We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Griswold Road, Elyria, OH 44035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
chicago, il
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were visiting Oberlin College for family weekend to see our son, who is a freshman. My husband and I were traveling with our daughters, who are 14, 12 and 9. I chose this hotel based on proximity to Oberlin, indoor pool and reviews on Tripadvisor. We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Suite and were not disappointed in the spacious room.
Pro's: The front desk staff is very helpful in every way; the breakfast room is spacious, the hostess is friendly and extremely accommodating, the menu changes each morning and there is plenty to choose from including eggs, waffles, oatmeal and fresh fruit; there is ample parking; easy route to get to Oberlin College, fresh cookies and coffee offered in the lobby all day long; the beds and pillows are very comfortable; the suite was very spacious and the "kitchen area" was great; great black out drapes even on a completely sunny morning.
Cons: The hot tub in the pool area was at best warm, the towels at the pool as well as in the rooms are more like hand towels - needed at least 2 or 3 to properly dry off - this made us run out of towels VERY quickly; we are smoking averse and were in a non-smoking room, but the rooms adjacent to us were "smoking rooms" and therefore we could smell it in our hallway and room, which was unsettling.
Given that most of the accommodations in this area are bare bones, we will certainly stay here again during our son's college stay. I do think had we complained about the smoke smell or the towels, the staff would have tried to help us out. If you are traveling to this area for business or to visit family, I would recommend this as a place to comfortably stay.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite for a party of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
80
26
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just stayed here with my family. The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway. Thefront desk staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby and corridors were clean and odor-free. Our smoke-free room was clean and spacious. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. There was very little noise and we slept well. The breakfast bar had plenty of choices, including make-your-own waffles and the breakfast attendants were very attentive. The price was very reasonable - we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moweaqua, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a tour company I stay at this property 2-3 times a year and wouldn't think
of staying elsewhere. It's a clean facility, great breakfast with "real" dishes and
the staff is among the best! Highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The room/suite here was very comfortable, but our best impression came as a result of the friendliest and most helpful attendant at the breakfast bar--she was so pleasant and you could tell she enjoyed what she did. This was important to us as we'd been traveling and many of the servers seemed not to care much about what they did. Thanks for a a great stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second time in a week we stayed at this chain and both times were equally impressive. As we got the room late we had to take a Jacuzzi suite. Price wasn't too bad but it was a nice room, small reefer, wet bar etc. Clean, modern and friendly. Brekkie was also good. I like the free brekkie as you can relax a bit and then just hit the road. We'll be signing up as a frequent stayer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasvisits
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel is well run, professional, and comfortable. The area is certainly not what you would call “upscale” with a Dept. of Correction next door, but don’t fret the hotel definitely offers a sense of security. Staff is always available to answer questions. There is a large shopping center nearby with plenty of store and restaurants to choose from. A pleasantly appointed lobby, with free access to P.C. and Internet, hot coffee and yes cookies too. The Hotel had some workers around doing upkeep repairs which was somewhat needed. Rooms clean, comfortable with TV, frig, and microwave. The pullout couch was not comfortable to sit on hard to get up from. Complimentary breakfast was well done with amply choices; the staff of one kept up with the demand quite well. Overall would stay again if need to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was very professional and the check-in process was quick and trouble-free. Clean rooms and a good hot bar for breakfast. Location on hotel left something to be desired, but the hotel itself was top-notch.

Room Tip: Can't really say due to the limited stay period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria

Address: 645 Griswold Road, Elyria, OH 44035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located between Cleveland and Sandusky, Home to Cedar Point Amusement Park. We are less than 0.5 mile south of I-90 and less than 1 mile north of I-80 at exit 145. Also we are 18 miles west of Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Airport and Oberlin College is 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Elyria Hotel Elyria
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Elyria
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn Elyria
Elyria Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Elyria Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Elyria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.