conversation or greeting. Breakfast is served in a kitchen/dining area on the first floor and is left out for you similar to what you would receive at a motel chain - coffee, orange juice, fruit cup and an egg pineapple combo that we had to heat up in a microwave. There was another couple upstairs but they just ran downstairs to get some food and ran right back upstairs. There is no sitting together with other guests and having the innkeeper prepare your breakfast. Just a heads up. Otherwise, the inn is immaculately clean and well kept up and is in a great location.

Room Tip: Room upstairs is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We chose this place for a visit to Chalet Debonne. Nice location fow winery visits but we did not enjoy. The air conditioning was locked on and the owners told us to just shut the vents and turn on the fireplace. There was no common area for sitting and relaxing just the area with a table for breakfast. Rooms need updated. Ours felt like it was decorated in the 80's. Breakfast
Is Continental and left in fridge. Only a small coffee made with cremora served. Owners have you come to their home next door to get your key and then you drop it off. This is not what we enjoy in a
B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I spent our 5th wedding anniversary and have no regrets. We love to travel to Sedona Az and stay at the Dreamaker, but Polly Harper more than made up for staying local. My wife and I love to bike the rails to trails and then come back to a comfortable bed & jaccuzzi Polly Harper had both. Its only about 7 miles from the Austinburg trailhead to the Western Reserve Greenway paved rails to trail which offers 48 miles of flat trails with numerous species of birds and animals right on the trail. Also offers easy drive to numerous covered bridges nearby. Although we are not winery fans if you are, they are abundant in the area and grape vines are a stone throw from the inn. Many websites tend to make the location look better than it is, but their website does not due it justice. The rooms and house exceeded our expectations despite viewing the pictures ahead of time.

One nice touch was the fact that breakfast is available at 7:30 but you get to pick the time you want to eat. Two of the rooms have in room dinning tables.

If you are an avid biker looking for the safety of rails to trails or just looking for a romantic get away this is a great spot. I saved about $60 over a local chain hotel with a Jacuzzi and hands down the rooms don’t even compare. Glad I found them instead

You are also very close to Geneva on the Lake and and other Lake Erie Attractions

For the price you can’t beat this

Room Tip: Polly Harper room private tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night with another couple while visiting the wineries. We stayed in the Robert Harper room and our friends stayed in the Annie Harper room. both rooms were really homey and decorated so cute. Lots of little touches. We arrived early and luckily the owner was just getting done with our room so we were able to check in. There are alot of wineries close by which makes it really convenient. The owners live in a seperate house which made the bed and breakfast really private whcih we liked. We loved it. We liked it so much wished couuld have stayed another night. The price is pretty reasonable also considering how much a hotel is these days. We hope to go back soon and maybe even stay for two nights. Great scones!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have stayed at this lovely B & B in Geneva, OH 2 times, once on a mom and daughter trip and again recently on an anniversary trip with my husband. It is a pretty B & B in the farm country of Geneva. It is situated in the vineyards. It has guest 3 rooms and I have now stayed in 2 of them. Both were lovely, nicely furnished and very clean. Each room has a hot tub, bathroom, eating area and king size bed.The downstairs of the B & B is a common room where breakfast is laid out in the moring. You can eat it there or take it to your room. The innkeeper is very nice, friendly and not overbearing. She recommended a few places to eat in the area and things to do. And her breakfast was great. Lots of food, home made pastries, bagels, friut - very yummy both times. The custard the first time was simply out of this world. The price is fair too. Both times I have stayed there during the week and we had the whole place to ourselves. Nice and private. We traveled to the wineries in the area the next day, did some shopping and just enjoyed the scenery. Highly recommended. I would go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Wow - this is the place to stay if your plans take you to northeast Ohio! Polly Harper Inn is just a few miles from Rt 90 off Rt 534, easy to find, and convenient to several area wineries, covered bridges, the town of Geneva, or the strip of Geneva-on-the-Lake. We were SO pleased with the inn and our room. The innkeepers home and the inn are separated by a good sized lawn. You pick up your keys at their home and then easily can walk to the inn (or drive if you prefer). The innkeepers were pleasant and available but because their house is separate, the inn felt very, very private. There are 3 rooms; they look just like the pictures on the Polly Harper Inn website, they're super clean, and our bed was extremely comfortable. We were in the Polly Harper suite which has the separate eating area and the tower room. It was so cool! The attention to detail and decorating were evident. In the morning we'd go downstairs to the gathering room and our breakfast would be on a tray to bring up and eat at our table. You can choose to eat in the gathering room also if you'd prefer. We were in Geneva for a high school class reunion. When people would ask where we were staying and we'd say 'Polly Harper Inn' the reaction was always extremely positive. We would definitely recommend the Inn to everyone and would absolutely like to return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We were on our way from our home in Indiana to spend two weeks on the east coast. The Polly Harper Inn was our stop for our first night. It was the perfect start to our vacation! From the moment we got out of our car in the parking lot and breathed in that fresh, grape-scented air - we knew we had picked a winner! We stayed in the Polly Harper Room - beautiful! Lots of windows that really brought in the morning light! We booked this room specifically for the tower - what a view! Perfect spot to watch the stars at night. Someone else complained about the shower being in the corner tub and how hard it would be for short people to get into. Well, I'm short and found it very easy to get into! Just sit on the edge and swing your legs around - no problem. The breakfast was soooo good! Turned out to be the best breakfast we had during our two week vacation - and this was on day one! If we had a chance to get away for a weekend - I would LOVE to return to the Polly Harper Inn.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Polly Harper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polly Harper Inn

Address: 6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Also Known As:
The Polly Harper Inn Geneva, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Polly Harper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.