We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4404B State Route 125, Friendship, OH 45663   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Franklin, Ohio
1 review
“Family Christmas party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had our extended family Christmas party there in one of the rental rooms, the food was good, the staff was incredibly courteous and friendly. It was great for all ages,my mom and aunts were able to talk and visit, the kids enjoyed the pool and game room. We watched the Ohio State game in the bar, Lee was excellent. The decor was great, some of us spent the night and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and very nice. We all want to return next year.

Room Tip: The bunk room sleeps 6 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Shawnee is the perfect place for a Holiday gathering of family and friends with the beautiful Christmas display by our area Garden Clubs and we are happy that you and your family enjoyed your visit. The compliments and kind words are greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
19
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Every year for as long as I can remember my family has been cabin camping over Thanksgiving break and Shawnee is a favorite of ours. It is always a good time. One of the things I like most about Shawnee Lodge is the warm, cozy feeling of the lodge - it is nothing fancy, but there are a lot of inviting seating places near big, beautiful fireplaces which is perfect for chilly nights. The onsite amenities are nice a great pool for the kids, relaxing hot tub and game room with ping pong table. Our family ping pong tournaments are a blast at these facilities.

This year, my family stayed in a bunk room at the lodge while most of my extended family had cabins. Our lodge room was great! Plenty of space, very clean and comfortable. (In planning our trip there was a lot of rearranging and the front desk handled our entire families request with ease.) The remodeled cabins were beautiful! I was really happy to see them updated and the the facelift was a fantastic addition. All the new furniture is wonderful and the addition of a fire pit outside each cabin was a definite upgrade! Of course, the accommodations don't even hold a candle to the views and the park itself. Shawnee State Park is a gem in itself.

There were a couple of things that knocked my review from excellent to very good - but these things are pretty minor. One of them being the cleanliness of the pool. Since the lodge (and cabins) were completely full during our stay the pool was obviously well used and got dirty pretty quickly. We were there over a holiday, so I will chalk this up to being short staffed. Another down side was the condition of things in the game room - many games took our money (we did not ask for the quarters to be returned) and the ping pong paddles were in really rough shape. I thought the food and service in the lodge dining room has improved tremendously however, the servers still move at a pretty relaxed pace (sometimes good, sometimes bad) resulting in empty coffee mugs and cold food.

Overall Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center is a fantastic place to visit. I love it there. We have never been during the summer, but are looking forward to making a trip next June!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the wooded view - the top level is probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Shawnee State Park Lodge. We are pleased that you found our lodge beautiful and accommodating. I would like you to know that the issues you experienced while visiting have been addressed and we look forward to your visit in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were greeted by friendly, happy desk clerk. Loved our woods view room. Food at Lodge restaurant was very good and not priced very high. (8 oz. grilled salmon with sides was $14.00!!) Everytime I asked a question of ANYONE working at the Lodge I was greeted with a smile and knowledge. Just a happy place. We picked up our grandkids who live in the area and took them swimming in the heated indoor pool - they had a blast!! The only down side was the location of the heater/ AC unit in our room. It was right in the corner where my head was and "kicked on" loudly every 5 minutes. We got used to it and enjoyed our entire stay. The Lodge is pretty and cozy and not shabby or rundown - it was a pleasure to be a guest.

Room Tip: make sure your bed is not right near the heater/ AC unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Shawnee State Park Lodge. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in a cabin. Very well apportioned. Had no issues other than the fact that the bathroom was kind of skinny. Used the fitness center at the lodge and it had plenty of equipment for what I needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate the feedback from our guest and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When we entered the lodge we were struck by how cozy it was with the fireplaces and all. Then when we got to our room we were pleasantly greeted with a really nice room with a great view. The desk clerk showed us how to easily unload our car and provided a very convenient room. Food in the restaurant was good and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. Can't wait to come back. Only wish it was easier to get to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and review of Shawnee Lodge. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on the second floor of the lodge. Room was very large with a balcony facing the woods. The lodge had two fireplaces with many places to sit and relax. Food in restaurant was good and reasonably priced for a lodge. Would have given higher rating, but for the 2 nights we were there, the elevator was out of order, and public computer was out of order. Apparently maintenance is not a priority.
Not an abundant amount of things to do nearby, but plenty for the two days we were there.

Positives:
Very large room
Refrigerator in room
Large indoor pool
Nice lounging areas in lobby

Negatives:
HVAC unit noisy
Hallways very noisy and could use soundproofing


If you go to Portsmouth (about 12 mi drive), we enjoyed the floodwall murals which enlightened us about some of the history of the city. Nice place to eat in city was Market Street Café.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on second or third floor, facing woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, General Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting Shawnee Lodge. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We apologize for the issue with the elevator. The elevator had been repaired prior to your stay awaiting the inspection that is required to reopen it for our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

when you open the door to the bathroom the door hits the toilet (supppper small) The first room the door wouldn't even open the door was swollen shut. Avoid the first floor it is below ground and very musty smelling. Got moved to 2nd floor, Great view off the balcony (paid extra for it) when the neighbors weren't smoking pot we could leave them open for fresh air. No bathroom supplies were in the room. AC works nice when needed, was a little loud. Very thin walls...

Grounds were well kept, but very few trails, with very few points of interest. Lobby Building is a very woodsy design with great big windows. All of the facilities seemed to be in good shape except for normal wear and tear.

The food in the restaurant was so, so, the service sucked, after we got the to go box when we were finished with dinner. She went back to have a nice long conversation with the other servers, so we had to yell to get her attention and ask for the bill.

Breakfast was not much better.

No I don't think we will be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Manager at Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent visit to Shawnee Lodge. Our mission is to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service. We have addressed the issue of the musty smell in the first floor room, and have spoken with the dining room staff regarding the importance of customer service.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 4404B State Route 125, Friendship, OH 45663
Location: United States > Ohio > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, surrounded by the 63,000 acres of Shawnee Forest, is just two hours from either Columbus or Cincinnati. We offer 50 lodge guestrooms, each with a private balcony, perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. Our 25 two-bedroom cottages each come with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. The O-Hee-Yuh Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner year-round. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other activities you’ll find here include: boating, fishing, hiking, picnicking and camping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Hotel Friendship
Shawnee Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Friendship

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.