We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see this Vineyard and Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South River Vineyard

South River Vineyard
6062 S River Rd W, Geneva, OH 44041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Geneva
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Cridersville Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must see this Vineyard and Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are in the area you must see this old church set in the middle of the vineyard, This is the best location of all the vineyard we went to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    2
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austintown, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Turned away for no reason”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A group of my friends and I (18 of us) Planned at trip to Geneva to kind of do a little winery tour. We rented a small chauffeured party bus so we could all ride together. I E-mailed them about 4 weeks before our trip, letting them know the number of people that where coming the date and time that we would be arriving in a small bus. They E-mailed me back and explained that because of the holiday weekend (Labor Day) that they may not be able to accommodate all of us inside, but we could buy a bottle inside and take it out back to enjoy. This was the first winery of 5 that we planned on visiting. When we arrived we were greeted in the parking lot by a very irate man yelling at our driver to close the door and not let anyone out, I tried to explain to him who we were and that I E-mailed ahead of time to let them know we were coming. (my friends and I are all close to 50yrs old or older) It wasn't like we were a bunch of drunken kids, this was are first stop! He kept yelling at the driver to close the door or there would be trouble. Now I have been to South River in the past, and it is a very nice location and the wine is ok, But after this I will never recommend it to anyone. There are many other winery's in the area that were more than accommodating and glad to have us there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthRiverVineyard, Owner at South River Vineyard, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I would like to assure potential customers, that they will be met with respect when they arrive at our establishment.
You will see two bad reviews on the Trip Advisor site:
Both incidents were related to large BUS groups. It is on our website that we do NOT allow buses. It is also clearly stated on sinage and our website that no other alcohol is to be brought on the premises (per Ohio law) Party buses allow drinking on board, and the person that wrote the bad review, exited the bus with BEER in hand. We were very busy on the holiday weekend and have no tolerance for patrons on buses that are potentially intoxicated. Our business is small and the party buses are disruptive. Thank you for reading my response.
Heather Sigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best winery in Ohio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the most picturesque winery I have visited in Ohio! The old church and gorgeous patio's which overlook the vineyards are absolutely amazing! You feel as though you could be sitting in Italy or France rather than Northeast Ohio! The wines are all very good as well! You can bring your own picnic food with you because they don't serve food. We have visited many of the wineries in Geneva and Ashtabula and this is by far the nicest of them all! It is best to pack a picnic lunch or dinner and plan on sitting back and enjoying the spectacular views for a few hours rather than running around to a bunch of different wineries.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good wines, beautiful location, but they don't seem to want any customers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cranky owner, has a strange attitude about actually having customers there. We continue to visit this place, but just don't understand why the owner acts as if customers are an inconvenience to his business. Not cool.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

There's something quaint about this church-turned winery. A very calming place with all that it has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South River Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to South River Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South River Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.