We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure especially for Green way Trail usesr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Polly Harper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Polly Harper Inn
Save
You added The Polly Harper Inn to your Saves list
6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Geneva B&B and Inns
Jamestown NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure especially for Green way Trail usesr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife and I spent our 5th wedding anniversary and have no regrets. We love to travel to Sedona Az and stay at the Dreamaker, but Polly Harper more than made up for staying local. My wife and I love to bike the rails to trails and then come back to a comfortable bed & jaccuzzi Polly Harper had both. Its only about 7 miles from the Austinburg trailhead to the Western Reserve Greenway paved rails to trail which offers 48 miles of flat trails with numerous species of birds and animals right on the trail. Also offers easy drive to numerous covered bridges nearby. Although we are not winery fans if you are, they are abundant in the area and grape vines are a stone throw from the inn. Many websites tend to make the location look better than it is, but their website does not due it justice. The rooms and house exceeded our expectations despite viewing the pictures ahead of time.

One nice touch was the fact that breakfast is available at 7:30 but you get to pick the time you want to eat. Two of the rooms have in room dinning tables.

If you are an avid biker looking for the safety of rails to trails or just looking for a romantic get away this is a great spot. I saved about $60 over a local chain hotel with a Jacuzzi and hands down the rooms don’t even compare. Glad I found them instead

You are also very close to Geneva on the Lake and and other Lake Erie Attractions

For the price you can’t beat this

Room Tip: Polly Harper room private tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night with another couple while visiting the wineries. We stayed in the Robert Harper room and our friends stayed in the Annie Harper room. both rooms were really homey and decorated so cute. Lots of little touches. We arrived early and luckily the owner was just getting done with our room so we were able to check in. There are alot of wineries close by which makes it really convenient. The owners live in a seperate house which made the bed and breakfast really private whcih we liked. We loved it. We liked it so much wished couuld have stayed another night. The price is pretty reasonable also considering how much a hotel is these days. We hope to go back soon and maybe even stay for two nights. Great scones!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have stayed at this lovely B & B in Geneva, OH 2 times, once on a mom and daughter trip and again recently on an anniversary trip with my husband. It is a pretty B & B in the farm country of Geneva. It is situated in the vineyards. It has guest 3 rooms and I have now stayed in 2 of them. Both were lovely, nicely furnished and very clean. Each room has a hot tub, bathroom, eating area and king size bed.The downstairs of the B & B is a common room where breakfast is laid out in the moring. You can eat it there or take it to your room. The innkeeper is very nice, friendly and not overbearing. She recommended a few places to eat in the area and things to do. And her breakfast was great. Lots of food, home made pastries, bagels, friut - very yummy both times. The custard the first time was simply out of this world. The price is fair too. Both times I have stayed there during the week and we had the whole place to ourselves. Nice and private. We traveled to the wineries in the area the next day, did some shopping and just enjoyed the scenery. Highly recommended. I would go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Wow - this is the place to stay if your plans take you to northeast Ohio! Polly Harper Inn is just a few miles from Rt 90 off Rt 534, easy to find, and convenient to several area wineries, covered bridges, the town of Geneva, or the strip of Geneva-on-the-Lake. We were SO pleased with the inn and our room. The innkeepers home and the inn are separated by a good sized lawn. You pick up your keys at their home and then easily can walk to the inn (or drive if you prefer). The innkeepers were pleasant and available but because their house is separate, the inn felt very, very private. There are 3 rooms; they look just like the pictures on the Polly Harper Inn website, they're super clean, and our bed was extremely comfortable. We were in the Polly Harper suite which has the separate eating area and the tower room. It was so cool! The attention to detail and decorating were evident. In the morning we'd go downstairs to the gathering room and our breakfast would be on a tray to bring up and eat at our table. You can choose to eat in the gathering room also if you'd prefer. We were in Geneva for a high school class reunion. When people would ask where we were staying and we'd say 'Polly Harper Inn' the reaction was always extremely positive. We would definitely recommend the Inn to everyone and would absolutely like to return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We were on our way from our home in Indiana to spend two weeks on the east coast. The Polly Harper Inn was our stop for our first night. It was the perfect start to our vacation! From the moment we got out of our car in the parking lot and breathed in that fresh, grape-scented air - we knew we had picked a winner! We stayed in the Polly Harper Room - beautiful! Lots of windows that really brought in the morning light! We booked this room specifically for the tower - what a view! Perfect spot to watch the stars at night. Someone else complained about the shower being in the corner tub and how hard it would be for short people to get into. Well, I'm short and found it very easy to get into! Just sit on the edge and swing your legs around - no problem. The breakfast was soooo good! Turned out to be the best breakfast we had during our two week vacation - and this was on day one! If we had a chance to get away for a weekend - I would LOVE to return to the Polly Harper Inn.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We have been using the Polly Harper Inn Bed and Breakfast for our getaway retreats for the last five years and find the owners very accommodating. Whenever we first arrive, or return from visiting the surrounding wineries, the room is spotless and well maintained. We have always felt that we come to a well manicured room. The breakfasts that are provided makes the stay even more enjoyable. The table setting as well compliments the owners. Because the owners are third generation grape growers, we have found them both very knowledgeable regarding the area and we look to them for new restaurants and wineries to visit.
The area around Geneva is constantly experiencing much growth with its ever expanding fields of grape vines. Lake Erie adds a great atmosphere to this area as well.
This has always been an enjoyable stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We just returned from a couple of days at the Polly Harper Inn and were disappointed with some aspects of what we had read here and on other sites. The inn is very nicely decorated, very clean, and quiet. The innkeeper Sue was cordial but not interested in directing us to places to visit or eat. The lack of local information or knowledge was surprising and we were glad we had done research before we arrived. The inn sits in the middle of a grape orchard and is very lovely. Many wineries are close by and we enjoyed tasting at many.

Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean. There is a jacuzzi in each room. Please note that there is no separate shower so you have to climb into the jacuzzi to shower. This is a problem for anyone with short legs or physical limitations. This is a big drawback and felt unsafe. Breakfast is homemade bake goods, fruit cups, and custard. If you are a diabetic, better bring along something to suppliment this sugar loaded meal. We expected more for the money we paid and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Sugar loaded breakfast, Unsafe shower in jacuzzi,lack of local information from innkeeper
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Polly Harper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polly Harper Inn

Address: 6308 South River Road, Geneva, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Polly Harper Inn Geneva, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Polly Harper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.