We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2 Star Extended Stay Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229 (Formerly Residence Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent 2 Star Extended Stay Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here over two months. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen appliances all worked. They provided me with a few kitchen utensils. Which I really needed. Breakfast and Wednesday supper were good. Best part of the stay here by far was the staff. They are friendly, helpful, courteous. I could sit and chat with them for hours lol. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    118
    131
    109
    118
See reviews for
232
88
32
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Only paid $44 a night and for what it came with (full fridge/freezer combination, oven, dishes, dish washer, food dispoal, etc.. I've already book the next two weeks in case it's a promo price cause it should be triple the price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We would have given the hotel a 5 because it was a good value for the price. But on the day we checked out, we received an email on our personal home email address from Wyndham automatically signing us up for their Rewards program. It was not a customer satisfaction survey to see if we liked our stay. Anytime someone uses our email address without our knowledge or consent for their own personal gain, we are extremely suspicious and annoyed. And there is no "opt out" link on the email, so we will no doubt be hounded (harassed) by Wyndham indefinitely. I hope someone from the hotel reads this post, as we were EXTREMELY upset to receive this email.
All the staff we dealt with were polite and helpful. We were upgraded to a penthouse which had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, 2 TVs, and a kitchen. However, the kitchen was not well stocked with utensils, dishes, etc. And the thermostat in the room wasn't working, but a maintenance man came promptly to replace a fuse. The bedding was very comfortable and the shower was invigorating. The area was quiet and we felt safe. The breakfast included waffles, eggs, and bacon, and we enjoyed it.
All in all, we were very happy with our stay, but that email is a definite deal-breaker!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawthorncolumbusgm, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed in the issue with our rewards program. Please contact me at the hotel at 614-431-1819 or columbusgm@5shm.com and I will get this changed so you will not continue to receive e-mails from Wyndham. I hope to hear from you soon in order to resolve this issue, and I hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

PROS: It was very reasonably priced and came with alot of amenities! Suite has two floors - queen upstairs and king downstairs with baths on both. Easy access. Great hot food for breakfast daily and they also offered a free Weds eve meal. Very friendly staff. Clean room. Fridge & micro, and modern TV, stove, dishwasher and dishes and fireplace! Outdoor pool and spa. Good place to stay several days with a family. Was very quiet at the time we were there. I'd not hesitate to stay there again! Well worth it for family of 5! No bad smells.

CONS: Be careful in tubs (sloped and slippery). Sofa bed was worthless even to sit on. Stairs in room we had may be a bit much for some people - I'd recommend you ask for a ground level room if that is going to be an issue. Ask for an Address to put in GPS. Address on Hotels.com was a little too vague coming in from the South since it was in a group of hotels all on the same road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This facility has greatly improved their services and personnel--On our most recent visit, we had excellent housekeeping services, pleasant desk personne, and a very good complimentary breakfst with many choices and an excellemnt and pleasnat person in charge--very conscientious and quite friendly and accommodating. They also have reinstituted a Wed. night dinner, which is an excellent perk! Suite is comfortable, large, clean, and well-stocked with dishes and silverware. Didhave some problems with Wi-Fi. It worked poorly--kept cutting off--and did not work at all in certain areas of the room.

Room Tip: All rooms are OK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were at this hotel 3 years ago and I don't remember it being this bad. Although the neigbhoring strip club is no longer there (a plus!), the surrounding neighborhood is a typical hotel neighborhood, with a couple nearby that have shut down. This suite cost us $90 from Hotels.com and as such is a cheap price. We got what we paid for, and maybe less. Right when you come in there is a hole in the roof that was poorly patched (see pic) and part of it is still broken. It has not been painted over. Each room has a fireplace, which is such a bad idea. Many people don't know how to make a correct safe fire, and there's smoke that's blackened the walls that again hasn't been painted over. There was a broken sofa bed (I wish I took a picture) - when we pulled it out, the part that holds the mattress to the frame is broken making it useless as a bed. In additiion, the mattress springs are worn out so when you sit on the sofa, you sink all the way in. When I complained about this, I got a 'sorry' from the staff, but it didn't seem like they were going to do anything about it. The shower rod in the bathroom is loose so the curtain keeps slipping down. Bottom line is they need to perform routine maintenance on the rooms which they obviously haven't been doing in a while. On the positive side, the appliances were old but very clean. The breakfast was also pretty good. WiFi worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr

Address: 6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr Hotel Columbus
Hawthorn Suites Columbus
Columbus Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus, Zumstein Dr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.