We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great Bed and Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dellroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1268 Magnolia Rd SW, Atwood Lake, Dellroy, OH 44620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Dellroy B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still a great Bed and Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Whispering Pines and if anything it was as good or better than the first. We had a very peaceful and relaxing weekend. Just sitting in our balcony overlooking the lake with a glass of wine made the trip worthwhile. There are activities close by if you like to keep active but it is als a great place to just relax and unwind. The host were very friendly and the breakfast was sublime. This is the first B & B we have ever made a second trip to and we are looking forward to another visit in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Whispering Pines. I hope you'll return again and choose a room with a view of the lake. We'll look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found Whispering Pines on the Select Registry, and we had a wonderful 1-night stay. I will say though that the photo on their site is a bit misleading as it seems to suggest they are right on the water, when in fact they are down a long drive, across a main road, and then there is a rocky shore before the lake. We had envisioned walking out of the B&B and strolling alongside the water, but there really is no good place to walk along the lake as the shores are very rocky. This was no a total letdown, just different from what we expected. The grounds are beautiful at Whispering Pines. My wife and I took a short stroll into the woods where there is a beautiful pine forest. There are multiple sitting areas near the house, and 2 ponds with a little waterfall. That waterfall was very relaxing to hear in the morning. We saw dragonflies, heard bullfrogs, and even watched a deer strolling in the morning! There are beautiful flowers also to behold. Check-in was easy and informative as Linda gave us a quick tour of the house. There are large sitting rooms with very comfy leather furniture, games to play, books to read...just a nice relaxing atmosphere. Having a serving area with teas, coffee, pretzels, and popcorn for popping was a nice touch. As for the room, we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and it was the perfect setting. The King bed is huge and comfortable, the 2-person jacuzzi tub is great, there is an electric fireplace, a table with 2 chairs, a sofa, and a table and chair out on the balcony. The light music playing on the Bose (Bose I think) was very soothing. It was very nice having soap, body wash, and shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. There is no TV in the room, but we found it so relaxing just to unwind, read, sit and talk on the balcony, etc. We loved the room. Linda and Bill were helpful with any questions, and there were menus available for local restaurants and directions as well. Now for the piece de resistance - Breakfast! It was fantastic. We started with delicious fresh banana nut bread and a fruit salad. Then came perfect pancakes with Ohio maple syrup, a link of the best sausage I've ever eaten, and perfect scrambled eggs. I had fresh OJ and tea in their cute clay-fired Whispering Pines mugs. Breakfast was perfect.

The reason I rate this a 4 instead of 5 was due to a hospitality issue. While small, we felt the lack of follow-up was not consistent with a 5-star B&B experience. They state that you can make smores over the fire pit, just inquire. It had rained slightly that day and most likely the day before, but the majority of that day was beautiful, and a perfect night, and grounds were even good for walking that day. When we asked in the afternoon if we could do that later in the evening, Linda did not seem too receptive to it due to the "weather" and we "would have to see after dark." She never followed up with us, and never mentioned it the next day. That small request would have really set that stay apart, by the firepit, at night. That would have been a nice nightcap to a great day.

One thing that I think would really enhance the experience there would be outdoor seating on the deck outside of the breakfast room. That looks over the lake and would be a nice area to relax.

Overall, I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone looking to escape, relax, and just spend quality time with someone. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is huge with a balcony right on the corner of the house from which you can overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon. Due to our work schedule, we were unable to go far so Whispering Pines was the perfect place. It was a very peaceful relaxing place to recharge after planning a wedding. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was very spacious and had everything we needed. The owners of the Bed and Breakfast are absolutely wonderful and are very helpful. They thought of everything, including soft music in the room, and snacks at night. We also enjoyed the fact that there was no TV in the room and even turned off our cellphones. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast but will not be our last time staying at Whispering Pines. We are already planning on making it our yearly place to stay to recharge our batteries.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is perfect for any couple wanting to re-connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of B&B's, and Whispering Pines is one of the finest, if not the finest, places I've ever stayed. The rooms, service, and dining are top notch. For wine tasting, with an Amish backdrop, I can't think of any other place I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a wonderful experience at Whispering Pines and we'll look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is our third time at the B&B and not our last. Beautiful surroundings and the room was lovely. Breakfast was very tasty and the hosts are very nice and pleasant to be around. There is music playing softly in the background and snacks in the evening. You can sit in the comfy chairs by the fireplace for hours listening to the birds outside and than take a relaxing bath with a glass of wine--heaven!

