We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Columbus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Columbus to your Saves list
The Westin Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Champaign,Il.
1 review
“Downtown Columbus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff are eager to be of assistance. they accept pets. In downtown, convenient valet parking. 10 minutes from OSU, beautifully maintained older hotel with all the usual you have come to expect for a Westin. I was surprised and dismayed that for a property of this caliber and expense that free WI FI was not provided. That should be standard as it is in many less expensive sites.

Room Tip: They take pets, close to OSU, easy to get to, valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    137
    93
    48
    28
See reviews for
84
151
42
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the outside this seems to be a gem. From the inside this place seems to be a parody, a bad parody, of a hotel. There are few services, the breakfast seems to have been prepared around the last hotel remodeling and there is no space for working. The rooms are adequate and quiet. The prices are usually cheap, and they should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jbcarioca,
Please accept my apology for this tardy response. It is important for us to know when we fail to meet the expectations of our guests and we take your comments very seriously. We will use your feedback to spur ourselve on to improve in all areas of the hotel. The hotel was renovated just a couple of years ago, and we strive to provide true Westin service to all our guests. I hope that you will return in the future and give us a second chance to demonstrate our commitment to your complete satisfaction.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was treated like a Celeb! The hotel is beautiful. The staff greets you with a smile. Check in was a breeze! My room was perfect exactly what I had asked for. I decided to take the stairs down and got lost and the Mantiance guy kindly walked me to the elevator. Thurbers was delicious! The duck tacos were amazing! Then I received a special little gift from the General Manager welcoming me back. Such a great touch. I felt really special! The Heavenly Bed is always Heavenly. Check out was effortless. Just a great over night stay. It's that type of service that will me tell others and return again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would give this one star but the hotel is really better than that - it just seems to not have enough housekeeping staff.

Overall, there appears to be some type of management problem. 2 of our 3 rooms were not ready until after 5:30 (we waited an hour for these) and the 3rd we didn't get into until around 7 PM. Our wasn't cleaned the next day until after 5 PM. The AC was set a 74 degrees and nothing we could do would change it. The thermostat did not change the temperature. We reported twice and nothing was done.

The reason I think it is a management problem is: First: the problems were due to not enough staff - housekeeping and maintenance. Second: They took up the free coffee at 8:30 and changed to water. Where do they think this is, Phoenix? In Columbus, hot coffee is need much more often than cold water. In any case, coffee until at least 9:00 AM would be done by someone who understood that all of his customers don't leave at the crack of dawn.

But I do love the hotel. It is a historic downtown property that is a few miles from OSU. Thurber's (the bar) was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Starwood has done extremely well with the Westin Columbus, taking an historical landmark hotel and renovating it while keeping the provenance of its wonderful architectural details and heritage from the era. The lobby is elegant with lavish sofas and high backed chairs to invite guests to relax and enjoy themselves. If you look closer you see the intricate wood work, wonderful marble floors, massive white pillars and high glass ceilings. The second level is open and provides some privacy for work or just relaxing via gold banister stairs on either side of the lobby. The rooms were nicely updated as well; they offer every modern convenience, cleanliness, and comfort.

The staff is always very friendly, efficient, and accommodating in any manner possible, ensuring the utmost excellence in making your stay and experience as comfortable as possible. It took them only a week before they learned my name and ever since I have been warmly greeted upon my arrival, departure and just passing through the lobby as if family.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel when you visit Columbus. I have been staying at the Westin every week for the last six months and plan to for the next six.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Patrick G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind and generous comments. We truly appreciate your patronage and hope that you will not hesitate to let us know if there is anything further that we can do to assure that every stay is comfortable and satisfactory.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Westin Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

To the Westin Columbus General Manager and Staff, THANK YOU so much for a wonderful stay at your hotel on Saturday (20 April 2013). Your “cradle-to-grave” care, attention to detail, and customer service was a class act. The journey began on a positive note with an email from Ms. Carol Keene (Administrative Assistant to Ms. Mahesh Reddy, General Manager) informing us of a courtesy upgrade to one of the nicest suites. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Mr. George Parizek who was gracious and hospitable in every way; I provided him a SPG Gold Thank You for his outstanding service. Then the extra nice touch --- a champagne amenity placed in our room while we were at dinner. By the way, special thanks to Ms. Reddy for the signed card recognizing our 28th anniversary. Again, my wife and I wanted to express our deepest gratitude for the service we received during our stay and thanks for making our anniversary celebration so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear MannytheManager,
I deeply appreciate that you took the time to share your comments and I enjoyed sharing them with our entire staff. Thank you for your generosity and thoughtfulness.
Please come back again soon.
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've made 12 business trips to Columbus, Ohio over the past four months and always stay at the Westin. Each trip has been anywhere from 2 to 4 week nights. The staff welcomes me by name, and knows my preferences. I always feel welcome and appreciated. It's an easy walk from the Hotel to my business location, and nearby restaurants...although Thurber's Lounge at the hotel serves an excellent dinner and I have at least one meal there each visit. The new Executive Chef who came aboard in January revamped the dinner menu and I recommend you give it a try. The Housekeeping standards are impeccable and incredibly consistent. This is an hotel filled with history, character, and charm. It's not your cookie cutter, high-rise, impersonal convention hotel. If you like interesting and historical properties, updated with all the modern conveniences and amenities, I recommend The Westin Columbus.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard / air shaft have no view but are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mike R,
Thank you for your generous words! We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments and insight. We hope that you will continue to make our hotel your home base whenever you return to the Columbus area. You are a very valued guest and we look forward to your return!
Warm regards,
MReddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Address: 310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.