We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel, a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Columbus

Save Saved
You added The Westin Columbus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 141 hotels in Columbus
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic hotel, a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, Friday & Saturday. Service was very nice. Hotel was very pretty. Room was cleaned & nice but very tiny. Everything was pricey for what you got. Valet wasn't worth it and expensive. The only major issue was the bartenders. They were very unfriendly & not helpful. Breakfast was nice & good food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear kmichellek,
We appreciate your feedback! We take your comments seriously and will review the issues you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    115
    79
    39
    24
See reviews for
74
137
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I left my iPad in my room. I didn't realize it for a couple of hours after I checked out. When I called, housekeeping had already turned it in. I was so thankful. Thanks Westin housekeeping!

Mary Pyles

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so proud of the job that all of our associates do day in and day out. We feel that we hire only the best and it is wonderful to see that validated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at The Westin as part of a wedding weekend in Columbus. The staff was attentive including the doorman holding the umbrella upon our arrival and the staff who checked us in. We asked a member of the staff to take our picture in front of the BEAUTIFUL Christmas tree in the lobby. She turned out to be a real photographer! Our pic turned out great and will be the best Christmas card we've sent yet - in about 8 years of trying! The wedding reception and the food were outstanding! Bar service was great . . . great attitudes all around! Our room was spacious and reasonably priced - maybe thanks to the wedding we attended. I would definitely book the Executive King Suite again. Our 17 year old daughter was with us, and we needed the space. The whole weekend was fun, and the hotel was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
How about that? Didn't know that we had multi-taskers did you? Glad to hear that our team was able to assist and leave you with a memorable experience. Although you were hear for a wedding, we hope that your travels bring you back to Columbus and that the Westin will be your hotel of choice. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Westin is really a beautiful building in downtown Columbus, and it was quite convenient in terms of location. However, the prices are quite inflated ($199/night) considering the size of the rooms, in my opinion. The beds and bedding are lovely, the staff was quite friendly, and the room service was good as well. I forgot hair spray, and the hotel was kind enough to send someone to my room with a couple of small bottles, which I appreciated.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you're in town for a quick trip like I was, but definitely can't imagine staying in this hotel for any longer than a night or two because of how cramped the room was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear mnichols79, Thank you for your kind words! Please come back and experience one of our larger guestrooms or suites. We have nineteen different configurations and we enjoy helping our guests discover the one that is most satisfactory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Westin Columbus is a gem. We've stayed several times and it's always a pleasure. If you like historic buildings--and staying in the heart of downtown, this place is for you. While geared toward business travelers, this is the second time we've stayed with our two year old and the hotel provided a crib (with a heavenly mattress!) and fridge. The staff has always been wonderful...we highly recommend the Westin Columbus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Jeremy,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return visit. Enjoy the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at the Westin Columbus. Spectacular building. Efficient check in and check out process. Wifi costs an arm and a leg and the connection was poor...but then many hotels charge that much. Rooms were moderate size but tended to be dark and not well lit...probably because i got a room that overlooked another part of the building. Some of the furnishings could do with an upgrade. Breakfast was routine ....great location ...a few blocks from a decent stretch where there are plenty of good restaurants. Except for the building itself, nothing much to shout about. Not a bad hotel but certainly not a great one that begs for a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear gktravelguru,
Thank you for visiting the Westin Columbus. Please come back again and experience the new menues and enjoy the excellent service at our historic hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me first say that the hotel itself was spectacular. The staff were attentive and courteous. My room was great. Best bed I've ever slept in. The shower was superb. I LOVED this hotel. However, my gripe is the parking situation. The sign out front said that the valet parking was 20.00. I opted to self park. Little did I know that self parking was the same price. And I was not informed of this. Next time I will do more research and perhaps find a different place to park. 20 dollars to park your car for less than 11 hours is a bit asinine if you ask me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We appreciate your business. Thank you for the kind comments. Please note that our parking charges are in line with the downtown Columbus hotels. We do appreciate the feedback and will review ways in which we might be able to address your concern. For others, please note that there is a garage directly across the street that is a slightly lower fee. However, you do not have in and out privileges with the parking garage. As always, we look for ways to improve our amenities for our guests and will take the comments to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Address: 310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbus Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This AAA Four Diamond award-winning is within walking distance of many Columbus attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.