We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel, pricey, very small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Columbus to your Saves list
The Westin Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #56 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel, pricey, very small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Westin is really a beautiful building in downtown Columbus, and it was quite convenient in terms of location. However, the prices are quite inflated ($199/night) considering the size of the rooms, in my opinion. The beds and bedding are lovely, the staff was quite friendly, and the room service was good as well. I forgot hair spray, and the hotel was kind enough to send someone to my room with a couple of small bottles, which I appreciated.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you're in town for a quick trip like I was, but definitely can't imagine staying in this hotel for any longer than a night or two because of how cramped the room was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear mnichols79, Thank you for your kind words! Please come back and experience one of our larger guestrooms or suites. We have nineteen different configurations and we enjoy helping our guests discover the one that is most satisfactory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    127
    88
    45
    26
See reviews for
79
144
42
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Westin Columbus is a gem. We've stayed several times and it's always a pleasure. If you like historic buildings--and staying in the heart of downtown, this place is for you. While geared toward business travelers, this is the second time we've stayed with our two year old and the hotel provided a crib (with a heavenly mattress!) and fridge. The staff has always been wonderful...we highly recommend the Westin Columbus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Jeremy,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return visit. Enjoy the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at the Westin Columbus. Spectacular building. Efficient check in and check out process. Wifi costs an arm and a leg and the connection was poor...but then many hotels charge that much. Rooms were moderate size but tended to be dark and not well lit...probably because i got a room that overlooked another part of the building. Some of the furnishings could do with an upgrade. Breakfast was routine ....great location ...a few blocks from a decent stretch where there are plenty of good restaurants. Except for the building itself, nothing much to shout about. Not a bad hotel but certainly not a great one that begs for a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh R, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear gktravelguru,
Thank you for visiting the Westin Columbus. Please come back again and experience the new menues and enjoy the excellent service at our historic hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me first say that the hotel itself was spectacular. The staff were attentive and courteous. My room was great. Best bed I've ever slept in. The shower was superb. I LOVED this hotel. However, my gripe is the parking situation. The sign out front said that the valet parking was 20.00. I opted to self park. Little did I know that self parking was the same price. And I was not informed of this. Next time I will do more research and perhaps find a different place to park. 20 dollars to park your car for less than 11 hours is a bit asinine if you ask me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We appreciate your business. Thank you for the kind comments. Please note that our parking charges are in line with the downtown Columbus hotels. We do appreciate the feedback and will review ways in which we might be able to address your concern. For others, please note that there is a garage directly across the street that is a slightly lower fee. However, you do not have in and out privileges with the parking garage. As always, we look for ways to improve our amenities for our guests and will take the comments to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was looking for a hotel to stay somewhere, downtown Columbus, Ohio. Close to the Newport Music Hall where me and my Fiance were seeing Anberlin together for the 3rd time and I wanted to make it special. So I just happened to search and come across the Westin, I had never heard of it before and it was in my price range and so needless to say, me and her decided on it and I wasnt going to call to confim my room, because I guess Im funny like that lol. So my fiance insisted that she would call and check and see and ask a few questions. Well she ended up calling 3 different times each time the same lady answered her name was Meredith, not sure her last name but they got to talking about what our plans were and why we where traveling all the way up their from Ashland, Ky and she just decided to be nice and upgrade our room from a Queen to a King, and add chocolates, and candies and a very sweet note. She didnt even know us but liked us, and gave us a free breakfast pass, and a free movie pass and a free drink pass for me, because Im 21 and my fiance is 19 but a random stranger just liked us enough to make it special and sence we had gotten engaged back a few months ago she called it a gift from Westin and Engagment Trip. How nice and she was 22 so around the same age and she just hooked us up with so much more I dont even remember. It was a definate sign that it would be a amazing stay and so the next day we traveled up their got their to check in early and it turned out to be so much cooler in person that on the computer, very fancy with the valet, even though the price was fail, it was still nice. Our room overlooked Columbus on the 6th floor and was very roomy and had wonderful aminites, and even drinks and just everything you could want to make it special, they did. I said that I would write a review for her because thats the least she could do for us and i was thrilled that she did this we gave the staff our review in summary and told them that we would defiantly come back again and couldnt forget a night at the Westin, btw the bed was amazing. Definatly recommend this to anyone who wants to make a special thing for his or her fiance or bf/gf or even wife or husband. Great Stay!

Room Tip: Dont neccisarily go by the pictures and price, sometimes its just the timing of the month, when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We will be sure to let Meredith know of your comments and how much you appreciated her hospitality. We hope that you have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel at least once a month for work and I have never had such a terrible experience at a hotel. I actually need bullets for all the reasons I would recommend you stay anywhere else in Columbus.

- My reservation was mixed up so we got stuck in a room with two beds.
- We found a dirty Kleenex in our bed, and had to have the sheets changed at midnight.
- The room we were given turned out to be above the bar that they were smart enough to have a live band in till midnight the next night, so no sleep for anyone....
- When I called the front desk to change rooms, they said it wasn't available and that they could offer ear plugs, which wouldn't have helped the bass from shaking my bed...
- And the icing on the cake, my wife's new traverse was damaged in the parking lot. It looked to be sideswiped. I called the office, talked to the parking manager, emailed the GM of the hotel, Alan Stegman, and no one has responded to me, and they have stopped returning my calls.

What a delight!

The absolute worst hotel stay ever... Do yourself a favor and stay ANYWHERE else in Columbus.

Room Tip: Get one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Charlie, I wanted to personally express my apology and concern over your recent stay. At this point I can only apologize for your experience. If appropriate, I appreciate the opportunity to discuss with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent staff/service, beautiful old-time lobby, and a very good hotel bar/restaurant where we had two enjoyable dinners. Our room was not that big--that's really my only criticism. But I definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbe64, Director of Sales at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass along kudos to the kitchen as well as your kind comments regarding the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Address: 310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbus Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This AAA Four Diamond award-winning is within walking distance of many Columbus attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.