We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Montrose West Ave., Copley, OH 44321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Copley
Kettering
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Could be better.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stay frequently at Choice Hotels,I expect more from the Comfort Inn brand than others in the chain. This property located in Copley(Akron West) is very large, it is in an area where there is just about every possible dining, hotel and shopping option available. The staff was always busy performing their duties, but paid no attention to me. The pool was closed for maintenance,the outside of the property could use some maintenance itself as there was trash all over the parking lot. the entrances to the rooms are dark and dirty, as are the carpets in the hallways. The room itself was large,clean and acceptable, yet seemed dated and had no flat screen TV. The breakfast area was clean and had a nice variety The wi-fi speed was very fast!. With a little work, some upgrades and some smiling faces this property could be very nice again. Its just ok now. The taxes I was charged were higher than normal. I would stay here again but would like to see some improvements made by the mgmt. If I were choice hotels I would downgade this to a Quality Inn until the improvements were made.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
11
11
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Horrible. Not worth 200 characters to outline what was so bad, but other reviews captured it - "non smoking" hall reeked of old stale smoke as did room. Nasty staff in the "breakfast area." On Monday, Labor day, it turns out they shut down breakfast at 9 because it was a "weekday." (as opposed to 10 on weekend). Day before, nasty lady yelled at a customer who asked for more milk at 9:50 AM saying "breakfast is over at 10." ???

Room Tip: Horrible- the stale smoke odor penetrates everything,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

To get to our room we entered from a side entrance. The first thing that hit me was the smell, next was the dirty carpet. When we entered our room there was again an unpleasant older. Once we turn the lights on I was surprised that the room looked clean. The wall air conditioner was loud we finally had to unplug it to turn it off. Breakfast offered scrambled eggs, sausage, donuts, assorted pastries, cereal and their waffles. There was one thing missing that we are accustomed to and that was the oatmeal. With that said if I had other options I would stay somewhere else otherwise I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had a reservation there on 6/27/12. The place is a dump. After walking into the building, looking at the carpet, smelling the stench (even though I had a non-smoking room), I turned around and left to find another place to stay.Stained carpet, the hallways stink, and there were opened condom boxes left in the hallway and the stairwell. Good thing is they have a "No Pets" policy, as your pet would probably die of some strange disease. Carpet looked like it should have been replaced during the Nixon Administration. I would suggest staying at the InnPlace Suites next door to them as it is very clean, and comparably priced, not to mention they don't have used birth control devices laying around...
I've stayed in some bad places in the past, but this place was over the top, and $100/night to boot. Would never suggest even to my worst enemy to stay there, as I don't dislike anyone that much.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'm going to echo parts of what Durango4x4 had to say.

Rooms:

I got a King non smoking. The bed was just ok. The room was clean. The bathroom fan was loud. The room had a desk, but its chair was shot - iron burn, no support, general butt-sag ensued. Good internet connection.

Location:

The location is easy to find, although not in the best area. That isnt to say this place is in the hood, but you can find swankier neighborhoods.

Service:

I found the service lacking. I called the hotel to ask about a room, and was on hold for nearly 10 minutes. I went to check in, and I stood in line for a long time. Now, one thing that I will say is that the manager came out and checked me in personally when the line got really long. But seriously, if your employees are placing me on hold for that long, one of two things needs to happen. Either they're inefficient workers and need better training, or you need more people at the desk. While the manager was perfectly nice, the only memory I'll have of the staff is that they seemed unfriendly and lacked professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here during a buisiness trip due to all Marriott properties in the Akron / Medina area being sold out. Noone seemed to know why, but I stopped and tried several with no luck. This property needs some updating. Room was just OK. Being just myself, I had no issues but I would not have wanted to let a toddler roam around on the floor.

Breakfast was decent and the lady taking care of it was nice. This was the best part of the stay. No problems with the TV either. Overall, I think the property could be a "gem" if they just paid a little more attention to better cleaning and the details. It is time for some renovations. No problem with any employees. All were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

As part of the choice hotel chain, this hotel fits right in. Decent rooms, if plain and a bit outdated decor. Good internet, decent breakfast For business travel for me, this is no problem. One major complaint is the taxes charged here. The total tax works out to slightly higher than 15% plus a safe fee. The only room/rate discounts they offer are AAA and AARP. Check in was rather slow and needs to be improved.

Cleanliness is a problem and there were some unexpected odors noticable while walking through the halls on the way to the room. Nothing overwhelming or horrid, but noticable. The room needed a much more thorough vacuuming on the rug. The AC unit was very loud and had a noticable vibration while running. It did keep the room extra cool though -- and on a very hot day.

Old TV as in CRT type but a decent selection of cable channels. Some did not come in. Decent sized desk and good lighting at the desk and a solid internet connection.

Good freeway access and some shopping and dining nearby.

Given the choice, I will probably stay elsewhere owing to the price and overall value. If the place was updated or if they offered some sort of discount then it might make more sense. The taxes though are pretty tough to accept. My standards are not that high, but this location was only marginal. There are plenty of hotels to choose from in this area and several offer a better value than this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 130 Montrose West Ave., Copley, OH 44321
Location: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Akron
Comfort Inn Akron
Akron Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn West Copley, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.