We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dellroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1268 Magnolia Rd SR 542, Atwood Lake, Dellroy, OH 44620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dellroy B&B and Inns
Columbiana, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Complete Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, look no further! The scenery is outstanding and the inn is spotless! The antiques are gorgeous and there are so many rooms to view the lake, play board games, and enjoy a scrumptious breakfast. Linda's cookies are so delicious!

Room Tip: Any room is great! All come with the chocolate chip cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Everyone loves the chocolate chip cookies. Just made a new batch yesterday for this coming weekend. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a blessing it was to find this place online and have it turn out to be head and shoulders above just about any place we've ever stayed! It exceeded all of our expectations. Linda and Bill, the innkeepers, were incredibly hospitable in every way. The campfire pit is a fantastic feature and has a beautiful view of the lake. We stayed in the Jasmine room and although it has a private balcony, it really only looks out on the woods; however, it didn't matter because the room was so wonderful and comfortable and the grounds were fantastic. The house is not directly by the lake, but the view of the lake is more than adequate. Also, the breakfast that Linda makes is so delicious and the view of the lake from the dining room in awesome! Make sure to fill out the form for receiving early morning coffee service directly to your room! All in all, Whispering Pines is better than any photo online or review can truly describe. You have to see and experience for yourself. Stay at Whispering Pines!!

Room Tip: The Jasmine room is great. If you want a private balcony with an amazing view of the lake, choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I'm preparing to plan another great breakfast for our guests this weekend. The fall colors are bursting through and the views are looking amazing. I'm happy you enjoyed your getaway and we will look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Whispering Pines and if anything it was as good or better than the first. We had a very peaceful and relaxing weekend. Just sitting in our balcony overlooking the lake with a glass of wine made the trip worthwhile. There are activities close by if you like to keep active but it is als a great place to just relax and unwind. The host were very friendly and the breakfast was sublime. This is the first B & B we have ever made a second trip to and we are looking forward to another visit in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Whispering Pines. I hope you'll return again and choose a room with a view of the lake. We'll look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found Whispering Pines on the Select Registry, and we had a wonderful 1-night stay. I will say though that the photo on their site is a bit misleading as it seems to suggest they are right on the water, when in fact they are down a long drive, across a main road, and then there is a rocky shore before the lake. We had envisioned walking out of the B&B and strolling alongside the water, but there really is no good place to walk along the lake as the shores are very rocky. This was no a total letdown, just different from what we expected. The grounds are beautiful at Whispering Pines. My wife and I took a short stroll into the woods where there is a beautiful pine forest. There are multiple sitting areas near the house, and 2 ponds with a little waterfall. That waterfall was very relaxing to hear in the morning. We saw dragonflies, heard bullfrogs, and even watched a deer strolling in the morning! There are beautiful flowers also to behold. Check-in was easy and informative as Linda gave us a quick tour of the house. There are large sitting rooms with very comfy leather furniture, games to play, books to read...just a nice relaxing atmosphere. Having a serving area with teas, coffee, pretzels, and popcorn for popping was a nice touch. As for the room, we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and it was the perfect setting. The King bed is huge and comfortable, the 2-person jacuzzi tub is great, there is an electric fireplace, a table with 2 chairs, a sofa, and a table and chair out on the balcony. The light music playing on the Bose (Bose I think) was very soothing. It was very nice having soap, body wash, and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. There is no TV in the room, but we found it so relaxing just to unwind, read, sit and talk on the balcony, etc. We loved the room. Linda and Bill were helpful with any questions, and there were menus available for local restaurants and directions as well. Now for the piece de resistance - Breakfast! It was fantastic. We started with delicious fresh banana nut bread and a fruit salad. Then came perfect pancakes with Ohio maple syrup, a link of the best sausage I've ever eaten, and perfect scrambled eggs. I had fresh OJ and tea in their cute clay-fired Whispering Pines mugs. Breakfast was perfect.

The reason I rate this a 4 instead of 5 was due to a hospitality issue. While small, we felt the lack of follow-up was not consistent with a 5-star B&B experience. They state that you can make smores over the fire pit, just inquire. It had rained slightly that day and most likely the day before, but the majority of that day was beautiful, and a perfect night, and grounds were even good for walking that day. When we asked in the afternoon if we could do that later in the evening, Linda did not seem too receptive to it due to the "weather" and we "would have to see after dark." She never followed up with us, and never mentioned it the next day. That small request would have really set that stay apart, by the firepit, at night. That would have been a nice nightcap to a great day.

One thing that I think would really enhance the experience there would be outdoor seating on the deck outside of the breakfast room. That looks over the lake and would be a nice area to relax.

Overall, I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking to escape, relax, and just spend quality time with someone. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is huge with a balcony right on the corner of the house from which you can overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon. Due to our work schedule, we were unable to go far so Whispering Pines was the perfect place. It was a very peaceful relaxing place to recharge after planning a wedding. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was very spacious and had everything we needed. The owners of the Bed and Breakfast are absolutely wonderful and are very helpful. They thought of everything, including soft music in the room, and snacks at night. We also enjoyed the fact that there was no TV in the room and even turned off our cellphones. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast but will not be our last time staying at Whispering Pines. We are already planning on making it our yearly place to stay to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is perfect for any couple wanting to re-connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of B&B's, and Whispering Pines is one of the finest, if not the finest, places I've ever stayed. The rooms, service, and dining are top notch. For wine tasting, with an Amish backdrop, I can't think of any other place I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a wonderful experience at Whispering Pines and we'll look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our third time at the B&B and not our last. Beautiful surroundings and the room was lovely. Breakfast was very tasty and the hosts are very nice and pleasant to be around. There is music playing softly in the background and snacks in the evening. You can sit in the comfy chairs by the fireplace for hours listening to the birds outside and than take a relaxing bath with a glass of wine--heaven!

Room Tip: I recommend the Willow Room or Victorian Rose-both are so pretty and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1268 Magnolia Rd SR 542, Atwood Lake, Dellroy, OH 44620
Location: United States > Ohio > Dellroy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dellroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Dellroy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;