We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat idea, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trax Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trax Diner
400 Center St, Dennison, OH 44621-1402
740-922-9485
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Presque Isle, Maine
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Neat idea, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a cute restaurant attached to a very cool historical museum. The diner is small and the menu is large. Most everything I've eaten here has been good, but each time the service is very slow (maybe the menu is too large for the kitchen?). It is reasonably priced though and a good lunch meeting spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great small town restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I live in Tuscarawas County, and come down here about every other week to go to lunch. It's a small restaurant with a pretty good sized menu for the size of the restaurant. Situated in Dennison, which was a huge railroad stop during WW2. Definitely check out their salads-I've had just about every one of them and they're not only good but HUGE portioned!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool place. My dad worked at this rr ! Now restaurant.bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Old depot rr turned museum/ restaurant. Nice lady runs it. Good good. Interesting setting memorabilia. Get blk blue burger. Yumm. Er tracks still there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff and cute, historic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We ate dinner and Sunday brunch here in June, 2012. Nice place, used to be part of a historic WW II train depot. Has a good menu, but not real extensive. Everything tasted good and our waitress was very attentive and friendly. Not crowded when we were eating there. Their brunch is very limited though. You can only order about four brunch items or from the menu. I ordered french toast and it came with fruit and bacon, which is fine, but I wanted eggs and grits too, but they said they could not add extra to the order. It was a good meal, not fantastic, but tasty enough. I'd recommend it though, especially if you want lunch or dinner after touring the historic depot. Probably aren't many other places to eat in town, it is a very small town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a find in a hardscrabble town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Trax diner is a gem of a find. It is an upscale dining experience in a John Steinbeck hardscrabble town. I had the Friday special, British beer battered cod and shrimp with chips. It was a wonderful meal apart from the second batch of shrimp (all you can eat) being overcooked. One feature I recall was the coleslaw to which they added paprika; I mistook it for cheddar cheese spread due to the color. Once I was told what it was, I found it to be a quite tasty mayonnaise based coleslaw, although the color was a bit off-putting. The staff was hard working and very attentive and the proprietor, Sandy, both worked the floor and greeted diners. If you order from the menu, you will find a number of tasty sounding items like scrod almandine. I highly recommend the restaurant but given the limited tabletops, I suggest that you either go early or investigate whether they take reservations.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trax Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trax Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.