We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy breakfast at a high price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yours Truly Restaurant

Yours Truly Restaurant
6675 Wilson Mills Rd, Gates Mills, OH 44040-9671
+1 440-461-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Family Fare, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Since 1981, Yours Truly Restaurants has been offering casual, family friendly dining. Servers greet guests with a smile and truly care about making their breakfast, lunch or dinner a memorable experience. With a wide range of menu items, there's something to please everyone. We open early and close late!
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“lousy breakfast at a high price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My guess is that this restaurant is too cheap to hire an experienced cook so they have some minimum wage cooks in the kitchen. Most of my breakfast food was so undercooked. I feel sorry for the servers as they have to cover up for the bad cooks in the kitchen. For the money this place charges, one would expect much better tasting food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursTrulyRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Yours Truly Restaurant, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We're sorry that breakfast at YT did not meet your expectations. If you could email dix@ytr.com, we'd like to know more about your experience and invite you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland OH
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dependable and Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The end to a long week...the desire to eat (fairly) cheap...and breakfast late in the day...where else but YT...I stuck with the Sunrise as I like the beverage being included...it also includes eggs, hash browns, toast and a breakfast meat, which allows for turkey sausage links. All for under $7! Enough to feel like a spurge on the buck sundae--a small scoop of ice cream topped with a little sauce and whipped cream. Though I didn't get any sprinkles for like the kid next to us!
We arrived just past 4 PM...a wise move as YT is known for it's Friday Fish Fry, and this is the start of Lent. The crowd was forming as we departed after 5.
You can go to more expensive places but you won't find food as hot and fresh or staff as friendly and efficient.
I would, however avoid the booth for two near the front and by the cashier desk...it is loud and noisy in the area, and people are streaming past you or one table over...plus although there is a double door to enter, the cold air was still blowing by each time someone came in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good home style, diner foods - breakfast all day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I llike Yours Truly for lunch or breakfast. It's diner fare and home made. Big selection and good food - good service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very consistent local chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've dined here for years. The food is actually quite inexpensive and consistently well prepared. The restaurant is almost always crowded so getting a booth or a table can be a challenge. I like their burgers, but have a special fondness for the Chagrin Broil. If you like smaller portions for burgers (I do), you can order any burger on their menu in a 1/4 pound size for less than $5. The make very good shakes and malts.

Prices are slightly higher than fast food, but lower than chains like Applebees. Very good quality at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simply awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Service was non existent, kitchen took 40 minutes for breakfast food, and when it came, it was bad. I thought that it would be hard to screw up breakfast, but literally nothing was good. A big disappointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yours Truly Restaurant also viewed

Been to Yours Truly Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yours Truly Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.