We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Fun Shopping Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Jim's International Market

Jungle Jim's International Market
5440 Dixie Highway, Fairfield, OH 45014-4108
513-674-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Fairfield
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest farmers markets anywhere, covering more than 4 acres, virtually any type of food item is available.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most Fun Shopping Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

One of the most unusual shopping experiences in the midwest. It is an amazing combination of specialty foods, inexpensive produce, and fun. The staff is extra friendly and knowledgeable about the thousands of choices. There are always free samples of exotic foods. Loved the antiques, especially the items collected from amusement parks. The antique fire engine above the hot sauce wall was a nice touch! Best selection of exotic food anywhere. Cheeses, pop, olives, salsa, meats, etc, etc. They had fuji apples from Washington(personal favorite) for a remarkably low price and red potatoes priced like a roadside stand. Baked goods are amazing. Everything else in Cincinnati you can find elsewhere. Jungle Jim's is a one-of-a-kind that shouldn't be missed. Several good hotels in the area if you need to take several days to see it! Oh, yes, and very clean (but unusual) bathrooms!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    50
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The new store in Eastgate is overwhelmingly fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The new store is located at Rt 32 and Eastgate blvd. What a fun place to shop and experience. If you are looking for any food or beverage produced anywhere in the world will be there. I mean who else has Tuna floss? Great selection of adult beverages. Huge bakery and deli. Prepare yourself.......it is awesome.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What an awesome store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great prices on some items but you have to be careful. The may have a real great price on soup but it is only one particular kind and not the entire brand. (Like Progressive soup but only the chicken noodle.) The prices are very high for the meats and cheeses which was one of the reasons I went.) I saw strip steak at 24.99 per lb. Some items were a great deal (Granny Smith apples at .49/lb.) The selection of beer wine and spirits was awesome. I like looking around at the foods from different countries. (the packages has the native language so you would not really know what it was or how to use it). The produce even had fresh vegetables that are used in foreign dishes. (Like bok choy and cactus leaves). Spent about four hours there and did not really look at the frozen foods as there was no way I could get it home from there. Maybe it is a good thing I live too far away so I don't go broke shopping there. Not because of the overall prices but I would be buying so many different foods.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“All Aboard the Crazy Train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is insane. I felt like I was on some weird LSD trip while walking through the store. If you're visiting, totally worth the trip. I used to work in a large gourmet grocery store, so after the intitial lolly-gagging and shock of JUNGLE JIM'S, I used my trained eyes to see what they actually have in stock. Their over-all selections are fantastic. I could see how shopping here on a regular basis my get old (and their prices seemed a tad on the high side), but for a tourist like me, this was well worth my afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More Fun Then You Should Have At The Grocery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

If you can't find it here then it probably isn't made. The largest wine and beer selection I have ever seen at a grocery in Ohio. If you want strange meat choices this is the place. We found kangaroo, wild boar, duck and pig heads, and other items to strange to mention. It is worth the trip just for al the natural and organic products. It is worth a couple of hours of your time just to have the Jungle Jim experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Jim's International Market also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Jim's International Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Jim's International Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.