We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rothrock Loop, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Baymont Inn and Suites Copley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Copley
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shortly after making reservations for a two night stay at this facility for the purpose of attending a church convention in the area I began to sense problems when two different e-mail requests to have Quality Inn send me an e-mail confirmation of my reservation went unanswered. The facility did nothing subsequently to help me develop a more positive opinion of the hotel.

Here is a litany of problems: the facility is old and badly in need of restoration. Entrance to all of the rooms on the first and second floors is from the outside, even in winter. Our key cards had to be refreshed three times in two days in order to unlock our room door. Our room was small and uninviting, with a tiny bathroom. There was neither an alarm clock or a clock radio in the room. The housekeeper did not enter the room to clean and change linens after our first night. The explanation from the manager was that she must have forgotten our room. At the breakfast buffet the first morning, when I pressed for orange juice I obtained mostly water. The door latch to the bathroom was defective. The room heater went on automatically every few minutes, even the room was not uncomfortably cold.

On the positive side, if price is one's prime motivation, this Quality Inn is a good choice. Also, complimentary wi-fi Internet access was easily connected and reliable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
20
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Tricky to find using address and GPS (maybe GPS problem?). Older motel with some renovations but shows age. Shower looks like someone did a cheap fix but not sucessful. Breakfast okay but only basic selection.
Positive was that it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I arrived Tuesday night and it was bitter cold outside the front desk staff was very nice they handed me my key and off I went to room 257 walked around outside on second floor, no inside hallways so froze my rear off to find the rooms only go to 244. So walked all the way back down stairs to get a room that actually exists. Staff apologized and gave me another key. So I got room 215, no microwave in room just fridge and iron. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Stayed 6 nights room was cleaned first day, not third day, on fifth day room door was left open by housekeeper luckily it is really cold out and hotel was not busy all my belongings were still there. Hotel had busted pipe so no water on one of the days. My trip was extended but I decided to go to another hotel for rest of stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I arrived with 2 children to check in to a room that included a microwave, coffee machine and fridge. I specifically chose a hotel that included these things in each room,and at $75 a night it wasn't that cheap. Once we had navigated our way through the cigarette butts to reception, we got our key and went to our room. The only a cess is round the outside of the hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel, away from reception, which as a woman alone with children didn't thrill me. About the size of a shoebox with the tiniest, and certainly not the cleanest, bathroom I have ever seen, imagine my surprise to find none of the listed items in place. The young man on reception thought he could deliver each item, but wasn't sure if and when as he was new....I'm not sure where in the shoebox he thought he might put them as there was no obvious place.
Small things, but dirty bathrooms and a lack of simple expected items can be a deal breaker when travelling with kids. In the end I opted to take my money back and go elsewhere.......No Quality at this Inn.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality I, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Unfortunately at this time we do not advertise that a fridge and Microwave
is in each room. We do say however, that that some rooms have a fridge and micowave.
We want to apologize about the room conditions you experienced, and to let you know this is not how we do business.

Thank You for bringing this to our attention.
Keith Moser
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

It seems this hotel has had a renovation like a housing project. There was one set of towels in the room which were like burlap. Paint splatter on the furniture and water stains on everything. The bed was an old mattress with a sag spot I felt like I was sleeping on a hill. The microwave had dried up crusty food inside it and the refrigerator was missing.
I would never stay at this hotel with my family for sure.

Room Tip: Demand a third floor room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality I, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
We appreciate feed back, whether good or bad we need to hear it.
Your room sounds like one of the rooms that was scheduled to be renovated.
I do apologize for the error. I hope you will give us another try.

