We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on you!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chowder House Cafe

Chowder House Cafe
2028 Chestnut Blvd, Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223-1323
+1 330-794-7102
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 114 Restaurants in Cuyahoga Falls
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Chowder House is a locally owned restaurant specializing in seafood as well as soups, salads, sandwiches,steaks, chops and pasta dishes. Chef Louis Prpich is the chef/owner along with his wife Kerry. Chef Louis has taken seafood to a higher level by using sustainable fishes and local farms to create award winning dishes that are making the Chowder House one of the best restaurants in Northeast Ohio. Voted 4 years in a row as best 100 restaurants in Northeast Ohio by the Cleveland Plain Dealer, Chowder House is a must try!
Stow, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shame on you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been going to the Chowder House quarterly for over a year and a half. The atmoshere is different -- eclectic might be the good word, and the food is pretty good. It's a little on the expensive side, but there is one bonafide benefit -- you can bring in beer or wine. The first time we went, the waitress even said, "There's a packing store behind the restaurant where you can buy wine." We went and bought a bottle. So, sometimes we'd bring in a bottle, sometimes we do not. We used a "groupon" coupon whenever we went, which makes it affordable. On our visit for lunch on Martin Luther King Day, we were charged a $10.00 corking fee for bringing in a bottle of wine. This was the first time we were ever charged for bringing in booze. We asked our waitress about it. She told us that they've been charging it for the last three years, ever since it had opened. She was curt and abrupt and dismissed our attempted response that we had never been charged before. She said the law requires the charge. So, we didn't leave a tip as I know we've never paid such a fee over the previous six visits. We had one more coupon to use, so we went on February 13. We did not take our wine. The service was exceptionally slow that evening. We scoured the menu for something about this charge. There was nothing. We watched another table that bought in wine and wanted to know if they were charged. We figured the older lady that waited on us on Monday was related to the owner and other waitresses didn't want to lose the gratuity, so they wouldn't add the charge to the bill. I'm not upset by the charge -- well, I am -- as much as I was by the amount and the way it was handled. The charge is more than the wine! Then, I find out there is a beer charge of $5.00. I guess this is a bottle opening fee. Anyway, we didn't tip the waitress on February 13 either. So, we recouped the ten dollar corking fee to the dismay of at least one disgruntled employee and possibly another -- though I believe the latter had some vested interest in the dollars the restaurant bought in. Bottom line: if there is going to be a charge for a service, publish it somewhere. Additionally, insure everyone in the establishment uniformly applies the charge to all who uses the service. Anyway, the reasons we went to the Chowder House was because we could bring wine at no cost and use the groupon that saved us $10.00. I think we're done here. There is simply too many other eating establishments in the area that meet our expectations moreso than this one now does.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    7
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go. Just go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Everything here is great. It's not pretentious or stuffy - just a cool little place with amazing food. Get the chowder (of course) and the tuna with the peanut noodles. I make trips there just for the noodles - they're that good. Everything else I've tried has been pretty stellar, too. Service is prompt and friendly. We bring our own wine/beer, and there's a nominal corkage fee. Love this place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Groupon coupon took us there. We have been there before, but owners have changed. Decor is darling with previous owner's artwork which is unusual. Food is not inexpensive. I ordered a CUP of soup and got a BOWL. Sandwich was disappointing and not appetizing and there was MOLD on the dry bun it was served on. Companion's pork ("Three Little Pigs") was undercooked and had a layer of fat on it that was gross. Sandwich was served with some Asian noodles that did not go along with the sandwich. We will not go back. The cute surroundings did not outweigh the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

One of our favorite places (wish Sugo Bistro - their sister restaurant was still open too)! Yes, it's not cheap - don't come here if you expect a "chain restaurant experience" with lots of mediocre food for little money! The food is fresh and they do sometimes run out of things but that means they're not just buying frozen or processed foods that last forever. Brunch, lunch, dinner - it's all good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You have to be known to get a "real" menu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I bought a groupon to this restaurant and we used it one day before it expired. The LUNCH menus were given to us as the waitress listed all the things they did not have....2 of the 3 soups offered, and at least 3 or 4 menu items and at least 1of the salad selections. We were told that there were no specials today. We arrived at the restaurant about 4:30 pm and there was one person at a table eating when we arrived. After we arrived and had our meal, another couple and a child arrived and were told of the specials....something Cajun style with mashed potatoes! Nothing like that was even on our menu. About 5 minutes later, another 2 ladies entered the restaurant and was told there was no availability for them, as they were booked. There were only 3 tables taken and no one waiting. After much bantering, the 2 ladies promised to hurry up and eat and leave, then they were given a table.....and once again, there were no specials and even more items from the lunch menu were unavailable. We left probably about 5pm or shortly thereafter and no one else had come in. It sure did seem as though you had to be a regular or otherwise "known" to get a dinner menu or offered any specials. The food was good and the employees were friendly enough but knowing that I am offered a lunch menu vs. a dinner menu at dinner time, not offered the specials, and seemingly treated differently than a "known customer", I hope they can keep enough of those to maintain their business because they lost mine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chowder House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowder House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.