We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Dayton Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Rockridge Rd., St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Englewood
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here on a layover for company travel. Got in late at night so didn't realize how dirty the room was until the next morning.

Went to make some room coffee and discovered an old, dried up coffee filter in the back of the unit where you normally add water. I had to rinse the coffee maker under the tub spigot to clean it. Then I ran a few cups of water through the unit to clean it out.

The carpet was not vacuumed and somebody left a large toenail near the entrance to the bathroom. Yuck.

The bathroom faucet was not clean nor was the countertop. The tiles in the tub were collapsing into the wall and appeared to let water in. The tub faucet itself let out a squeal when I turned the cold water on. Had to play around with it to eliminate the noise.

The hallway carpets are dirty and lots of the crown moulding is missing with wires exposed. You'll feel like your in a penitentiary rather than a hotel.

The building ventilation system conveniently delivers smoke from the smoking rooms to the non-smoking rooms (as explained by hotel personnel). My coworkers reported this as well.

The nightstand next to my bed also had a layer of dust on it.

In a nutshell this hotel is old, dirty and disgusting. I don't mind old as long as it is clean. This place isn't.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Geraldz,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Be certain that your comments have been documented and will be looked into. You will be glad to know, the cables you saw were just installed so that we could upgrade the hotel to high definition. Thus, the reason some of the crown molding was down. We are in the process of installing new crown molding in the hallways to alleviate any future concerns. We are also in the midst of doing other improvements that directly relate to your issues. Rest assured that we take very serious the comments of our guest and our team reviews them and takes action accordingly. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Holiday Inn Dayton NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    26
    12
    22
See reviews for
17
15
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Came in late for one night. Nice and fast Check in. The hotel best times are over. It is not dirty, but there was a need to wear socks in the room. Bathroom and bed was clean, aircon louder than anything around. All in all I think, 90 dollars is the real upper limit for a nightly rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Thomas G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your check-in was hassle-free. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn; dirty, out dated and run down. My room was damp, smelled of smoke and I found multiple bugs in my room. Very disappointed with this hotel, would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for your review and staying with us. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Check-in was pleasant and professional and reception area was nice enough. Only available room was on first floor- which is partially inside the hill. Felt damp and smelled musty. Room was across from service doors and felt a little industrial. Clean enough but wear your socks- carpet looked like it has had a long hard life.

Room Tip: first floor is out, try another
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear GE0traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased you were happy about your experience at the reception area. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Have a wonderful day and thank you for sharing your experience!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a run down property. The hallways smell and are hot, as is the elevator. Exposed cables in the hallway. The bathroom smelled and the plumbing fixtures were worn and outdated. Toiletries smelled nice. The TV was a HD LG with decent selections. The bed was ok, but far from comfortable. Many other properties in metro Dayton to frequent then wasting money here.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear GetMeOutOfMissouri,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased that our Television was to your liking. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured that your comments about plumbing has been documented and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Has truck parking for about 3 trucks, but you better get there early to get parked or have a short truck. This is an older hotel, but they have newer amenities. The towels were the largest and softest that I've seen in a while. The restaurant gave me the wrong $5 burger, and the server was inattentive for my liking, but in his defense, I was the only person in the restaurant. The lounge was more like a watering hole that night, so I just went back to my room and ate the rest of my burger with mashed potatoes on it. Check-in staff was very helpful. No comp breakfast, ...bummer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Jeremy S,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am glad you liked our amenities as well as our helpful check-in staff. Please accept my apologies that you were not fully satisfied with the condition of our hotel as well as the restaurant and the parking. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Hotel has free airport shuttle. Guest rooms are adequate and ready for a renovation. There is a restaurant and bar which more than met our needs. We rented the board room which lets your group select their own lunch choice which is delivered during your meeting - no need to break for lunch. Staff was more than pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn Dayton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Address: 10 Rockridge Rd., St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Englewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Dayton Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to flight inventors, Wilbur & Orville Wright, discover the Birthplace of Aviation in a city where you will find much to explore! The sky is the limit at the National Aviation Hall of Fame, honoring innovators of flight. Take a history lesson at the National Museum of the United States Air Force, the oldest & largest military aviation museum in the world. View contemporary art exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center or stroll through the Dayton Art Institute for an assortment of collections & special exhibits. Other great things to do & see while in Dayton include The Schuster Performing Arts Center, the crown jewel for performing arts, The Greene shopping outside mall & the Dayton Dragons to enjoy Americas favorite past time. Wait--there is more to your visit to Dayton a great place to stay at the Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport! The Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport Englewood sits near the Cross Roads of America. Getting here is easy by land or air with Dayton International Airport (DAY) only 3 miles from the hotel & I-70 & I-75. Located in the northern suburb of Englewood our Clarion Inn is only minutes away from downtown Dayton; also conveniently located to other regional metro centers of Cincinnati, Columbus & Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you at the Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn Dayton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest Hotel Englewood
Holiday Inn Englewood
Englewood Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.