Thank you for for staying with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This experience started out bad and went down hill. The first thing you need to know is it is a Motel with no obvious entrance into the office. I had to drive around the building twice before I discovered what looked to be the entrance into the lobby.
There began the worst check-in experience I have had in my 18 years of traveling for business. When I told the man at the desk I had a reservation his first response was asking me what rate I had made my reservation for? When I told him 62 he agreed that was correct and for the first of numerous times insisted on showing me my reservation on his computer screen. He then informed me several times over that I had made my reservation on line, which I confirmed, that I had made the reservation through my corporate travel agent. "Oh, you are a corporate traveler! We must make sure you get BEST room so you come back." he told me. Well I was kind of impressed at this point, little did I know where this was going. He then summoned a young lady to go and check out the room he intended for me to make sure it was a "best" room. This began a trip into the bizarre that lasted between 20 - 25 minutes of him receiving a call, which he assured me was from the young lady confirming the quality of the room he had planned for me, only to notify me the room didn't meet whatever unmentioned standard he was looking for and giving her another room number to check. After 4 rooms were rejected he offered that he could give me a suite. "A really big and really nice room for just $20 dollars more which was a really good deal since they usually rent for $129." I told him I didn't need a suite for a one night short stay that was getting shorter all the time. He then went back to sending his accomplice on the hunt for a really good room. After the next call back he wanted to know if I was OK with a room with two beds. I had reserved a king room, but at this point the couch in the lobby was looking good and the need to pee was getting severe. So I said that was OK. But wait, there was one other catch, he proceeded to inform me that it was OK that "the room had two beds and only one had been slept in." I immediately reversed fields and said no I don't think so. It is unbelevable at this point that he seemed somewhat surprised at my negativity. I informed him at this point that if he didn't have a room available to just cancel my reservation, no charge, and I would find a room at one of the other motels in the area. "No, no, no that is not necessary" I was assured. At this time he magically made a stack of premade hotel keys in envelopes appear and after shuffling them like a cardshark getting ready to deal a set hand, slid an envelope to me a and said you are in room XXX. There was no precheck involved. No need to confirm it wa a BEST room, just you are in room XXX. With no patience left and great desire to just be out of there, I snatched up the key and hightailed it out of there before he could throw me another curve.
The room turned out to be a king. A tiny room, but a king bed. As it turned out the room was pretty much a follow-up to the check in experience. The damage to the door frame indicated that it had been forcibly knocked in a number of times. The furnishings looked like they were last updated before Norman Bates was discovered to be psycho. The room's last thorough cleaning was probably about the time Norman was let out so they could make the sequel. The heater didn't work so I was awfully glad the forecast was for a mild November evening. The towel, not plural, had the consistency of 60 grit sand paper. The pillows are postage stamps.
The television worked, though it is vintage, and the only high point was the channel selection was the typical range of cable. The walls are so thin you can hear people sneeze two doors down. I'm still not sure what that thing that looked like the incubator we had in our lab to grow cultures, was.
I didn't discover the heater problem until I had unpacked and being tired to the extereme at this point, I blocked the desk chair under the door knob as best I could and settled down to get what rest I could.
After that, let's just say I was happy to be on the road and on my way the next morning.
You can definitley find a better place to stay. If you're limited in funds you can probably get a cheaper room. I don't know if you'll find another place that offers a room with two beds, but only one has been slept in.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belding, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here on our way down to our spring break vacation. It was reasonably priced for the room we had and it was clean and comfortable. The lobby was not clearly marked and the location was well behind a busy commercial strip. It was difficult to find the right drive to get to this property. Also the only person on staff did not seem to know what she was doing. She did not realize that a passport was official ID. I was obviously over 21 and I had my 20 year old daughter and 17 year old son (who both had their drivers licenses) with me. She had us get the insurance and registration for the car with my name and address on it and she still almost refused us the room (she actually called her manager at his home) because I could not locate my drivers license which I found the next day underneath my car seat. She made a lady wait during this entire fiasco, just for 2 extra towels. Even though I said many times please take care of her, so she does not have to wait, But as I said the room was clean and nice and we had a good rest before the long drive the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality I, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for for staying with us.

We hope to see you again.
We are now a Quality Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 70 Rothrock Loop, Copley, OH 44321 (Formerly Baymont Inn and Suites Copley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Copley
Copley Econo Lodge
Quality Inn & Suites Copley, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.