We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$$” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
29683 Walhonding Road (State Route 715), Danville Knox County, OH 43014   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This owner really know how to market... Not a good value... Location is great, but that is it.
For over $400.00 with dinner one night it is only worth $150 at best. Dinner was not more than you would get at Denney s During intro before dinner owner was drinking but saying he could not offer his guest wine. Than after dinner he joined us at our table and was drinking more wine. When ask how many glasses of wine he had that evening-- he answer was about 5.
Please do not waist you money on this place unless you have some much money you really do not care..

Room Tip: We had a room-- like motel 6, not in the original home. Farm was 2 sheep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is greatly disappointing to us when a guest feels that The White Oak Inn did not meet their expectations. Fortunately, this is a rare occurrence. We have a history of appealing to a diverse group of travelers. Many of our guests return year after year and bring or send their valued friends and family members.

The package referenced in this comment was for TWO nights lodging and dinner for two. It is a very popular package enjoyed by many of our visitors and most of them tell us it's an excellent value. We take great pride in our meal service and the fact that our food is made fresh daily from locally sourced ingredients. Guests frequently request copies of our recipes.

The innkeeper host normally joins our guests before dinner to welcome them to our dining room and explain the menu. All guests are informed at the time of booking that local liquor laws do not permit us to provide alcohol to guests, but they are welcome to enjoy their own during their stay. I regret that a flippant remark about the amount of wine the host had consumed may have been misinterpreted as a serious answer by this particular guest.

No matter how many happy guest we have had throughout the years, the few who might have questions or experience disappointment are important to us.

Although the inn has not been a working farm for many years, we keep two very amusing pet sheep in the barn. They thoroughly enjoy being visited by guests bearing gifts of crackers or gummi bears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you want to be off the beaten track, both literally and figuratively, this is the place for you. You can sit on the porch and read, and just let the quiet woods seep into you. If you need to stay wired and in touch with the big world out there, this might be a little too rural. :)

Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and with several courses and choices every day. Our room was fine -- a little cramped, but we are three large people so we expected that. Beds looked a bit worn but we slept just fine. All in all, a lovely rural hideaway -- I just wish we had had more time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo,Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay! Great place for a romantic get-a-way. Very quiet place to relax and close to Ohio's amish country! The food was amazing! The staff was very friendly and gave good advice on things to do in the area. We will be back for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The White Oak Inn is an extraordinary place…. THE BEST B&B I have ever stayed at!
Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful…in the middle of Ohio’s Amish Country… this was just what we needed. My fiancé purchased the Living Social voucher as a gift to me… even though we traveled past the expiration date; Ian and Yvonne Martin were wonderful hosts and honored the voucher without hesitation.

When we arrived we were greeted by Ian with Dougal (a well-mannered and gentle black lab) at his side. The house was beautifully furnished with a welcoming foyer and an inviting great room with a gorgeous, 19th century, square grand piano, which Ian had said we were welcome to play. (my fiancé’ is a musician, and we were delighted to find out so is Ian)

The first thing we did, after Ian showed us to our room, was to take a nap… it was so comfortable and relaxing. There was no cell phone service but we were told we could call home to give our family the Inn number in case we were needed. We opted not to do this. It was great to get away from the ringing phones. The inn does have internet service and we could check in with our children via Facebook, iMessage and Skype on our iPads. This was more than sufficient as we were on a “get-away”.

When we came down to bring our things in from the car…. We could smell our delicious dinner cooking …. We were given two entrée choices, I chose the pork chops with apples and my fiancé’ chose the chicken Florentine. When we sat for dinner Ian opened and served our wine. (it is BYOB due to being a dry county) Both dishes were fabulous. Dessert was so yummy, sticky toffee English pudding. There were other guests staying the same night and we enjoyed their company as well as Ian and his family, they were in for a visit.

We did notice there were fresh baked cookies in a jar on the coffee table in the great room, along with a coffee and tea bar but we were so well-fed there was no way we would have needed a mid-night snack.

The next morning we were given two choices for breakfast times. We were also given a sweet and a savory choice for our entrée. Yvonne happily gave us a little of each, as we didn’t want to miss out on either one as they sounded fabulous. We helped ourselves to coffee and earl grey tea in the great room, we then went to the dining room. We had our choice of juice. Peach scones and a fruit plate followed. We had berry pancakes and a breakfast strata. Ian and Yvonne were so helpful with suggestions of things to do. They even had short summaries about the places and easy to follow directions printed.

When we had gone back to our room from breakfast we found that it had been cleaned, bed made and everything was spic n span. I loved that they had a pretty purple washcloth, marked for makeup removal. When I requested an “old “towel from Yvonne (as I had just colored my hair bright purple before our trip and didn’t want to ruin their beautiful very white ones) she graciously brought me one and it still looked great to me.

We set out for the day of adventure. We were so satisfied with breakfast and anticipated another amazing dinner. We didn’t need lunch or even a snack. We opted to have the romantic dinner basket. (This is an alternative to the meat and cheese platter, and was an additional charge, very much worth it.) Although that nights meal was to be “on our own” Ian and Yvonne kindly suggested we use the dining room as we wanted to enjoy the company of the other guests we had met the previous night, and Ian politely severed our meal semi family style. All of it was delicious, fresh salad, Cornish game hens, yummy veggies and chocolate cake.

We crawled into a comfortable bed with fresh clean white linens, and drifted off to a peaceful sleep.

