We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel But is Getting Dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Columbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Columbus to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Columbus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, OH 43235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #53 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good Hotel But is Getting Dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room, service and experience at this location was very good. The room was serviced quickly and the hotel offered many services. The work out area is very good and room had a very good coffee service. The hotel is getting a little warn. The carpet shows age as well as the fixtures. The bar area was small and the bar tender was more worried about us leaving without paying than service. This hotel is very close from going from good to great. It needs some help. You can hear a train so choose your room very carefully.

Room Tip: Stay away from the train side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Ribmountain603,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    148
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
88
70
23
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

To me Ohio doesn't scream vacation or fun time (perhaps because it's a short drive and so close to my home town) but this hotel makes me want to go back. This is an all suites hotel so you don't have to worry about all the suites being booked. I stayed here with my husband (my boyfriend at the time) so we could see the Ducks vs. Blue Jackets. It was November and snowy so there wasn't much to do outside, but that was fine because the hotel was so nice we didn't really want to leave.
The space was comfortable and all the rooms were privately divided. The bedroom and living area were seperated by lovely french doors that gave a homey feeling. The countertops were nice granite and it was equipped with a microwave and fridge. There was a wide selection of tv channels and movies to rent. The pool was nice, but it was november so we stuck to the hotub which was very nice. The area had trees and large windows so you didn't feel like you were in a stuffy gross gym jacuzzi like some hotels have.
The area around the hotel was nice with a fun sports bar a few parking lots away.
Very nice stay. Next time we catch a game we'll be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Owl85,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Often overrun with kids in town for sporting events as it was this last weekend; common areas are then impossible to utilize without having noisy rugrats running around. Parents and hotel management are equally to blame. With two working elevators (and a total of three luggage carts) in service, everyone is vying for scarce resources. When one elevator is out of order (as it was for most of our stay) it is just plain unpleasant. Yet, our room on the 7th floor was a haven of peace and quiet and we had no major complaints about the condition of the room if you can overlook worn out carpets, damaged lampshades, and furniture that has the finish chipped away in areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear 102Reno,
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay. We are so sorry some of our younger guests created an unpleasant experience for you and your family. Northern Columbus does play host to a number of youth events in the late spring and early summer. While generally everyone’s experience if very positive on occasion when moving that many people from one place to another at the same time there can be congestion in our comment space. I will bring your thoughts up to our team to see how we can improve the process even more. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is always the people that save the hotels from getting a one star rating. This hotel has seen better days. Everything was old and worn out. No comfortable place to meet colleagues in lobby to plug in and work. Rooms were large and had potential, but again it felt dirty sitting on the ripped couch. There was what looked like mold on the wallpaper next to the sink.

April who was our hostess, bus girl, and waitress for breakfast was the shining star. She had a great attitude and smile despite the amount of work she had to do.

Breakfast was the worst part. I looked at the buffet and it looked horrible so i looked at the menu, but it was pretty much the same as the buffet! EVERYTHING was worse than bad, cold dry eggs and potatoes, just bad, bad bad.....

There are so many other choices in this area, I can't see going back. The area is great as there are a TON of restaurants very close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Upintheairtomuch,
Thank you for feedback concerning the property. I’m very sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasant one. We will address the issues you have mentioned with the appropriate departments so that correct action can be taken. I hope you will consider trying us again. The renovation/expansion of our fitness center and club lounge completed last fall are spectacular and other exciting upgrades are coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well located for a hockey tournament. Very clean rooms with clean bathrooms, as well. Nice shower. Comfortable king beds ... small, but well set-up living room. Certainly pleasant and knowledgeable staff. The "private" floors are a little odd, as you need to put your key card in to access them, but can't go to a friend's room on another private floor. It wasn't a problem, really, just odd. Also, seems to me there should be more elevators for so many rooms. They were pretty slow at busy times. Overall, a pleasant experience that we enjoyed and especially for a great AAA rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear bodhi0916,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We truly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Suites is a well located (at least for my needs) property as it is not far from OSU nor recreational activities north of 270. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. There are some rooms that look like they might be a little noisy since they are close to the highway. However I have no experience with them, just an observation that you might want to keep in mind.

While the rooms were good, the club on the 9th floor was poorly managed. The fridge was devoid of beverages and the snacks were gone. It seemed that no staff were monitoring it to ensure it was properly provisioned. Nice espresso/cappuccino machine though.

The restaurant buffet breakfast was disappointing since it was also not provisioned properly. There were not many diners in the restaurant, and still the service level of the staff was not up to Sheraton par. At 13.95 the price was reasonable if all the foods would have been available rather than empty trays of bread, fruit, and eggs (eggs eventually were brought out after I brought it to the staff's attention).

Room Tip: Get rooms that do not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear TheOpsDoctor,
Thank you for staying with and sharing your thoughts about your stay. We will be sure to address your concerns with our club lounge attendant to insure the items are stocked properly. We hope you see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We used our SPG points for a two night weekend stay over Easter weekend. We arrived late on Friday evening and had a smooth check-in. Our one bedroom suite was very comfortable and clean. Two flat panel TVs, nice sitting area, microwave and refrigerator, nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. Nice Internet access kiosk in the lobby. Only complaint was that free Internet access is not available. Cost is $9.95 per day. Parking lot is clean and well maintained. Hotel is located off Interstate 271 in office park area near other hotels, various restaurants, and a movie theater. This was a good use of our SPG points and we would do this again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucg, Manager at Sheraton Suites Columbus, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear revpar77,
Thank you for your nice comments and for being and SPG Member with us. We hope you get a chance to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Columbus

Address: 201 Hutchinson Ave, Columbus, OH 43235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Columbus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Suites Columbus is close to Columbus International Airport, off Interstate 270 and Route 23, and attractions such as the #1 rated Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, COSI, and the Ohio Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Columbus Hotel Columbus
Sheraton Columbus Hotel
Columbus Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.