We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the Museum & Step to the TOP for a Spectular View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse

Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse
129 Second St., Fairport Harbor, OH 44077
440-354-4825
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums, Lighthouses, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Step into the Museum & Step to the TOP for a Spectular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a whim, I talked my BF into making this delightful stop. The museum is one of a kind. Artifacts from World War 11 and even earlier times line shelves and poke out of corners. They even preserved the bow of a once famous ship.
As others mentioned, the view at the top of the Lighthouse is worth the narrow, 69 steps. If you like American History and are in the area, you won't want to miss this attraction. We did this on a cloudy day and could still see for miles. Parking on the street was no problem and the museum is accessible via ramp or steps.
I learned that the lighthouse out in the water is in the process of major restoration by a private owner and may even turn into a unique Bed & Breakfast. It's everything SaintLexi mentioned in her review. On a poor person's budget, this was affordable, interesting, and breathtaking!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looking over Lake Erie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is worth the drive. The fee is nominal. There is so much information in the museum. The view is fantastic and even better once you climb the stairs of the lighthouse. Nearby is the beach so plan to take some time enjoying the sights and atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Make the quick stop - it's totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We saw this listed on our TripAdvisor app and thought we would check it out and we are so glad we did! The lighthouse is very beautiful. We climbed up (even tho I am scared of heights) and it was cool to be inside a lighthouse! The view was really pretty, and the lighthouse itself was lovely - I mean how often are stairs beautiful enough that you take their pictures?

I will warn fellow scared-of-heighters that the see through stairs are a little scary. But when I finally made it back down with the help of my husband, they gave us ribbons to celebrate the occasion. They called them book marks, but I am calling them a ribbon because I felt like I won first place for going up there and making it back down! :)

The museum is small, but it is really interesting. And it is airconditioned which can be a God send on days like the one we visited on when it is 90+ degrees out! They have a very interesting story about a ghost cat, too! Spooky!!

It is only $4 each for adults, so this little side trip won't break the bank at all. The little town surrounding it has a number of restaurants, too, so you can use that as your excuse to go there!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is worth the drive to visit and climb to the top of this lovely lighthouse museum. It is a way to have a vacation experience while close to home.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Fairport Harbor Museum is really interesting. You need some time to look at everything and it's right by the beach so that can be your next stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairport Harbor Marine Museum and Lighthouse to your Saves list