Another delicious breakfast was prepared for us. My fiancé had a breakfast casserole while I opted for the peach bread pudding, with the same trimming, coffee, tea, juice, and fruit. Check out is by 11 am, according to their handbook, but we were never rushed or made to feel like we were on a time limit. We went up to our room gathered our things and headed down to take care of our incidentals and check out. We bought four of the inn’s mugs (they are gorgeous handmade stone ware mugs that they use at the inn, They come in such beautiful colors and have a medallion of the inn on the front) as a reminder or our trip. Yvonne kindly took a picture of us on the front porch and reluctantly we left vowing to return A.S.A.P.

We had a remarkable, wonderful, and tranquil time. We were well fed, cared for and made to feel so welcome. Thank you Ian and Yvonne for such an outstanding and relaxing get away.
We cannot wait to visit you both again soon.

Room Tip: Be aware if you need to keep in contact with the outside world, there isn't reliable cell servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The White Oak Inn is a perfect setting for a romantic getaway. We started our trip (before getting to the White Oak Inn) doing a winery tour and a one-night stay at a hotel. I thought that part would be more my speed, but boy was I wrong. Once we got to the White Oak Inn I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable I felt immediately. Ian was gracious and helpful getting us settled in the room, and it was so comfortable that we ended up taking a nap before even unpacking at all.

Back to the subjects of this review, starting with the food. All I can say is that I didn't have a single meal that wasn't fantastic. The breakfast was fantastic both days - a good mix of some things you'd expect (though even the bacon was better than expected due to Ian's handiwork in seasoning it) and things that were unexpected and super delicious (like the strata which was of course awesome). Dinners were great - we had both the sit-down dinner and a basket and both were top notch. The basket is VERY substantial, I thought it was as much food as the regular dinner. All of it awesome, great food and portions.

The hosts are also awesome. Very friendly and diverse, for sure. Ian and Yvonne were both helpful, even giving us both verbal and very detailed typed "tours" that were critical for us as we did not know the area very well. The only issue is that you need much more time to do all the things that are available to you, since you will also be torn about staying at the Inn a lot too since it is comfortable, inviting, and friendly.

Accommodations were impressive too. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable (see the aforementioned immediate nap for evidence of this) and the whole room was more than satisfactory. We were very happy with the accomodations.

The sights were great, I already mentioned the verbal and typed directions/tours. We used this information from Ian and Yvonne extensively. Again, the only problem you'll have is time. That isn't a problem if you come back, like we plan to!

Oh, and personally I was very happy to learn that Ian was a professional drummer for many years since I work in the industry. His stories about that were definitely something I was VERY interested in and can't wait to hear more upon a future visit. Ian also had varying interests beyond music, so expect great conversation (Yvonne also has way more knowledge than food which seems to be her expertise). Great great great stuff all around!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The White Oak Inn is in a beautiful setting--very quiet and serene. The Innkeepers, Ian and Yvonne, are rather reserved but pleasant. It was a very busy weekend so they, along with the staff, were kept quite busy. The staff was pleasant as well. The fireplace was very inviting because it was chilly and raining one of the days we were there so it was quite cozy crawling under the fabulously soft sheets with the fire going and taking a little afternoon nap. Also, the jacuzzi bath tub felt very good after a long day of shopping. My husband and I were anxiously awaiting the Murder Mystery as we have participated in several in the past and have had such a fun evening. This murder mystery had the makings of being a pleasant experience had one of the other guests not been extremely drunk and out of control with her ear piercing screams and immature hand gestures aimed at her boyfriend. She also sat, straddling her chair, which reminded me of the position a woman gets in while giving birth--what an appetizing atmosphere. We sat, biting our tongues, through the main course--hoping and praying that either the Innkeepers or the Murder Mystery Company would have intervened by kindly asking this out of control guest to quiet down. I'm sure it was a difficult situation because they paid to be there as did the other 20 or so other guests. BUT something needed to be done and those in charge ignored the commotion that she was causing--my husband and I couldn't even hear each other talking. After gulping down the main course, we quietly went back to our room--not wanting to make a scene, of course--but at that point we didn't care who murdered who. The dessert was delivered to our room. Did we feel that we got our $160.00 out of the meal and murder mystery? Absolutely not. Did we feel that some type of reimbursement should have been made either by the Innkeepers or by the Murder Mystery Company--absolutely. (By the way, we were returning guests at the White Oak B & B so I would think that our business "should" be important to the Innkeepers.) Oh one last thing--I certainly wish that the out of control guest could have been as polite and mannerly as the resident dog--not a chance. (This B & B has a "BYOB" policy--which makes it more difficult to control the amount of drinking--BUT just WHO is ultimately in charge of what goes on in the B & B.) Unfortunately it wasn't Ian and Yvonne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The best place to go for a weekend or weekday getaway. Ian and Yvonne are the best. Friendly, intelligent and have lots of local knowledge and stories. Being from Canada, they have stories from there as well. Inn is well decorated in antique furnishings. Most comfortable stays I've had. Yvonne gets credit for the breakfasts and dinners although Ian is involved. Breakfast and dinner are always wonderful and attractive. Inn is quiet with lots of wildlife. This includes the Inn's mascot Dugal, the cats and sheep. Rooms are always clean and extremely comfortable. Should you desire to do some sightseeing, there are many places to visit. The great room is the place to visit with other guests and have tea with Ian and Yvonne. Better than any hotel. Go for a night or longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29683 Walhonding Road (State Route 715), Danville Knox County, OH 43014
Location: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Inn Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Danville Knox County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.