We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Columbus to your Saves list
The Westin Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #62 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always A Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stay at the Westin Colimbus on a weekly basis and can't imagine taking my business elsewhere. The staff is incredible as they always make me feel like I'm at home. Some of the rooms are small, but the hotel is histroic and will impress you in other ways.

I send all my clients to this spot and they all enjoy the hospitality!

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Mr. Glass. It is easy to see why you are a favorite guest. Your courtesy and thoughtfulness is apparent in everything you do, and we all appreciate your generous review! I hope that we will continue to improve in our ability to provide the perfect experience each time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    144
    98
    52
    29
See reviews for
90
157
44
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is average at best, we used it for the Columbus Marathon and its about 1/3 mile from the start and about 1 1/2 miles from the finish. Bit of a walk but very little traffic when your leaving. The building is historic which generally means its will be ornate and have some very unique characteristics but the rooms will be smaller, which is the case here as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Akbroker,
Thank you for staying with us for the Columbus Marathon. This city-wide event is always an exciting time for the downtown area. I hope that you will return in the future. We have nineteen different room configurations so there are lots of options to try, and we offer the Signature Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Bath for a good night's rest and better morning!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at the Westin Columbus numerous times before (an alumni of TOSU who returns at least annually) I can say my most recent visit left something to be desired. I booked a King suite which was not ready upon my arrival. The front desk worker offered me a "complimentary beverage" for my inconvenience. Really? 45 minutes later, my suite was ready. not that i cant do it but--i carried my own bags up to my room?

After finally settling in the suite was perfectly acceptable, comfortable, roomy if not a bit dated. Three things are lacking--the amenities offered in the rooms are nothing special (no turn down service, personal care products are bland, etc) and charging for WiFi in 2012 when the room costs >200 per night is outrageous.

The restaurant is totally overpriced and lacks variety on the menu. Plus it was about 65 degrees each time I was in there.

All said, if and when I do return to the Westin Columbus I will skip the expense of the king suite and stay with the smaller queen.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ed G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We make every effort to ensure that our guests can check in to their guestrooms at 3:00 p.m., but sometimes that is not humanly possible. I regret that you were inconvenienced, and that luggage service was not offered. That service, as well as the decor of our guestrooms and the amenities in the guestroom are all Starwood Standards and we know how important the details are to a guest's experience. I hope that you will return in the future and if you will contact me directly, I will be delighted to personally ensure that your guestroom is ready and that your stay is satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Westin has great access to public transportation with affordable valet parking. The room offered large comfortable beds with plenty of floor space. Starbucks coffeebar in room, decent room service (of course hours are limited), and some snack offerings are in room. The bathroom vanity is updated, the showerhead offers one or two heads, albeit the space is small and the showerdoor is "cheap" for the rest of the room's style (likely due to the odd size and need for a slider). Otherwise the hotel is clean and has friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed at different Westins throughout the network. From Hawaii to Montreal, California to Washington D.C. The Westin Columbus rates right up there with the best. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We arrived the day before Christmas eve and stayed just one night. Manny and the rest of the valet staff were great. Meredith whom checked us in was kind and could not have done more for us, she was so personable. Her recommendation of the restaurant in the hotel was right on the money. The room we got was fantastic. It was a king corner suite that was just huge. The GM, Mahesh was kind enough to send us a small welcome gift. James the bartender suggested excellent meals for dinner and was great to talk to as we ate in the bar. Still trying to figure out how every time we came out of our room the elevator was waiting for us.

Room Tip: There is a great breakfast place called first watch about 3 blocks away. Manny the valet did a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, Friday & Saturday. Service was very nice. Hotel was very pretty. Room was cleaned & nice but very tiny. Everything was pricey for what you got. Valet wasn't worth it and expensive. The only major issue was the bartenders. They were very unfriendly & not helpful. Breakfast was nice & good food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear kmichellek,
We appreciate your feedback! We take your comments seriously and will review the issues you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I left my iPad in my room. I didn't realize it for a couple of hours after I checked out. When I called, housekeeping had already turned it in. I was so thankful. Thanks Westin housekeeping!

Mary Pyles

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so proud of the job that all of our associates do day in and day out. We feel that we hire only the best and it is wonderful to see that validated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
3.5 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#1 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#35 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Address: 310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbusis ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This Columbus, Ohio hotel is within walking distance of the Greater Columbus Convention Center, and some of the finest things to do in Columbus, including the State Capitol, Nationwide Arena, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Ohio's Center of Science & Industry, and the Short North Area. HISTORIC HOTEL IN COLUMBUS Known as The Great Southern Hotel since its grand beginnings in 1897, the city's most-renowned hotel offers guests gracious service and luxurious surroundings. The hotel's grandiose architecture is from a different era and is the perfect backdrop to your big day - begin planning your Columbus wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.