We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a Residence Inn -now its a InnPlace Suites” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Montrose West Avenue, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Stay Place Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Copley
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“No longer a Residence Inn -now its a InnPlace Suites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We are two couples who have been meeting in Akron annually since 1987. We are old friends now from Chicago and Philadelphia who meet in the 'middle' once or twice a year . I'd say that 80% of the time we have stayed at this once "Residence Inn' flying the Marriott flag. Have always enjoyed the stay. For the past three years we have been staying at the "Residience Inn" in Beachwood , closer to Cleveland. We returned to the 120 Montrose West address this spring - made the reservation when it was a "Residence Inn" - were called and told that it had changed hands to a InnPlace Suite - but we decided to keep the reservation anyway. This critizism would have been leveled even if the hotel was still a "Residence Inn" under the Marriott flag While the cleanliness of the room was to the standards we are use to in a "Residence Inn" , the physical appearance of the structure itself was disappointing - simply put the place needs considerable maintenance - a paint job would go a long way in masking the look. Having said all that if the daily rate wasn't at the same level as a Marriott "Residence Inn" in the area I might feel better but to pay the same price ..............not fair to the consumer and this consumer won't ever return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    11
    20
    15
See reviews for
23
8
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Every year my family and I make the trip to Akron to enjoy the WGC Bridgestone Golf Tournament. We always stay at the Residence Inn. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. The front desk clerks are always a pleasure to deal with. We love the BBQ area and the basketball court. This is a great place to stay for large groups or families.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The staff at this hotel was so accommodating., They went out of their way to make it a special visit! They made us feel right at home. Each and every staff member made us feel welcome. Despite the skunk that roamed the property, it was a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed 2 nights and was very impressed with my suite. IT was like home and they had BBQ for dinner! Good location, clean, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

An older but extremly well maintained property. Very inviting and comfortable. Rooms are roomy and very well equiped (even working fireplaces). Shower in a seperate room so you don't steam up the rest of the room and mirrors after your shower. When was the last time you found glasses in the bathroom instead of paper cups? You do here!
Very clean. We spilled a fair amount of water on the rug and sponged it up with white towels. The towels came up just as white as they were before we used them.
Had a problem with loud neighbors and that was taken care of.
Breakfast is as good a continental breakfast as I've had anywhere.
The only down side to the stay was the spa was not working. I've stayed here before and that has always been an added plus to the stay. Hope they get that fixed!
A good place to stay and the price was extremly reasonable, but just a tip, $169.00 per night is way to much to pay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Staff is pleasant and helpful, buildings must date back to when the Residence Inn was "Brock's". As noted elsewhere, the mattress sags in the middle, blankets are thin. Fireplace was nice, there's a full kitchen. This property sorely needs to be updated and is not what you would expect from a Marriott property...

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROAMING SHORES
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

My cousin and I stayed here this past weekend. What a pleasant surprise. For the price it was great! The property is a bit run down but the comfy beds and the soft towels really made up for it. The suite is huge. It was nice to have a refrig in our room. The buffet breakfast was good. We will be going back!!!!!

  • Liked — Loved the extra space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn

Address: 120 Montrose West Avenue, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Stay Place Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innplace Suites Akron Hotel Akron
Residence Inn Akron
Akron Residence Inn
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn Copley, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.