We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weston is small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Columbus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Columbus to your Saves list
The Westin Columbus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #56 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Belmont, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Weston is small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

The room we stayed in was small and dirty. Although the hotel was slow, noone bothered to offer help with our bags. The bed was comfortable as reported in other posts. I had called ahead and requested special service for which they said no problem, but they failed or were unable to provide. Our experience was poor for a Westin.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
BoatLadyDi .. I was very disappointed to read that your experience at our hotel back in May was poor . I wish that during your stay you had brought our shortcomings to my attention or to another manager so that we could have addressed them so that your stay would have been more enjoyable;.We always try to fulfill special service requests and again wish I had the opportunity to address them while you were here. If your travel plans call for another visit to Columbus, please contact me directly so that I may handle your needs personally to ensure your stay with us will meet and hopefully exceed your expectations. Alan Stegman, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    127
    89
    45
    26
See reviews for
79
144
42
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was not expecting much but was greatly surprised upon arriving at the Westin Columbus. The lobby is elegant and historically huge. The front desk is helpful and the rooms are all updated, very tasteful and spotless. Of course the Heavenly bed never disappoints. We went to the theater that was only a few walking blocks away and then had drinks afterwards in the bar. The hotel just has a classy feel and a friendly staff. I would highly recommend this property even if it is for a weekend to see and experience Ohio's Capitol city. Oh and one more thing - we did not know - but you could bring your pet - No EXTRA CHARGE. The outside front door has a water bowl and food bowl to let visitors know it is pet friendly. This by no means, takes away from the elegance and grandness of this historic property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We are pleased with your many positive comments about our historis hotel. Your comment about our friendly staff will be passed on to them .. they always appreciate guest feedback.
An indeed .. we are very pet friendly and have special Heavenly Pet Beds and special treats for all of our four-legged guests! As you noted, we are a perfect weekend retreat as we are so close to the many events and "happenings" in and near downtown Columbus, the Arena District, the Brewery District, German Village, Columbus Commons and the recently completed and opened Scioto Mile / Millenium Park ... so much to do!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Westin Hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio is well situated in its downtown location for business travelers. The hotel's staff is efficiently pleasant. Its lobby and rooms are pleasant too; consistent with its function as a business hotel.
However, it should appeal to other short term travelers as well. It is close to restaurants and pubs, particularly near (walking distance of a few blocks) to the German Village and the Brewing district. The nearby Columbus Brewing Company has fine ales and decent food.
We stayed here for one night in the first week of September.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments regarding our hotel and the staff. While we indeed are a great location for business travelers we are also very convenient for leisure travelers as we are sclose to all that is happening in and around Columbus! Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I, my wife, and three-year old son stayed here for a weekend while in Columbus for fun. We received a great rate through Priceline ($60 per night) and paid for an upgrade (additional $60) since the rooms are so small. I am a Starwood Gold member; but was told since we booked through Priceline my status wasn't valid. Not sure if that's true or not, but I guess it's fair.

After some trouble with our A/C and two visits from maintenance we were moved rooms. It was handled well, but not above average. After all was said and done, the manager had removed the upgrade charge for the first night, gave us free breakfast. In addition, our parking wasn't on our bill; not sure if that was on purpose or they just missed it. In any event, $20 for parking on the weekend in downtown Columbus is kind of a rip off.

Overall, the staff was pleasant, the hotel was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The location isn't ideal but the character of the hotel more than makes up for that fact.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are the size of closets... upgrade to a bigger room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thanks for staying with us with your family. We are delighted with your positive comments about the hotel's cleanliness, maintenance and our staff. I do apologize for the A/C trouble and wish resolution on the issue had been quicker. It sounds though as if we "made amends"..
I assure you our overnight parking charge (self park or valet) is very comeptitive within the downtown hotel market. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Grand old hotel renovated and lovely. We stayed here in August for a family reunion, and at a special rate of $119/night it was an excellent value. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Beautiful large lobby provided a warm place to meet and greet. The restaurant was able to accommodate our large gregarious group for breakfast with ease- the servers were very tolerant of our table-hopping and visiting. Our room was on the 6th floor- nicely furnished with a "heavenly" bed. We were a bit worried about the street noise, but leaving the fan on seemed to take care of that problem. In-room safe, good bath products, but only one robe? I am sure i could have requested another but never got around to it. This hotel reminded me of the Davenport in Spokane. It seems like they could have done a better job on noise insulation as we were able to hear the street and loud passersby in the hallway, but it wasnt really a problem for us. Also the parking is $20 per night! We paid more for parking than we did for the rental car! We had drinks in the Thurber Bar which was fun and friendly. Also had a nice catered brunch in a private room on Sunday morning with a delicious and varied spread- loved the French toast! Location-wise it is about a miles walk to German Village. We walked toward the river and COSI (kids science museum) and found a great restaurant-bar overlooking a small water-feature park. I will end with a quote from James Thurber: "It is better to have asked some of the questions than to know all of the answers."

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Sincere thanks for your kind comments, particularly about our staff. We work hard towards making weddings and other special events memorable for those attending!! We are proud of our historical link to James Thurber so the fact your friends and family enjoyed his "namesake" bar is very gratifying. Parking downtown can be a struggle so we offer both self park and valet; our overnight charge is competitive with all other downtown hotels. Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Westin for our 22nd wedding anniversary. We were given a beautiful room and treated with tremendous hospitality and graciousness. We were even given a congratulations card, signed with notes from the staff. In particular, Liz at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Celebrating 22 years of marriage .. congratulations once again!! We are honored you chose The Westin Columbus for this special evening. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and will be sure to acknowledge Liz for your special mention. We would love to have you stay with us to celebrate future anniversaries in the years to come !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very comfortable beds, Service oriented friendly staff go beyond the call of duty, Beautifully appointed rooms. Only con was a little issue with thin walls.. Could hear the loud conversation of the woman staying in the room next to ours......Wish the bathtub was deeper but otherwise wonderful stay and very wonderful room! Room service was very good as was the restaurant. Loved our stay in Columbus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanjsteg, General Manager at The Westin Columbus, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
We appreciate your review and your kind comments about our staff. room service and or restaurant .. the High Street grill. We are sorry about the noise from your neighbors. Glad you loved your stay in Columbus .. we look forward to a return stay soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Columbus

Address: 310 S. High Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Columbus Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the Downtown Columbus business district. This AAA Four Diamond award-winning is within walking distance of many Columbus attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Columbus Hotel Columbus
Westin Columbus
Columbus Westin
The Westin Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.