We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Disgusting "Motel" DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delux Inn

Delux Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Delux Inn to your Saves list
Delux Inn
520 E County Road 89, Fremont, OH 43420 (Formerly Fremont Turnpike Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fremont
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nasty Disgusting "Motel" DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It looks just as bad on the inside as it is on the inside. Owner lives on premise and is a rude ignorant man. Treated others terribly and used foul language!!! It is just as dirty on the inside as it is on the outside of the very unkept property. May be cheaper but at least next door at the Hampton I got friendly staff free breakfast clean room and coupons to local restaurant for lunch and dinner and most importantly a clean room! Highly recommend going elsewhere. And as another review said close to Cedar Point its about an hour away! Not close in my opinion

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeluxInnFremont, Guest Relations Manager at Delux Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First and foremost the level of service you received is certainly not the norm for us and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience. Guest satisfaction and customer service are our number one goals and we consistently receive positive feedback for our ability to meet customer needs; customer service is a point we pride ourselves on. We sincerely hope you return and allow us the opportunity to serve you and provide the great experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Booked on line and went for discount. That will teach me.
Yes, the picture is correct - you can roll from the bed into the "spa bath"
That's only if you choose to stay in a filthy room.
Once walking into the "lobby" from the unkept grounds/parking lot - I told the woman I wanted to see the room before we paid/staid. We walked past mattresses against the buildings, old tires, trash, rags, etc. The room had bugs in the bathtub, cobwebs and spiders in the corners, it smelled and the toilet was dirty. I didn't even need to look under the covers.
She told me I would have to pay what booking.com charged her. I told her no- that when booking.com asked her for it she needed to tell them we left because the place wasn't clean or well kept - not because it wasn't like the new hampton next door.
The only good news was that she didn't end up charging me.
What a pit!

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeluxInnFremont, Manager at Delux Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your experience at our property. We can assure you that your experience is very atypical; the property was undergoing renovations during the time of your booking. The property was undergoing renovations to upgrade the amenities (beds, mattresses..etc.) for our valued customers during the aforementioned visit.

Our rooms have received consistently excellent customer feedback for being clean, quiet and comfortable - the Spa suite was rented around this time and received excellent feedback. Once again, we are sorry to hear about your experience and can assure a clean, comfortable stay for all visitors; particularly following recent renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fremont hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We found this place right by the turnpike, and after checking around found that it is the cheapest hotel around for many miles in all directions. It looked okay from the outside, but the new manager Roger has been upgrading the insides. They have two jacuzzi rooms and two office suites, as well as single and double rooms. They are the most affordable around, and that is how they do business, but you could tell they put a lot of effort into their renovations. This place got terrible reviews before, but is now very comfortable and the staff is friendly.

We stayed in a double bed room, and it was better than we expected. There was a work desk and it was spacious enough. It was clean and well maintained. There was no shampoo or conditioner, just soap in the bathroom. We got to see all the rooms, the jacuzzi rooms were actually really nice. They had hardwood floors, plants, and even stonework around the jacuzzi. The King beds were HUGE! We could tell they took pride in their suite rooms.

They are located right next to the turnpike, and the junction of Hwy 53 south. They are only minutes away from Sandusky and Cedar Point Amusement park. Only a few miles from Port Clinton and local shopping and dining in the area. They have a great location, and you wont find anything cheaper anywhere around. Overall this is really a nice place, and is improving daily. It is everything you need, right where you need it.

Room Tip: Tell them the guys from "The Great American Walkabout" sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I called the hotel looking for 2 queen beds as we were passing through town. The man on the phone assured me the rooms had 2 queen beds and not 2 double beds. He charged me $69 for the night. When we arrived at the hotel, it did not look very nice on the outside, but I wanted queen beds so we checked in and paid for the room. When we got to the room, it had 2 double beds and was extremely outdated. This hotel is way overpriced for the condition it is in. We stayed only because it was almost midnight and we needed to sleep. We left first thing the next morning without even taking showers.

I know there are a lot of nice independent inns out there, but after this experience I will stick with the name brand chains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delux Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delux Inn

Address: 520 E County Road 89, Fremont, OH 43420 (Formerly Fremont Turnpike Motel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Fremont
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Delux Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delux Inn Fremont, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delux Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.