We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Montrose West Avenue, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Stay Place Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Copley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Very rude staff that were making personal phone calls while I walked in. Rooms were alright but I was completely put off by the service and the breakfast! Thisnlocation is excellent and i like to stay in thos area because of the proximity to the steakhpuses however I'm never staying here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    11
    18
    15
See reviews for
22
8
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed at this property 5-6 times over the last several years.The first 2 -3 years it was a Marriott and a treat for us to stay there. Marriott sold it and it's been going down hill ever since.
Well we did try it again. The rooms are still fairly nice but the service and amenities are still going backwards.
Front desk staff left much to be desired as far as attitude and helpfulness goes. They were unresponsive to housekeeping request, and 2 requests for towels for the pool. We had noisy neighbors above us (12:00 to 1:30 AM) and had to make 3 calls to the desk for assistance (one call was answered by a recording). There were also loiterers in the parking with loud music as well as extremely loud voices (I suppose they had to talk that loud to hear each other over the loud music).
The "Continental" breakfast is not! The breakfast from its sausage (the little round ones that are about 95% filler) to the canned fruit cocktail to the dried eggs were pitiful. The breakfast was about as substandard as it can get. It was horrible.
By the way, the pictures you see advertising this place are from the days that Marriot owned the property. There is no spa. It's been filled in and cemented over and the outside of the buildings sport peeling and fading paint and the pictures of the Continental breakfast in no way reflect what is now served for breakfast.
The property and service seem to be getting worse every year. We would consider going back because of the rooms and location but we will also search diligently for another place to stay next year.

Room Tip: Get a room in unit 1. It's close to the pool and the gate house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The name should ideally have been Stay Away Suites. Stay Away from this place. Not worth the money. Internet crawls. Breakfast is horrible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Due to a gas leak at our home this past weekend, we had to get a hotel room. After locating a room for $55.00 per night, we chose to stay here. The other hotel was not worth the $55.00 per night to stay. Although the hotel was busy, the staff took great care of us. The room/suite was clean. The staff very friendly, helpful & curteous. Due to our experience with this hotel, we will be staying here & with this chain when we go out of town. As a frequent business travelor, I look for Hotels that meet all of my business & personal needs. This hotel did it for us last weekend. You may pay a little more, but you get the best service here.Thanks Staff. See ya soon.

Bishop L. N. Smith

Room Tip: I know with the economy being as it is, we look for the best price. Forget searching. Pay a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Staff was definitely friendly and helpful and the location is perfect, however, the hotel is in need of a MAJOR overhaul. Exterior is in desperate need of paint and facelift. The room was filthy, the sheets were stained, the shower did not drain correctly, the wallpaper was held up with masking tape in places and the toilet required several flushes to clear it! Never again!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Nice clean room with comfortable stay . front desk was very helpful and room was specious and clean .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

So our decision to stay here was based on the #2 ranking for the Akron, oh area. The staff was friendly and helpful,but was not near as nice as pics or reviews. This place needs a major remodel in and out. There was an actual oven which was nice, but is definitely not #2 nice. I would've stayed somewhere else. Oh yeah, breakfast was awful. But staff was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn

Address: 120 Montrose West Avenue, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Stay Place Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innplace Suites Akron Hotel Akron
Residence Inn Akron
Akron Residence Inn
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn Copley, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Akron/ Fairlawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.