We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines - Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breitenbach Winery

Breitenbach Winery
5934 Old Route 39 Northwest, Dover, OH 44622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Dover
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great wines - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I always bring out of town guests to visit the winery when showing them around the area. No one has ever been disappointed. The staff is so friendly each time I go. Wines are not cheap - but reasonably priced for a winery. I also enjoy their deli meats and cheeses. They have a cute gift shop with very contemporary items.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Breitenbach Winery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had purchased advanced tickets for wine tasting with appetizers and a tour of the winery. The first normal tour was supposed to be at 11 am but had been moved to 1 pm because of Wine Tour Day. Our problem for not checking the latest info before driving there. The whole venue seemed to be not the norm for the winery. We ended up paying for the tastings (no big deal at $.25 per which is a state requirement) but not expected for the price of the ticket which implied included the tastings. We did get appetizers, a glass of selected wine, and the option for keeping the etched glass. We did not wait for the tour at 1 pm. Even at our cost we did not feel the deal was good and if we had paid full price there would have been complaints and probably a request for a partial refund. Not the first class winery tours we have done.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Stanton, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brave the crowd, and taste the many.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

So many wines, so many people! We enjoyed our tasting and bought some wines, fought the crowd at the register and left. They do a massive business here and have something for everybody!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really Great Tasting Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The wine tasting is no longer free. It is 25 cents a taste. We were worried the wine would be sugary sweet like alot of small wineries. There are quite a few to choose from. We found two we really liked. The wine tasting area is too small. We had to wait and there were only 4 people tasting wine. Worth a side trip from Amish country.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Nice lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch here. The food is surprisingly good and prices reasonable. There aren't many places to sit inside but there is a nice location out back if the weather is nice. The wines are quite good and the samples are plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitenbach Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitenbach Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Breitenbach Winery to your Saves list