We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING! Bring your own WI-FI hotspot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   590 Taylor Road, Gahanna, OH 43230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gahanna
Muncie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WARNING! Bring your own WI-FI hotspot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel is descent, rooms are modern, in nice condition. I can only give it 2 dots because of the internet, which, for most of business travelers, has become a basic utility like running water.
I depend on wi-fi, It is unbearably slow. I waited over 3 minutes for the google search page to load, and it never finished. They have a wired connector in the room, but it does not work at all after it shows being connected. I think they need a serious technology upgrade at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear J D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the rooms.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the internet access. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
14
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stay at Candlewood Suites across the country a few times each month. This place is up to the standard so I do recommend it. I did have a slight problem with my room (as can happen at any hotel) and the management responded favorably and made me happy. Next door is a great restaurant and many other close by. Only 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes to downtown Columbus. I will come back next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here nearly two weeks. The hotel is close to the airport and a short drive to Columbus City/German Village. There is a restaurant next door and a 10 minute walk gives you access to several other eating places and a Kroger supermarket if you want to cater for yourself in the well equipped kitchen in the open plan studio suite. The room was clean, but you only get this service once per week, but if you want the towels changed more frequently you only have to ask. . There is no breakfast like what you get with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, but with a microwave, 2 ring hob, toaster, coffee maker and a large Fridge/Freezer, plus all the utensils etc. you need then this is any a problem. Even in the Holiday Inn's you have to do some of the cooking yourself in the dining room.

The only negatives were that the Freezer part of the Fridge/Freezer is noisy when the thermostat tells it to switch and it does so for about 10 minutes or so. The staff did change it for slightly quieter one and some rooms I was told have newer quieter models. If the kitchen was in a different room, rather than in an open plan area this would not be an issue. The only other issue was not having a safe in the room. There are a limited number, first come first served, small lock up lockers available in the reception, but these are not big enough for larger items such as a camera, only passports, wallets etc.

There are several free washing machines and dryers for guests to use, next to the gym.

The free WiFi worked well on the second floor that my room was on.

All the staff were friendly and helpful making my stay a pleasant one. For best prices look on the hotels own website and book 7 days ahead. I used booking.com for my first week and paid slightly more.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper ask for a room with a new quiet Fridge Freezer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped by on our way home from Buffalo New York. The hotel attendant was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got a good recommendation for the restaurant nearby (Hickory House) which offered good food and a nice atmosphere. The hotel room was very spacious with a new look (desk/table) all one piece surrounding almost the entire wall. We love the large refrigerator since we were bringing home lots of good Polish food. The a/c was great as I need a 60 degree room for sleeping. This place was immaculate. We will definitely come back. We used our Priority Club points so I don't really know what their prices are. Usually, it is a very good value. Try it - you'll like the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I just needed a 1 night stay by the Airport. This was pretty close and the rate was fantastic. They don't have a shuttle so you need to cab it. The cabs aren't cheap either. Great room, fairly large and a good sized Kitchenette. The store in the lobby had a decent selection of food and there is a great restaurant just behind the hotel. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three months during a work assignment. I was very happy with the hotel itself and the staff was very helpful and friendly. My bed was awesomely comfortable. The new décor is beautiful and I felt at home. Hotel is close to several restaurants and grocery type shopping, but you have to go a little further for entertainment or leisure shopping. Easy access to the interstate and airport. There is no pool but it does have a nice exercise room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We wanted to use points for an overnight stay while visiting relatives in a Columbus, OH suburb and be close to a mall. While clean, the décor of this the room was outdated. We had to remind the front desk of a couple of requests which were not fulfilled but made at the time of the reservation. I'm giving a rating of 3 stars because the room was equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave and stovetop. Service at the front desk was friendly. I liked the "Spin the Wheel" to win a small prize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear MrsT907,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. It is very nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience on some aspect during you stay with us. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport

Address: 590 Taylor Road, Gahanna, OH 43230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Gahanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gahanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites Hotel-Columbus Airport. Our Studio and One Bedroom suites have a fully equipped kitchen with amenities such as a full-size refrigerator with an ice maker, 2 burner range, dishwasher, and cooking and eating utensils. Relax in an overstuffed recliner, pop in a movie or listen to your favorite music from our complimentary video and CD library (a VCR/DVD Combo & CD player are provided in your room). Enjoy other complimentary services such as free local calls and high speed Internet access. Visit our on-site 24 hour convenience store, or work off some stress in our Fitness Center while you do your laundry in our complimentary laundry facility. Please don't forget your pet-we are a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are located near the city's major expressways and just minutes from Port Columbus International Airport, Easton, Downtown Business District, Lucent Technologies, AEP, Ohio State University, Limited Inc., DFAS, DSCC, Ohio State Fairgrounds and German Village. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes. Sign up for our Priority Club Rewards Program during your stay-earn miles or points while you sleep! Whether you are traveling on business or just for fun-we are the hotel for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Hotel Gahanna
Candlewood Gahanna
Candlewood Suites Gahanna
Gahanna Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.