We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, great food and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpersfield Vineyards

Harpersfield Vineyards
6387 State Route 307, Geneva, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We make a trip to Harpersfield for lunch and the inaugural glass of wine during our annual "wine weekend". We haven't been disappointed yet! The food is always terrific and wine is great. Even better, the friendliness of the staff and terrific atmosphere start our weekend right!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful facility, inexperienced staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a little jewel box of a winery! Quaint European cottage charm with a large patio (sadly, it was raining) and two little Jack Russells to greet you. But the charm stops after that. While it was one of the few wineries that poured tastings in real glass wine glasses, the staff didn't have much to say. When asked for a pairing suggestion for the smoked trout plate, our steward had to go asked around. The food was good, however served on Styrofoam plates and with plastic cutlery. Odd but not uncommon in any of the nearby wineries.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Striving to be a real winery and succeeding. Wine selection has some excellent varietals. Food is excellent, ambiance brings it all together. Love the effort that has gone into this place, may they keep it up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped by on a Sunday with another couple. Greeted by wine dogs Toby and Matilda. Would have liked to bring in our snacks but no outside food allowed. That being said, we ordered a Spinach, blue cheese and walnut pizza. I found it delicious! The wine is pricey but the lightly oaked chardonnay was very good. They have a beautiful spot and we enjoyed our afternoon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Old World Feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A long time favorite, beautiful location with great patio and garden. They make nice wines, but they are more expensive than other local wineries. Nice place to spend an afternoon with family and friends. Food is unremarkable however. Stick with the bread and cheese plates which are nicely done. Pizzas etc are blah. But then it's a winery not a restaurant. At one time years ago they did have remarkable food as well. There is absolutely no service, especially if friends are visiting the staff on duty. Totally ignored, they need to try and fix this issue. It will only help business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpersfield Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Harpersfield Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpersfield Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.