Room Tip: I recommend the Willow Room or Victorian Rose-both are so pretty and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDSON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We love staying at Whispering Pines. The rooms are so beautiful. Each one is different in decor but just lovely. Beds are extremely comfortable and the bedding is exceptional. It is so quiet there that reading a book and soaking in the jaccuzzi is so relaxing. The breakfast in the morning is exceptional and really special. The Inn keepers are friendly. We will definately be back. A great place for re-connecting with who you love.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B, and ever since we were given a gift certificate from my brother and his wife, who were actually engaged at this B&B in 2004, we were very excited to try it out for ourselves. We drove in from Pittsburgh and arrived about 30 minutes prior to check-in. We decided since the website had no policy regarding early arrivals we would take a chance and see if our room was available.

The keypad on the front door had a post it with a four digit code on it, assuming it was for guests, we let ourselves in. Linda was startled to see us, to say the least, and practically scolded us, saying the post-it on the door was for the massage therapist, not guests, and we should always ring the doorbell....She then suggested we go "take a ride" until our 3 o'clock check in, or sit and wait until our room was ready. We were a bit put off so we decided to leave and come back. After driving around aimlessly on country roads for about 40 minutes we arrived back at the B&B around 3:10 and were told her husband was making some "last minute repairs to the room", so we waited in the great room for a few moments until we were escorted to the garden room.

Upon entering, Linda showed us how to work the whirlpool tub, fireplace and noticed the lamp on the fireplace was broken/not working. Hmm, a small let down but not a huge deal. After exploring the room we found there was no balcony like we were promised on the website, and only one bath robe hanging in the closet. We appreciate antiques and the styling throughout the B&B but were not necessarily "crazy" about our room, however we decided we would make the best of it. A few hours later ordered dinner from a local restaurant suggested by the innkeeper- We called and placed our order, then called Linda to see if she could let us know when the food arrived, she seemed bothered by this request and even mentioned that she was busy with something, but said that yes, she would let us know. After that phone call, we felt a little uncomfortable so we decided to get dressed and go downstairs to wait for the food ourselves. (The food was very good, so that was a plus).

The next morning, we were almost relieved to eat our breakfast and get on our way. We went downstairs and we were served a delicious breakfast of baked pears, apple cinnamon pancakes, scrambled eggs and sausage. This was nice...

When we checked out, we told Linda we had a gift certificate we wanted to use and she immediately became upset and firmly told us that when using a gift certificate, you should ALWAYS tell the business up front. Her husband Bill, who was very nice and addressed us by name a few times, said that they get charged from the credit card company if they have to change the amount, which is understandable, however- the website said nothing about gift certificates when we made our reservation. We are both young professionals and felt like children being scolded by strangers. It was almost embarrassing and we were glad to leave.

Upon arriving home and recounting our experience... I decided to look up the original reservation confirmation I received in my email...Only to find that we had booked the Jasmine Room....NOT the Garden Room....So, it's no wonder we were not crazy about the decor and the room had no balcony. The B&B was clearly not full as we saw a few empty rooms, so I have no idea as to why we were unable to stay in the room we had originally requested. This experience left much to be desired, we will not be return customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Rather than respond to your individual issues, I would like to say I'm sorry you had those issues. After 23 years of innkeeping, we know things can happen that are out of our control. We always try to do our best but at times we may miss the mark and for this I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1268 Magnolia Rd SW, Atwood Lake, Dellroy, OH 44620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dellroy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dellroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast for a "little piece of quiet" There are nine large guest rooms to choose from and they all have a 2-person whirlpool tub. There are also private balconies, some of which overlook Atwood Lake. And in the cold of winter and the warmth of summer you can use your electric fireplace for ambiance. A wonderful breakfast is included and served in the glass enclosed sun room overlooking beautiful Atwood Lake. There are many things to do in the area and several additions you can add on to enhance your stay. We look forward to being your hosts and helping you plan your getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Dellroy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.