We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   590 Taylor Road, Gahanna, OH 43230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gahanna
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I just needed a 1 night stay by the Airport. This was pretty close and the rate was fantastic. They don't have a shuttle so you need to cab it. The cabs aren't cheap either. Great room, fairly large and a good sized Kitchenette. The store in the lobby had a decent selection of food and there is a great restaurant just behind the hotel. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
14
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three months during a work assignment. I was very happy with the hotel itself and the staff was very helpful and friendly. My bed was awesomely comfortable. The new décor is beautiful and I felt at home. Hotel is close to several restaurants and grocery type shopping, but you have to go a little further for entertainment or leisure shopping. Easy access to the interstate and airport. There is no pool but it does have a nice exercise room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We wanted to use points for an overnight stay while visiting relatives in a Columbus, OH suburb and be close to a mall. While clean, the décor of this the room was outdated. We had to remind the front desk of a couple of requests which were not fulfilled but made at the time of the reservation. I'm giving a rating of 3 stars because the room was equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave and stovetop. Service at the front desk was friendly. I liked the "Spin the Wheel" to win a small prize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear MrsT907,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. It is very nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience on some aspect during you stay with us. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed at a few hotels near the airport in Columbus, and the Candlewood Suites is my favorite (another hotel I have reviewed on TripAdvisor is a close second).

What I like most about it:
1) Ample room for working
2) Kitchen
3) On-site laundry services
4) Full cable (with HBO)
5) Friendly and efficient staff.
6) Very reasonable price

This hotel is a very good return on investment.

Room Tip: I like the one bedroom suites - they feel like a one bedroom apartment... (and if you are a priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Since 3 of the 5 Columbus, Ohio on-airport hotels have closed, we chose Candlewood Suites because they were convenient to the airport (5 minute drive). The reception was friendly and efficient. They cater to longer stays, so our room had a spacious work-desk, regular fridge, micro-wave oven, coffee machine, toaster and dishes and cutlery for two. They do not offer breakfast (small snacks are available for purchase) or an airport shuttle. We encountered one major problem: as we were preparing for bed, we noticed a couple of winged insects crawling on the pillows and head-board. Soon “a couple” became “several” and we requested a room change. The clerk responded immediately and moved us around 10:30 from 121 to 135, where we had no further problems. This is not how we prefer to prepare for an early morning flight and we were annoyed, to say the least. However, the manager and staff were very apologetic and reduced our bill by 50%. Because of their location and the friendliness of the staff we will be giving them another try on our next trip. I have rated "Sleep Quality" as only average for 2 reasons: we had to change rooms after preparing for bed, and the bathroom doors on the 2 rooms we were in, as well as at least one nearby room, had a piercing squeak that kept us awake part of the night. I assume that a little oil can take care of the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent the night here because of proximity to the airport and low senior rate. The young man at the front desk was extremely helpful with check in, directions to the airport for the next day and help with finding a restaurant. While the hall had a faint smoke smell the non smoking room did not. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. While smaller than some suite hotel rooms this one was nicely designed with what looked like a fully equipped kitchem (I did not use) and a nice workspace. The location was quiet and a few blocks from the business area. There was no breakfast and no airport transport. I had a rental car. While fine for an overnight airport stay for a low rate. This hotel is better suited for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you do not smoke request non smoking as this is not a smoke free property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is perfect for long stays in Columbus. We only needed it for the weekend for three people. I called to let them know we'd be a late check in and when we arrived my paperwork was ready for me immediately. It was more than we needed since we spent very little time in the room itself but the room was clean and well maintained and very roomy. The bed was very comfortable and clean. My friend who used the sofa bed slept well. The kitchen area was well stocked with the necessities and includes a dishwasher, stove, closet, and fridge. There is a laundry area and a gym as well. Also, the hotel staff that we did interact with was very friendly and accomdating. I would definately recommend this hotel for long stays. The price we paid was well worth it for that kind of room. The only downside is that it's right near the airport so you will hear the planes but that's to be expected considering it's location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport

Address: 590 Taylor Road, Gahanna, OH 43230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Gahanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gahanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites Hotel-Columbus Airport. Our Studio and One Bedroom suites have a fully equipped kitchen with amenities such as a full-size refrigerator with an ice maker, 2 burner range, dishwasher, and cooking and eating utensils. Relax in an overstuffed recliner, pop in a movie or listen to your favorite music from our complimentary video and CD library (a VCR/DVD Combo & CD player are provided in your room). Enjoy other complimentary services such as free local calls and high speed Internet access. Visit our on-site 24 hour convenience store, or work off some stress in our Fitness Center while you do your laundry in our complimentary laundry facility. Please don't forget your pet-we are a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are located near the city's major expressways and just minutes from Port Columbus International Airport, Easton, Downtown Business District, Lucent Technologies, AEP, Ohio State University, Limited Inc., DFAS, DSCC, Ohio State Fairgrounds and German Village. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also within minutes. Sign up for our Priority Club Rewards Program during your stay-earn miles or points while you sleep! Whether you are traveling on business or just for fun-we are the hotel for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Hotel Gahanna
Candlewood Gahanna
Candlewood Suites Gahanna
Gahanna Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.